We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the Christmas holiday and I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. When you walk into the hotel, there is a beautiful roaring fireplace with comfy couches in the lobby and super friendly front desk staff. We booked a standard Queen room which was a perfect size for two people-the decor is very 'ski chalet' rustic and it works well. The grotto hot tub downstairs is open to the outdoors giving it a more natural feel. Breakfast is served in the attached Chilis restaurant and is actually quite filling for a continental breakfast-lots of fruit and waffle makers. Underground parking is included and very convenient. My only complaint is the Wifi; while it is free, it's quite slow and the connection drops frequently.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michefoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    762
    250
    103
    43
See reviews for
628
1,026
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great base for Banff area. Kids loved the hot tub, where it was a nice change to have real music not "spa" sounds. Perfect after a day skiing and a nice touch to have it open to the outside to give hot springs experience. Heated car park good, but missed out on a spot on a Saturday night as is first come first serve....
Comfortable, quiet, great value, friendly staff, and a lively bar/restaurant area if so inclined.
Family of four. Kids 6 and 8. Stayed in a King suite with kids on fold out sofa in living area.

Room Tip: Fourth floor very quiet. King suite meant a nice big bed and a separate room from kids if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the Fox over Christmas and New Year this being our 12th visit to Banff and our 5th stay at the Fox. We love this hotel the welcoming log fire as you enter the building and the friendly staff on reception that go the extra mile to please. That goes for all the staff no matter what job they are doing, the rooms are cosy warm and very clean. The hot tub and facilities are superb and the Fox itself is well positioned on Banff Ave for a walk into town. The very good complimentary breakfast is a good start to the day. This Hotel is Home from Home for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 320Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome you 'home' Dot & Terry! We look forward to many more visits over the years, and as always don't hesitate to get in touch should there be any way we can make your stay with us even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great stay, rooms were clean, nice beds. Good bathroom amenities. Staff was very friendly. The grotto hot tub is a must and a great selling point. Nice touch, there are towels at the pool so you don't need to bring them from your room. Wifi is also included. Free underground parking was nice. Town center is less then 10 minute walk. We enjoyed the hotel very much

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nedertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife. The location is Awesome, 5 Minutes walk into Banff.

The room was not too bad, but just felt a little dated with the wallpaper. The one other thing I did not like about the room was noise from above and next door. Our room had a door between our room and the other, and sound proofing was poor. I should have brought this to their attention but decided to live with it.

The pool area was the highlight of staying here. It is really nice and the water is a great temperature.

Our stay included a continental breakfast which was basic but free non the less.

We ate once at chillie's restaurant and unfortunately, our waiter kept getting our order wrong so it was not the best experience. But in the mornings the staff were great with keeping us topped up with coffee.

Storage for skis is available on site and locks are provided.

Overall, our stay was pretty good, but for some reason, I just feel that I would probably not stay here again, and I cannot pinpoint the reason why. Probably just a personal thing.

However I would recommend staying here for the location and the amazing hot pool on site.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifrit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is from valuable guest feedback that we can improve upon our product and the services we provide.

I'm sorry to read that you were disrupted by guests above or beside you. For future travelers, please let us know, and we will do what we can to ensure your stay is quiet and enjoyable.

I'm also sorry to read you had issues with service in our on-site restaurant. Again, please make us aware at the time, and we will work hard to rectify any issues. When given the opportunity, we can usually make up for any short-comings. We are here to serve you, our valued guests!

Thank you for recommending us, I do hope you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in a one bedroomed suite at the Fox for 9 nights over New Year. The front desk staff were brilliant - they organised flowers to be delivered to the room on my birthday, gave us free passes and timetables for the Roam bus (which is included in the overall price), recommended a restaurant for New Years Eve (which was a very good recommendation), and allowed us a late check out on our departure. Chillis, the hotel restaurant, was a reliable dinner option and we ate there for 3 of the nights (largely due to tiredness after skiing but it was perfectly pleasant and reasonably priced). The room was cleaned every day and the kitchen snug was just what we needed - a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was included and offered a range of fruit, pastries and waffles that you made yourself, which for children was just the best. The icing on the cake was the thermal pool which is an integral part of the hotel and which was open every day until late (10 or 11pm I think). I don't know what more we could have asked for. Our suite had two large beds and two large TVs so we had plenty of space. It might have been nice to have a TV guide and more international or film stations but that is a really minor quibble. Overall it was great and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Not sure - we were on the outer which was quiet and no passing people. The courtroom rooms are perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Just checked out of the Fox. Great hotel, short 10 min stroll into downtown, but Fox also gives their guests free shuttle passes if you prefer to stay out of the cold. Concierge staff really helpful and great service, nothing was too much and they were all so happy to help. Stayed in a one bedroom king, good size and facilities- microwave and fridge. Bathroom was small but otherwise good- not luxury but nice. And the hot tub.... Cave inspired and open air at one end- pretty awesome especially after a day on the slopes- very relaxing. Would recommend and stay again myself

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLFMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,023 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing