We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BANFF AT ITS BEST !”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Fox is your best dollar to value hotel in Banff. We had a loft with king bed and small workable breakfast and snack kitchen. Staff is polite and very helpful, the room was serviced impeccably. There is a chilis on property with a warm and accommodating staff who made everyone feel welcomed.I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I'm delighted to read that you will return, and that you felt welcomed by our team. With Wi/Fi, heated underground parking, ROAM bus passes, and continental breakfast all included with your stay, I would agree, there's a lot of added value here at the Fox. Many hotels charge extra for these things. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

A decent, comfortable hotel on the edge of Banff - a very easy accessible stroll into the main town. Good friendly staff who were pleasant to deal with. Great base for exploring the surrounding area and everything on offer around Banff.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ksite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

VERY friendly , great ambiance , lush food and the room was very cozy.
A little shocked to see the last few comments!!
Travel a lot and would definitely recommend .
Breakfast buffet did the trick and came back to chilis twice , it was so good
Free shuttle from hotel was very welcome as it was -36 today

,

Stayed: December 2013
Thank ruthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I just completed a three night stay (we booked for 4 nights, but left early). Overall we were ok with the stay and the way management resolved an issue. The hotel looks like it draws a fairly young crowd...similar to a spring break crowd. Because of the center courtyard and the hot pool all the noise from the courtyard gets funneled to most rooms within view of the courtyard. Thursday night was quite, Friday night a little louder but acceptable, and then Saturday was truly unacceptable. Because of the noise and a fight that broke out the cops were called to the hotel in the early morning hours. Even with the cops being called the noise still went on and finally I stood out on the balcony at 3am and told the people to go to their room. I phoned the front desk manager that night 3 times and he answered only once. I did talk to the hotel manager the next morning and after some excuses on his part he finally did the right thing and credited us for 1 night and we moved on to a different hotel.

If the hotel is going to draw this type of crowd they need to be prepared to hire security to be onsite after hours. The front desk manager can't handle the situation and this type of crowd does not listen to verbal commands.

We will return to Banff in the future, but will not being staying at the Fox. Great concept with the hot tub and courtyard, but they need to get a handle on the crowd they are drawing.

I will also say that we are fairly tolerant people...noise, laughter, yelling before midnight is one...fighting, yelling the F word, doors slamming..after midnight is another.



Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank scootr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. I thought we had resolved this here at the hotel, and I was surprised and disappointed to read your review. As explained, we did have a rowdy bunch in which we needed to call for security and police. This was very unfortunate and not the norm here. As far as drawing a 'spring break crowd', we actually tend to have more families stay here at the Fox, and we do enforce our quiet hour of 11pm. We do have an outside on-call security company that completes rounds of the property as well. Once again we are sorry for the disturbance these guests caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September and very disappointed. The rooms were very small and cramped and had very little space to place luggage or to hang clothes. My husband and I are keen line dancers and we inquired at the front desk as to where we might find live music and line dancing and was met with the comment, "Oh I don't go out much", surely the front desk staff should have a handle on what is going on around their town so they can pass information onto guests. Breakfast was allegedly included in the price however when we went to breakfast we had to fend for ourselves, the waiting staff did not tell us where to go for the buffet and we were not so much as greeted with a good morning. This hotel is evidently all about the footfall and not about the guests and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

It is with disappointment that I read your review. I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us, and would not return. For those looking for added space, I can recommend our suites. As far as our Front Desk team not offering information, and our Restaurant staff not greeting you, I apologize. This is certainly not up to the standards we strive for, and I appreciate your feedback. I will be reviewing our standards of guest service with our team. You certainly should have been given information and a warm greeting. I apologize on behalf of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The good: Ideal location within an easy walk of downtown. Sue, the front desk manager who greeted me at check-in, was top-notch and a very pleasant conversationalist, helping me determine how to make the most of my limited time in Banff.

The not-so-good: Painfully average room and amenities. I visited midweek and was honestly surprised that the room I was assigned was, well, budget hotel quality, and tiny. The vaunted "hot springs" replica is really just a giant stylized hot tub in a dark, cave-like room on the ground floor. The two other desk staff members I met with weren't friendly and appeared preoccupied...with what I can't imagine, given the low occupancy at the time.

I'd stay elsewhere next time I'm in Banff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4richer4poorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. I am pleased to see you appreciated Su, and were helped in making the most of your time in Banff.

I am sorry to read that you were not as impressed with service from others on our team. We aim to provide great guest service for all. I am sorry we missed the mark here.

Was there something specific that made you feel as though the your room was 'budget quality'? This is a very rare comment, as we generally receive very positive reviews on our rooms, as well as our unique Cave & Basin inspired hot pool. Our amenities are sourced locally, and are usually favored by our guests. I do appreciate feedback, and if it was something specific that we could improve upon, I would love to hear from you. I will send you a personal message to discuss. Thank you once again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Recently visited the Fox for an overnight stay and must say the service was top notch. Rooms very nice and clean. The spa area is a very unique concept having the appearance of a cave and basin, which makes it feel very different. Very enjoyable stay, would recomme

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £79 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing