We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer in Banff”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer in Banff”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fox hotels and suites are well fitted out rooms, but the basic rooms do not have air conditioning
which we found very oppressive as the opening window was small. We couldn't get the temp below 21c with the fan on all afternoon, Thankfully they upgraded us, but the facilities, pool, bar, parking etc wree really good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    749
    241
    102
    43
See reviews for
615
1,010
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our stay was excellent. The staff went out of their way to take care of us. The room was clean and classy. It was quiet and room service was a bottle of wine after long drive. Location was on the beaten path, but very convenient. Highly recommend. Five Stars for the staff " ALL"

Room Tip: Everything was great and "please try the Spa"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
388 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Five of us stayed in a two level suite for a girls' weekend away, and our stay was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable with rustic decor. The hotel is within walking distance of the town shops, restaurants, and bars. Give yourself 10-15 minutes to walk downtown. There is a good variety of food served at breakfast including hot and cold options. There is also underground parking, but the spots are pretty tight. I would stay here again, especially for an event or a weekend away with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I arrived at the Fox today for a 2 night stay and are so far a bit disappointed.

The reception area is impressive but we were not so taken by the check in service when we were basically told that because we had 'only' booked a standard room we wouldn't get air con or kitchenette facilities. We don't even need those things but to have it pointed out to us made us feel like inferior guests for booking a standard room, which in itself is still pretty expensive. I had also emailed ahead to just let them know that we are celebrating our wedding anniversary today and to not have any acknowledgement, even just to mention it when we checked it, was also pretty disappointing.

Our room if fine but in our opinion, not worth the $269 price tag-the shower head is a bit mouldy, the shower curtain is ragged, the bed is small and the furniture is very average.

Basically we had been really looking forward to a special boutique hotel stay for our anniversary and are really underwhelmed. The other 5 places we have stayed earlier on our trip have all been better value for money and have offered us a much warmer welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucywhite1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Banff has lots of great hotels, and we were torn about which one to settle on. We finally chose the Fox Hotel and Suites, and we weren't disappointed. It's a beautiful hotel with a lodge-like feel and a Chili's Restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast at Chili's is included in the room charge - it's not quite as good as most inclusive breakfasts - mainly yogurt, fruit, cereal; of course, you can order and pay for anything else you want. The best feature of the hotel is the hot tub - it's not a hot tub at all, but a stunning grotto cave with a winding hot tub pool and a steam room. The downtown shops are too far to walk to from the hotel, but parking is good in the center of town, so that's not really a problem. We arrived after 10 pm, and Chili's closed at 11; we went into Banff to eat - Subway was open until 3, so that's where we ate dinner. All the rooms have outside doors open to a courtyard. Our room was on the second floor, and, although very nicely decorated, it was very cramped - I think it ended up costing close to $200 US, and I don't think it was a very big room nor a super-comfortable bed for that price. One down side for someone from Texas was that there was no swimming pool. Banff International Hotel was our other choice - it does have a swimming pool and a spa. The Fox Hotel & Spa was actually more suited to couples, while we were just two girlfriends driving a parent's car to her home in Alaska. In retrospect, I think I might have preferred the swimming pool to the grotto hot tub. On a side note, the town of Banff is full of gift and specialty shops. We spent a couple of hours - maybe three - wandering through the shops. Again in retrospect, I would choose to make the drive up to Lake Louise than do the shops. As it was, we ended up not having the time to go through Jasper National Park which I regret.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deng29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A truly lovely place to stay and about 10 / 15 minutes slow walk from to centre of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast was buffet style and there is enough choice for the most picky off people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Our room (406) had a wonderful view. My kids loved the hot pool area. The hotel also gave us bus passes to ride into downtown rather than walk which was really nice when the kids were tired, but the walk wasn't bad either. Very friendly staff and loved that you could order chilis for room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing