We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay for the Banff experience….” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE place to stay for the Banff experience….”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 5-day trip to Banff, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Buffaloberry. The decision to stay here was based solely on Trip Advisor reviews, so I wanted to share my experience with other travelers.

In reading reviews about the Fairmont Banff Springs and Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, I noticed that people were disappointed for what you got for the money. I can honestly say that the Buffaloberry (at almost half the price of the Fairmont) was worth every penny. Here are some of the high points:

• Good location on a quiet street, with street parking or garage parking available. Five-minute walk to Banff Avenue for shopping/dining.
• Home is in pristine condition, with a charming exterior and a beautiful garden.
• Environmentally conscious owners that use fresh, local goods to prepare meals
• Completely updated rooms and amenities, including in-floor heating and immaculate up-to-date bathrooms. High-efficiency lighting and appliances as well.
• The two downstairs bedrooms have direct access to a patio with outdoor seating.
• Amazing homemade breakfast served each morning. This includes yogurt, made-from-scratch granola, and fresh fruit, followed by a spectacular cooked dish. Honestly, I can’t say enough about the breakfast – it was truly gourmet!
• Added services that aren’t always standard at other B&B’s – free wired internet, turn down service, wet bar with complimentary beverages (hot/cold). You can also grab some bottled waters from the fridge for your day-hikes.
• Owners have extensive knowledge of Banff and the surrounding areas, and are always willing to provide advice or recommendations on local activities and points of interest.
• Friendly, open environment that allows guests to get to know each other on their own terms. We had the opportunity to meet some fantastic people during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank abb311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
144
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Just returned this evening from Banff, Canada and thought I would wright a review on the Buffaloberry B&B. I usually wouldn't take the time to do something like this, but we benefited from other travellers reviews, so I feel I should do my part for others. Our time in Banff was so much fun. We went there to celebrate our 30th Anniversary, and of course you want things to be planned just right. Some things are out of your control like the weather, which turned out to be great, 1 or 2 days of light rain was all we had out of the 9 nights we were there. In my opinion the place you stay can either be the difference of a wonderful vacation or not so pleasant one. Ours was a wonderful one. The room was very clean (priority # 1), it was spacious, and tastefully decorated. Each morning we would start out with a very nice breakfast at a choice of a time that worked for us. We were there to hike each day and James & Theresa would offer suggestions as to how long or short of a hike you wanted or how far away you wanted to go, and also could steer you in the direction of a good local restaurant for the evening. After a long days hike and good supper, It was so nice to return to home (the B&B), cause thats what it was like, for a relaxing atmosphere and a hot shower and a good nights sleep to prepare you for the next days venture. We also met some great people from all over the country staying here also just wanting the same thing we did. James & Theresa made all there guests in there home feel welcome and comfortable. I work in the customer service field and know what it takes to do it right, and they are doing it right . Rick from Hudson, Wi.

  • Liked — clean comfortable room, tasty breakfast, excellent customer service
  • Disliked — I can not think of 1 thing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BanffHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

What can I say about the Buffaloberry B & B that hasn't already been said ? Nothing really, its every bit as good as the reviews suggest. Theresa and James are excellent hosts, willing to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. (They even extended to subterfuge and expended a lot of their own time to help our family spring a surprise on us.)

The rooms are superb, so beautifully furnished, and the breakfasts are excellent and provide a great time to share experiences with both the hosts and other guests. By the way, if you seek advice from Theresa and James, follow it, they were invariably correct in everything they told us. On reflection, I suspect the secret to T and J's success is their ability to make you feel like you're part of the family, simply visiting for a few days.

Our only regret is that we stayed there only two nights and missed the opportunity to explore more of the attractions and sights around Banff - I suppose there's always next time.

  • Liked — The room, the hosts, the breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

My fiancee and I just got back from a 50-day road trip and the Buffaloberry was by far the best place we stayed. Theresa and James are not only exceptional hosts but also exceptionally interesting people. We really enjoyed talking to them at the beginning and end of each of days in Banff. Theresa's breakfasts were fantastic. We loved the croissant french toast! The accommodations were both luxurious and comfortable. Our stay could not have been better.

  • Liked — James and Theresa
  • Disliked — Parking is a little tight
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gordogecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

We stayed at Buffaloberry for 5 nights this August. It was the last of 3 stays in the Canadian Rockies, and certainly the highlight of our trip. James and Theresa are the consummate hosts. We are serious hikers, and they were able to give us several recommendations each day- along with a personal description of each trail. They were also able to interact with all guests on an equally knowledgeable and personal level. No detail has been spared in building their house - it is lovely!
James and Theresa took the time to help all guests with whatever they needed. They were never too busy to answer a question or make a recommendation.
It is one of the best b and b's we have visited anywhere in the world and we would recommend it, without reservation, to anyone seeking quality accomodations and excellent service in Banff.
Alan and Carla
Union, Missouri

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Buffaloberry B&B for our first anniversary. Neither of us had ever stayed at a B&B before so didn't really know what to expect... we were wonderfully surprised by our experience! James and Theresa were impeccable hosts, very warm, helpful, and friendly. They advised us on various activities in the area, giving personalized suggestions that we really appreciated (like where to see wildlife). They truly made us feel at home.
We stayed in the Olds Room, which was delightful and relaxing! We had fabulous views of the mountains from the front windows, which we really enjoyed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept quite well.... very quiet!!!
We cannot recommend the Buffaloberry enough! It is a great place to stay, well worth the money!!! If (when) we return to Banff we will definitely be giving James and Theresa a call!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere of the inn, the location, the hosts, and the delicious breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brouillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed at the Buffaloberry for 5 nights in July 2008. To say we loved it is an understatement. Wonderful bedding, immaculately clean, and the most tasty breakfasts!

It's located within a few blocks of Banff shopping and restaurants, so you can easily enjoy exploring the town on foot. Theresa and James are fun hosts, and have many suggestions and tips for making your vacation the best it can be.

For those who have never stayed in a bed and breakfast and wonder if it would feel odd or confining, you are in for an delightful surprise. The Buffaloberry is more like a small lodge than someone's home. The guest 'half' of the house is very private -- with a separate living room, dining area, and a wonderul deck to sit enjoying a cocktail and the humidity-free weather.

Kudos to T & J on creating such a wonderful escape. And hello to Steve and Kim... fellow guests (and new friends) from our week at the Buffaloberry.

  • Liked — We loved every minute of our stay at the Buffaloberry
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwoBearBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing