We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but nothing fancy”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Fox during a ski trip to Banff. We were there 5 nights in a one bedroom suite. The room was very clean. Plenty of space. Seems fairly new so the basic amenities were all in working order. Included breakfast was nothing fancy, but -- as it was free -- I couldn't complain too much.

Some drawbacks included unhelpful front desk staff, only street parking for larger vehicles (e.g. full-size SUV), ice only available on one level, very firm mattress, basic towels (not soft and fluffy). Not huge issues, but indicative of the most "basic" nature of the hotel.

We did not experience any of the noise issues that some have mentioned. We do sleep with a white noise, so that may have helped. Our stay was also during the week so the noise issues could be worse on the weekends -- don't know.

Hot tub was large and nice after skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelMXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Based on the ratings that we read we really thought this hotel was going to be awesome, but it turned out to be more average than we expected. First off we didn't appreciate the reception's staff attitude when we asked if we could redeem our coupon for 10% off the cost of the room (from our SUTP app). Said "oh you can only use those when you book the room and we don't accept them on busy nights", We responded that it did not say that on the coupon anywhere and were a little perplexed on how to redeem it when they need the code as we booked online to which the response was "well you'd have to phone us...."....who does that anymore??? To their credit they did give us the discount, but it would have been nicer to do with out the added scolding.

This hotel is best suited for tourists trying to get the "Canadian Mountain Experience". It has all the looks of what one would expect the Canadian Rockies to be, and what more could you really want in banff. It is most suited for a romantic couples get away though as it is not too kid friendly. And one of the coolest things about it was the hot tub, that looks like a cave although it is crowded most of the time so little privacy is to be had, there isn't a pool either.

The room was new and had all the modern amenities one could expect, although a fan that actually worked in the bathroom would have been nice. We had a king suite, and again a lock on the bedroom door would have been nice as well. The kitchenette (only a microwave and fridge) had an acceptable compliment of dishes and utensils. Unfortunately for us the sleep was less than memorable as we found the bed as hard as a rock, but if you like extra firm mattresses this may be the place for you. Lastly it was quite warm in the bedroom, but too early in the year for A/C, so we need to have the window open and could hear a lot people who had been partying hooting and hollering into the wee hours of the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to read that your time with us did not exceed your expectations.

Firstly I would like to apologize for the service you received at check in. This does not sound up to par, and it is not typical of our team.

The bathroom fans are silent, so I assume it was working, but you may have thought it was not due to it's silent feature. An easy way to test it to put a tissue in front of it, you will see that the tissue becomes sucked to the fan.

If ever there are issues with people 'partying late into the night' please don't hesitate to bring this to our attention. We are here 24/7 and enforce the quiet hours we have set.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Best family holiday ever at this hotel. We've done a lot of travelling over the years and this Hotel definitely rates as one of the best! We stayed for 10 nights with our two grown kids and couldn't ask for anything more. Our family suite was huge.Beautiful and clean with everything you could want along with nice comfy beds. The hot tub was so nice to come to after a day on the slopes and with Chili's as their restaurant you didn't need to go far if you didn't feel like it! The free breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day and the front desk staff were always happy and helpful. We booked a snowmobile tour with recommendations from "Bek" and that was the highlight of our stay! Definitely a must do! Restaurants and shops are all so close and the bus for skiing picks you up right outside. You won't find a better hotel in Banff for comfort and convenience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The rooms that we had next to each other were amazing. The door In between them opened up and basically turned it into a 2 bed apartment. If I'm ever back in Banff I will be staying here again. The view from the room was amazing as well

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My family and I decided to stay there instead of our usual hotel well the rooms are tiny especially for the price! They were very clean and decorated well though that was great, the noise though was unreal and everytime I called front desk said they would fix the problem and nothing was done. So I went down in the morning to complain and was nice about it and the lady said oh was it outside or inside I told her both and she just said ya sorry it's a weekend!!!!!!!
Will never stay there again and I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliCat271984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback, however would have appreciated the opportunity to speak with you during your stay. We do not have record of your calls complaining about noise, and am very sorry to hear you were disturbed.

Our room layout and square footage can be found on our website. Here you can determine the size of room that is right for you. Our quiet hour begins at 11pm, and if ever you are disturbed by excessive noise by other guests, simply dial '0' from your room and we'll have security address the issue.

The quiet comfort and enjoyment of your experience is important to us. When made aware of the issue, we will always do our best to rectify it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel has a pool that is extremely warm below the main floors. The pool opens up to the sky above. The free breakfast has enough to get you started for the day. Good food for other meals. The fireplace was cozy and warm. Hotel has a lounge. The rooms were clean. We were there for the Alberta Winter Games and the temperature was -34C.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary1947_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Four of us stayed in a two bedroom suite in February. The bedrooms were large and comfortable with more than enough storage for the paraphernalia that goes with skiing. The lounge area was less welcoming, the sofa was small and uncomfortable and would be cramped if six people were being accommodated. Our biggest annoyance was the inefficient and noisy heating in the lounge. The fan was either on or off and blasted too hot air for a period followed by a short sharp blast of cold air. The thermostat was pretty useless although the bedrooms used different heat and could be kept at a decent temperature. One other notable issue - the floors are wood and the furniture has no cushioning on the feet of the tables and chairs. The room above us were moving around until 4AM some mornings and the scraping of this furniture became very annoying. Felt pads on the bottom of the dining chairs would be welcome!
Breakfast was included and was about as basic as a continental breakfast gets. There was no variety and the only hot option was waffles. The pastries were of variable quality and often stale.
We ate in Chilli's for lunch and dinner and had a good meal, typical of the chain throughout North America.
In the basement of the hotel is a large lagoon / hot tub and sauna which proved popular and is well worth a visit.
Parking was underground and free and with temperatures down to minute 27, very welcome.
Service at the hotel was always great and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor would avoid being disturbed by chairs dragging on wooden floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StheBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £79 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing