We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel!”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed for 7 nights at the Fox hotel and had a fantastic time. It was our wedding anniversairy and we were offered a discounted room upgrade (definitely worth it!) and a complementary bottle of wine.
The hotel suites are very clean, comfortable (especially the enormous bed!) and well decorated & the service was great!
A definite must hotel if staying in Banff!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_PBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    774
    255
    105
    43
See reviews for
641
1,032
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed at the Fox Hotel for 10 nights from 1 May 2011. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. We upgraded to a one-bedroomed suite with a lounge, kitchette and balcony. The room was at the back at the hotel and was very quiet. Also lovely views of the mountains. The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from Banff or 3 stops on the Roaming Bus ( we were given free bus passes). Continental breakfast was included in the price and was fine. Hot tub was great especially after a day's skking.The hotel staff arranged skiing passes , transfers and a trip to the icefields ( which was our best day). I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of coming to Banff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Outstanding comfort is the only thing you need to know about this hotel, but aw shucks... I"m going to tell you more anyway. My famiily stayed with Fox in April and from the moment we stepped through the door we felt at home.
Located a couple of blocks from the centre of town, The Fox is a new and fresh hotel that offers hotel style AND apartment style rooms and is ideal for a couple or a family.
We stayed in an apartment style, which was split over two levels. My husband and I had the master room downstairs and my son on a fold out upstairs in the lounge - Perfect layout.
I'd like to point out that the fold out bed was super comfortable, when compared to most others my son sleep on throughout our travels, so that was a plus.
The kitchen was fitted out with everything you might need while away but the biggest bonus was the inclusion of a daily breakfast. You can fuel up and be away to explore Banff. All in all the location for excellent, service was excellent, The room was so clean, fresh and beautifully decorated - truely outstanding.
The most unqiue feature of this hotel is the Hot Springs Grotto under the hotel. A great way to finish the day and relax or as we did speak to other guests and have a laugh. Try going from the hot spring to the ice cold shower... I dare you !!! if nothing else you'll know your alive.
Parking is also available.

So look no further people - this hotel is for you and I'm a travel agent from Australia....... Not a picky bunch but we sure know quality when we see it.
Fox Hotel and Suites............ Thank you for the best stay in Alberta !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CBRPTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you very much for you words of praise! We certainly endevour to provide a product and service that exceeds our guests expectations. I am happy to hear we succeeded with you.

Perahps we will see you again on your next visit from Down Under!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed at the Fox for 3 nights and were extremely impressed with it. The hotel as a whole was very clean, the rooms were modern but was appropriate to the area. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. The hot tub/ppol was excellent and after a long walk it was very relaxing. It was our honeymoon and they had put a bottle of wine and congratulations card in the room which was really thoughtful. I really enjoyed my experience in Banff as a whole and would love to go back there and would definitely stay at the Fox again!
The only problem we had was that the heating system in the room was very noisy so we turned it off. This was not really an issue overall as the room did stay nice and warm even with it off.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahnpatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Gotta love that hot tub - pool! Top corner room had great views and was very spacious and comfortable. Front desk assistance during our stay was great. Very helpful restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EtheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed here with friends over a weekend. One of my friends first time to Banff. The hotel was great. The decor and atmosphere fit well with the mountain surroundings.
The room was great. We had a 2 bedroom suite with enough comfortable sleeping for our group. The only issue we found with the room is that the snow got into the room and the floor was constantly wet since you enter the room from an outdoor courtyard.
The highlight is the grotto. We were sitting in the cave like hot tub with snow coming through the hole in the roof - very cool.

All in all, it was a great stay, and I would not hesitate to stay there again the next time I'm out that way.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We have purchased large entrance mats, that will help with the collection of snow from shoes and boots, and they are at the inside of each door. Hopefully these will address your issue.

You should come for another visit this summer! I can't promise no snow, but I can promise that it won't be enough to stick to your shoes, and make it's way into your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I stayed here alone for 4 nights in April for some spring boarding at the Big 3. The Fox provides clean, modern, mountain-style hotel/motel lodgings.

Location: Conveniently located next door to a drop-off/pick-up spot for the (free) Lake Louise shuttle bus. It is not so convenient to the Sunshine Village shuttle bus located downtown, which is a 15 minute walk. You could also take the (free) local bus to that location. There are only other hotels in this area, which is fine if you're looking for restaurants or spas. Any type of shopping is downtown (15 min walk).

Room: Comfortable, clean, and modern, but on the small side. Oddly, the shower bar in the bathroom blocked the bathroom door from closing all the way due to its oblong shape. A straight shower bar wouldn't have affected the door in this way.

My only complaint with my room is that the pillows are far too thick. They would give me neck pain from straining my neck all night.

Access to rooms is from the outside (just like a motel) via an interior outdoor courtyard.

Also, the hotel keeps the blinds open and the lights on inside every room that is not assigned to a guest. It is easy for an intruder to figure out which rooms have guests as those rooms probably have their shades pulled down. Not a good idea from a personal security perspective.

Breakfast: Free continental breakfast is just ok. Fruit, breads, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, waffles. I've stayed elsewhere and had far superior free breakfasts. It is sufficient, however, to get you through to lunch at the ski hills.

Hot tub in the basement is cool - made to look like a grotto of the real Banff hot springs. May be filled late in the day with many children.

Ski lockers are provided, but I just brought my gear into my room with me.

All-in-all - a great place to stay and I had a great room rate, probably due to it being late in the season (but the snow at LL and Sunshine was incredible).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I would like to clarify a few items for travelers, to ensure the information presented is accurate.
We do not have any rooms whereby the bathroom door will not close completely. Should you ever experience any issue with your room, please don't hesitate to let us know!
I will agree, our pillows are thick and fluffy. Some guests love them, while others prefer a flatter pillow. We do have flatter pillows available, simply call our front desk, and we will have them delivered to your room, or mention your request at time of booking.
We do not keep the lights on in vacant rooms. We are too environmentally conscience for that!
We also have security patrol the property at various times to ensure our guests safety.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next ski trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing