We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, exceeded all our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at the Buffaloberry on our way to Jasper and we were not disappointed. The owners, Theresa and James were very welcoming and our bedroom was extremely well appointed and spotless (we stayed in the "Wheat and Chaffe" room). The Buffaloberry
is more akin to a boutique hotel rather than a B&B and the attention to detail is fantastic. Another real plus point is the breakfasts which are delicious and varied every day (Theresa's home made muffins
are worth a special mention)! We were also grateful for our hosts knowledge of the local area including restaurants and hikes.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2007

We have just returned from a five day stay in Banff, Canada, at the Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast. It was by far the best accommodations we have experienced in a number of travels this year, and we are picky. The owners designed and built this beautiful property and thought of every detail in doing so. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and beautifully decorated. Each morning the host and hostess provided us with a delicious breakfast of several courses. If you have special food needs, all you have to do is tell them, and they are most accommodating. Since they have worked in food service in some of the larger resort hotels during their career, they know exactly how to make guests feel at home and most welcomed. They also had mixed drinks or after dinner liquers for you when you returned in the evening from your long day of activities. We also appreciated the fact that they told us about particular places to visit, a wonderful show performed by David Rogers (who played the lead in Phantom of the Opera in Toronto for many seasons), great hikes, and terrific restaurants. We initially learned about the Buffaloberry from Frommer's Travel Guide, and because of its glowing review, we decided to stay there. We are SO GLAD we made that choice. Their web site is [--]. The owners, Theresa and James, are wonderful hosts.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank june01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Ditto to all the other excellent reviews. Buffaloberry is a lovely, easy, inviting, convenient place to stay in Banff. The B&B owners, James and Theresa made us feel totally welcome yet left us to come and go, settle in, and relax throughout our stay. They are knowledgeable about the area and offered excellent advice. Breakfasts were very good and the room was wonderfully comfortable. We will stay there again, and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Rooms were very clean and comfortable but the greatest treat were the wonderful breakfasts and the caring, informative manner with which Theresa and James treat guest - after a few days, we truly felt they were our friends - We could not recommend them more highly.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ellen418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Thanks for a wonderful 8-day stay, James and Theresa! Buffaloberry B&B is, by far, the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in. Thanks for the fluffy towels, the comfy slippers and robes, the high-quality sheets, the tasty and varied menu, all your great advice, and for noticing and catering to our likes and dislikes. We've never been treated so well on vacation!

Not only did we benefit from your professionalism, we greatly enjoyed your warmth and friendship. You also seemed to inspire friendliness and openness in your guests--we thoroughly enjoyed their company as well!

Best wishes for what we know will be continued success!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

The Buffaloberrry is a wonderful place to stay. It is a beautiful Inn that was built and decorated with a thought to all the details. The furnishings are first class and the beds very comfortable. Despite being very close to the rowdy downtown area, it is completely quiet. The hosts, Theresa and James, go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and at home, including washing my husband's clothes for him when his luggage didn't arrive. The breakfasts were delicious. This place fully deserves an Excellent rating.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cindyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

We have just returned (April' 07) from a wonderful round trip to Canada and one of the highlights was our stay in Banff which was made all the more special by our hosts at the Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast. A great central location just minutes from the town centre. Wonderful room and facilities. A particular mention should go to the owners James and Theresa whose warmth and hospitality as well as indepth local knowledge really made the Banff part of our trip unforgettable. The breakfasts served were some of the best I have had anywhere, with a large variety of fresh ingredients prepared and served with the kind of service that you just can't get in a big impersonal hotel. When we do go back to Banff, it's a foregone conclusion where we will be staying. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
12.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £229 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing