We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bed and Breakfast Truly Deserving of 5 Stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Bed and Breakfast Truly Deserving of 5 Stars!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights for a winter vacation to the Candian Rockies. If you are looking for lodging in Banff and want to be close to shops and dining, have an amazing two course breakfast each morning, have a wealth of knowledge of the area at your fingertips with your two hosts, and sleep and rest in luxury at the end of each day, then you have found it at Buffaloberry!

We searched for weeks for the perfect location to stay in Banff. If you rely on the reviews on Tripadvisor like I do, then you will appreciate this one being at the top of the list.

When we arrived we were welcomed with great hospitality and freshly baked warm scones. Our large amount of luggage was taken upstairs to our room, Oatmeal and Chaff. We spent some time relaxing by the fire and sipped on a complimentary beverage from a variety of sodas and spirits that were available at the wet bar downstairs. The Great Room is nicely appointed with leather couches, a roaring wood burning fire, and a full house surround system that is volume adjustable in each area of the home.

For dinner, a short walk will get you to a plethora of restaurants both casual and upscale. Buffaloberry is only about two blocks away from the main road, but you feel like you are in a residential neighborhood and cannot hear any noise from the nearby shops and attractions. And if walking didn't seem like a good option, Buffaloberry offered heated underground parking for your vehicle on site. We suggest walking since parking downtown was generally hard to find even on quieter evenings.

The fire was waiting for us when we returned as were our daily cleaned rooms. The bathroom had a tub and glass shower combo, both very nice. They also provided a nice assortment of saops and shampoos from a local boutique. We enjoyed the flat screen as well as the views of the mountains outside our windows from our comfortable king sized bed that was difficult to leave each morning, but the smell of the breakfast brought us down every time.

Breakfast started with an assortment of fresh fruits and berries with yougurt and several types of granola. Fresh juice as well as coffee and water were also served. And if that wasn't enough, the main course was served shortly after with highlights like blueberry buckwheat buttermilk pancakes topped with fresh whipped cream and syrup and maple sausage. That is just one of the filling meals we had each morning that kept us going til the evening. The breakfasts and presentation were first class each day. Breakfast was also a good time to get to know James and Theresa and ask questions about what we wanted to do each day. They are both extremely active and were able to tell us all about the local ski resorts, where to rent gear, what hikes would be good at that time of season, where we had the best chance to see wildlife, and we even kind enough to let us use their yak traks and snowshoes with poles.

While at Buffaloberry we went skiing at Sunshine Village and Lake Louise, hiked to Johnston Canyon and the Ink Pots, snowshoed to the end of Lake Louise, went ice skating at several of the public rinks in Banff, and went searching for wildlife and were successful in seeing several elk and a coyote. I would highly recommend all of the activities above and your hosts can tell you all about them and provide trail mnaps and guides for all of those and more. They can offer up suggestions for every level of activity and interest.

From the freshly baked snacks each afternoon to the wonderful conversations each day with our hosts, Buffaloberry was 5 star all around and we could not have been happier with our decision to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiker1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
148
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Due to travel delays, we arrived late and had to leave early, and we wish we could have stayed longer. It was very welcoming, with all the amenities you would like, and a tremendous breakfast. We hope we can visit again!.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed two nights in August on our way to Fairmont Hot Springs. This place is a wonderful place to stay to enjoy the beautiful area, have a comfortable and inviting place to rest and an opportunity to visit with fellow guests. James and Theresa have carefully thought through the design of the house and follow up with excellent breakfasts and snacks. They are very willing to accommodate special needs and are very knowledgeable about the area. Located within walking distance of downtown yet in a quiet neighborhood, this B & B really sets a high standard for quality and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here last July and it was a really great choice.
Banff is a great place to stay and base yourself in the Canadian Rockies and we had travelled all around the west of Canada for a trip of a lifetime.
The thought did enter our heads of splurging and staying at Banff springs, but we were so glad that we didn't, this B&B has everything you could possibly want and need and is just a short walk away from the town itself.
The thing about Buffaloberry B&B is that is a purpose built house to produce a home away from home.
It has secure underground parking, beautiful comfortable rooms with bathrooms, privacy and gourmet breakfasts.
The hosts are really lovely people and gracious too, the house is beautiful and inviting and really well designed and we wished we could have stayed longer.
A lot of time, hard work has gone into this establishment and it shows.
I want to thank the lovely hosts for making our stay such a fond, fond memory.
You can't go wrong staying here, you could not want for anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Buffaloberry at the end of September. This was the second time we have stayed here (2010 was our first visit) and it was just great to come back. It was really nice to have this to look forward to at the end of a 3 week tour of the rockies. We even requested our favourite breakfast from our first stay; the delicious blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coachmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I stayed there for our belated 25th Anniversary trip in mid September for 5 nights. Throughly enjoyed ourselves with the scrumptious breakfasts and the yummy afternoon snacks! We throughly enjoyed the fact that we could get to know the other visitors staying at the B&B, not like staying at a hotel and never meeting anyone. It was nice to be able to come back from the day's adventure and hear what other people did.

There is a reason why Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast is considered #1 B&B in Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Inkeepers, James and Theresa are simply the best when it comes to hospitality, friendliness, accomodations and knowledge of the area. If you had questions about any hikes, attractions, restuarants, or just to see wildlife they had maps and info of where to to go.

The Buffaloberry is located in a good location of downtown Banff, so you can walk to restuarants and shopping. The B&B is spotless and everything was in good working order in our room.

This will be a keeper to tell our friends and family to go to if they get up that way. If we ever make it up that way again Buffaloberry will be the place that we will stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 161KarenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

James and Theresa are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are superb and accommodation luxurious. Loads of advice on where to eat or spend your day including good hikes. If you want to know what to do if you encounter a bear just ask James!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
12.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
11.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing