We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and simple”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice and simple”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

awesome pool! very clean. lots to choose from in Banff but this was very nice. i would however give another hotel a chance next time....meaning it wasnt so great I have to go back.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 98yankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    748
    241
    102
    43
See reviews for
614
1,010
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in the Fox for three nights recently, it was at the end of our trip to Canada.
The hotel is located just outside of the town, but well within walking distance. The hotel is perfect and they really have thought of everything. The hotel is positively gleaming - the house keeping staff do a great job every day. Every day our room was spotless when we returned. All staff were lovely. We were expecting a few croissants for the continental breakfast - however cereal, lots of fresh fruit, and you can make your own waffles!
The hot tub is great as well.
So well done Fox and dont drop the good standards

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrywomanreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. I will be sure to commend our Housekeeping Team on their excellent service! They certainly value positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Fox Hotel & Suites again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Where do i start to rave about this hotel? I correct that, it wasnt just the hotel it was the whole experience.
I booked a room off the net from the hotel directly and got their package of three days two nights with breakfast included, an evening wildlife safari and a gondola trip up Lake Louise. ...all for a very good price.
The breakfast was standard continental fare served at their onsite Chili's restaurant. We ended up eating a few meals at Chili's a) because it was convenient and b) because it was good! The coffee was superb.
We liked the banff/hotel experience so much we ended up extending our stay an extra day and I must say was in no hurry to leave then either.
The hotel staff were beyond reproach. Tim, Julie and Michelle were absolutely awesome and went out of their way to assure we had an enjoyable visit.
The hotel is spotless, the grotto hot pool was awesome and while the hotel isnt right in the center of town, there is a bus that stops right outside the door. The hotel even provided bus passes at no cost.
The only thing that might be of issue to some folks is the room size. It was indeed cozy. Some might say cramped. Over all though, we didnt mind this as we really couldnt fault another thing about this hotel or the experience the staff went out of their way to provide!

Room Tip: check their internet website for special deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyChrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a trip through the Canadian Rockies. We celebrated our 26th anniversary while here.

The hotel was very nice and inviting. Even though it was May, it was snowing outside and we were welcomed by a roaring fire in the large lobby area. The staff was friendly and very attentive.

We were upgraded to a suite at a very reasonable price and found the hotel was easy to navigate and find your way around. Free parking in a secure, out of the weather, underground garage was also a bonus.

There was a bit of wear and tear, common to a hotel in ski country such as dings, dents and scratches that I was surprised were not quickly repaired as they were totally cosmetic in nature. This tended to distract from the overall appearance of some of the common areas and in our suite.

Another bonus is a free, full breakfast buffet in the in-house Chili's restaurant. There were several offerings including waffles, etc. The food was good, hot and easy.

The Fox also includes free bus passes for the local transit system to get you around Banff easily if you wish to avoid the use of your vehicle to get downtown. Speaking of downtown, it was an easy walk from the hotel where you are greeted with a plethora of shops and restaurants, etc.

One unique feature of the Fox is their underground Grotto, spa area. It is very nice and provides the guest with an experience that is different from the usual hotel hot tub...

Banff Lodging Company, which runs The Fox also has several other lodging facilities in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Wear and tear such as nicks and scrapes on furniture is an ongoing issue, we try to keep on top of this, and are always touching up and repairing as needed. Perhaps we need to address your unit next!

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Had a one night stopover and wished we could have stayed longer in Banff.
Great room design (I love the fox) ,
warm and cozy bed , fantastic cave like semi open air hot tubs.
With the benefits of free underground heated parking and free Wifi in guestroom.
Hot complimentary breakfast is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daradai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I would recommend anyone to stay at The Fox in Banff, beautiful and comfortable rooms. Outstanding service and incredible value. Always a pleasure and perfect for the whole family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

On May 17, 2011 my husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Fox Hotel & Suites. What a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the loft suite and it was well worth the money. It was very big, clean, comfortable and relaxing. The hotel has alot to offer - it is about a five minute walk to all the down town shops. We really enjoyed the extra large hot spa that is open to the outside. I really like the fact that it is linked to other hotels and therefore you can choose to have supper at these hotels and put it on your room charge card - the selection is great. The front desk staff are very welcoming and helpful with directions, etc... The restaurant staff were also fun and friendly. It seems the hotel has employees who really enjoy working for the hotel and it shows. We would recommend this hotel in a heart beat to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goobun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing