We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Ditto to all the other excellent reviews. Buffaloberry is a lovely, easy, inviting, convenient place to stay in Banff. The B&B owners, James and Theresa made us feel totally welcome yet left us to come and go, settle in, and relax throughout our stay. They are knowledgeable about the area and offered excellent advice. Breakfasts were very good and the room was wonderfully comfortable. We will stay there again, and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2007

Rooms were very clean and comfortable but the greatest treat were the wonderful breakfasts and the caring, informative manner with which Theresa and James treat guest - after a few days, we truly felt they were our friends - We could not recommend them more highly.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ellen418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Thanks for a wonderful 8-day stay, James and Theresa! Buffaloberry B&B is, by far, the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in. Thanks for the fluffy towels, the comfy slippers and robes, the high-quality sheets, the tasty and varied menu, all your great advice, and for noticing and catering to our likes and dislikes. We've never been treated so well on vacation!

Not only did we benefit from your professionalism, we greatly enjoyed your warmth and friendship. You also seemed to inspire friendliness and openness in your guests--we thoroughly enjoyed their company as well!

Best wishes for what we know will be continued success!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

The Buffaloberrry is a wonderful place to stay. It is a beautiful Inn that was built and decorated with a thought to all the details. The furnishings are first class and the beds very comfortable. Despite being very close to the rowdy downtown area, it is completely quiet. The hosts, Theresa and James, go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and at home, including washing my husband's clothes for him when his luggage didn't arrive. The breakfasts were delicious. This place fully deserves an Excellent rating.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cindyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

We have just returned (April' 07) from a wonderful round trip to Canada and one of the highlights was our stay in Banff which was made all the more special by our hosts at the Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast. A great central location just minutes from the town centre. Wonderful room and facilities. A particular mention should go to the owners James and Theresa whose warmth and hospitality as well as indepth local knowledge really made the Banff part of our trip unforgettable. The breakfasts served were some of the best I have had anywhere, with a large variety of fresh ingredients prepared and served with the kind of service that you just can't get in a big impersonal hotel. When we do go back to Banff, it's a foregone conclusion where we will be staying. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Based on reviews here on TripAdvisor, I originally made a reservation at Thea's House in Banff. Unfortunately there was a miscommunication and that didn't work out, so Thea recommended the Buffaloberry and I made a reservation there instead. It was a great suggestion, as the Buffaloberry is a great place to stay.

Buffaloberry is located about two blocks off the east end of Banff Avenue. It is within walking distance of the heart of downtown Banff, assuming it's not too cold. The pictures on the website accurately depict the B&B. Everything is new and immaculate. We stayed in the Oatmeal and Chaff room. The bed was very comfortable, and the linens were very high quality. The great room downstairs was also available to us, although we didn't have much time to enjoy it.

Breakfast was prepared by James and Theresa and was delicious. There was a large plate of assorted fresh fruit (grapefruit, pineapple, and probably at least three others that I can't remember), juice, coffee, eggs, sausage...enough to sustain us for a full day of skiing until dinner.

Theresa and James are very knowledgeable of the Banff area and offered great advice on the local skiing , restaurants, and other activities. I think they also do some work at the Fairmont Banff Springs hotel, and their experience in the industry shows in how they run Buffaloberry. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who will be visiting Banff.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DapperScoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House
0.9 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £278 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing