We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoo hooo-upgrade!”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I booked here because of a great deal on expedia. We arrived and upon check in were able to upgrade to a premium king loft suite with only a small charge. The free continental breakfast was really good and we were able to sit, eat quickly and head out to ski. We also liked the free wifi and free parking. The cave & basin inspired hot tub area was also neat. If you sit under the opening in the ceiling, the cooler outside air was really refreshing. Great experience all around!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Amazing hotel!!! We stayed in the King suite room and it was Perfect! The hot tub was crazy beautiful but you need to get there at just the right time to avoid the crowds. Staff were a little 'stiff' and unwelcoming but everything else was perfect! Will definitely go back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for your review! I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your King suite, and loved our unique hot pool. I'm very sorry however, to read you found our team unwelcoming. This is certainly not to the standard we strive for. I would be happy to discuss further.

I do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel, inside and out. The wood and rock theme is very appealing and compliments the mountain background. There is wifi, and incredible hot tub with an open roof to the outdoors, indoor parking, a small exercise room, chilies restaurant and an incredible buffet style breakfast that includes fruits, cereals, granola, pastries, and waffles! Only thing I did not like was the pull out couch I slept on- very uncomfortable ): otherwise, great stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good hotel, although I'm not sure it deserves to be rated as one of the best in Banff. We had a good stay but the hotel was no better or worse than others.

Arrival
We arrived after a 10hr flight and then 1.5hrs coach to Banff arriving about 4pm and was told our room was not quite ready and we had to wait about another 15 minutes. Not what you expect / or want after such a long trip (plus had we caught the earlier coach to Banff we would have been there an hour earlier) would have been a nice to have been offered a free coffee at the bar while we had to wait for them!

Rooms
Just like any other average price hotel. They were clean and tidy, although fairly small. Beds are comfy and good pillows. Shower is ok, very hot but not hugely powerful. By the way if you like tea (English tea) you either need to buy them or ask the breakfast staff for some teabags as the hotel don't have any! They only offer coffee and black orange tea.

Location
You are towards the end of the main high street which gives you a fair walk into town. On the plus side you are about 3rd on the coach collection for the ski resorts so you can get a seat together. A stop or two afterwards as a family you could be separated with only single seats left.

Hottub
As others have said this is really good. BUT we often had to take our own towels from the room down as they ran out! Plus the changing area is really poor - there is only 1 small bench, so if two men are getting changed it gets awkward. This really needs improving.

Food
The inhouse restaurant is really good. The breakfast was great, good friendly staff and good food.

Overall
Good hotel and we would use again, but equally depending on price would try others. It was average for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in the king bed loft suite for 2 nights. We loved it, rooms were very clean with beautiful views and sleep quality was perfect. There is a artificial hot spring spa in the hotel, which is beautiful, warm, and at times crowded (cos it's just fantastic) especially on a very cold winter night. A simple breakfast is provided too. Great stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Fox on our ski vacation to Banff. We stayed a week, and really liked all of it.

We had a one-bedroom suite, and with the two of us, it was plenty big. We liked being able to keep the skis in the closet next to the front door (you can keep skis downstairs or in your room, your choice - we found it easiest to just keep them with us) Room temperature was easily adjustable. Bed was very, very comfortable. We liked being able to fix coffee in the room, and keep things in the fridge.

On your room's telephone, be sure to press *44 (I think?) to hear the elk bugle! That was an unexpected delight.

The Fox is a very pleasing design, with lots of wood and rock. You don't really have territorial views, per se, but the interior 'courtyard' is pleasant.

We LOVED the hot tub! Unique design, and very comforting after a day on the slopes.

Found breakfast to be just fine, as we went in knowing exactly what we'd get. Yes, I wish there were a few more protein offerings, but there were some, and the staff were quite friendly and efficient.

As many have mentioned already, the Fox is well situated in town - an easy stroll into town (about 7 mins) or, right on the city bus line. And, you're just across the street from the ski shuttle pickup, and it's a pickup site that is somewhat "upstream," so you'll be pretty sure of having your pick of seats. (The Banff ski shuttle folks do a good job of organizing all the trips, and seem to ensure that supply always exceeds demand, but it's good to know, anyway)

Being part of the Banff lodging group means that you can go to other hotels and restaurants in the group and still charge to your room, use the free WiFi, etc.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Fox again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Watch out because they will tell u a rate over the phone and when you book they will send a reservation which has a much higher rate. When i called to try to correct they just bounced me back and forth from phone line to phone line, between the front desk and the reservation company, (which they own as well). I finally got a 10% off of the much higher rate after asking to speak with a manager. I really dislike companies that pull this. I am keeping my booking, but will not use them again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Yikes!! This is a horrible review to read, especially since you haven't even stayed with us yet!

If an error was made, this certainly wasn't intentional. We act with integrity, and will always honor the rate we've quoted on your confirmation letter we send to our guests. Please feel free to get in touch with me, we want to ensure a fantastic stay, and a mistake from the get go, sounds like you're off to a bad start! Let's turn this around, and provide you with the service and product we are known for. We look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £78 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing