We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. We had a king suite loft room with a balcony on the 4th floor facing the mountains. Check-in was efficient, parking is underneath the hotel with lift access to the rooms. The room was spotlessly clean and air conditioned, the bed comfortable, a small kitchette area with a table and chairs a microwave, fridge and coffee maker etc . The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the main town making it a quieter area, a 10 minute stroll takes you into the main town. Good location to access to all the sights that Banff has to offer. Breakfast was buffet style with toast, fruits and pastries and a waffle making machine. Juices and coffee were also in plentiful supply. The under ground grotto was a great place to relax tired legs after a day on the trails. There is also a very reasonably priced self service laundrette with washing machines and dryers. The staff were all very friendly and made our stay effortless and enjoyable. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The King Loft Suite on the 4th floor was a large double storey room with balcony and good views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tailwagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is newer and has a cool layout, the bedroom overlooks the living room. The A/C works great but it still gets warm upstairs. TV didn't work our whole stay...just static, but we were here more for the outside view.
It's also got a man made grotto which looks pretty cool, but it's just a packed little dipping pool.
But I do have to admit....I got the best sleep in a long time...thanks

Room Tip: Not too many great views from the hotel...but your only going to be in your room to sleep..lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our trip to Canada. The room we were allocated was 108 on the ground floor at the end of a row facing the courtyard.It was clean and had everything we needed but felt very small,dark & dingy. It was also very warm as had no air conditioning.We found a fan in the cupboard but even with this on it was still too warm. We spoke to another couple who had upgraded to a suite and said that was lovely so think if you stay here it would be better to pay extra and do that.Compared to the rest of the hotels we stayed at during our 16 days this was by far the worst room although hotels in Banff are expensive & this was value for money!
We went to the pool/hot tub once but found this too hot as well and smaller than it appeared in the photos.

Room Tip: Go for a suite-avoid the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane_and_John_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had 3 nights in Banff after our Rocky Mountaineer trip. It is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Banff, but it is on the flat and welcome after 2 days on a train!

The facilities were OK but the bed was on the small size (5 foot) and there wasn't much room for our cases. The room felt smaller as we needed to keep the blinds down as the windows faced inwards to the courtyard and the walkway to the other rooms went past our window.

There was nothing wrong with the standard of fittings or the service - we just missed the space we have had on the rest of out trip, so would try somewhere else (or ask for a bigger room) next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sjmmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed two night in this hotel mid May. The hotel is within walking distance to downtown, has free parking, free breakfast and free Wifi. They also have a computer and printer where quest can get online and print whatever you want. The room was nice and clean, and service is also very good. The breakfast only has limited choices, but not bad at all. The only complain was they put us in a room on the first floor when the hotel was not busy at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfoodallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I picked this place based on the reviews I read here, and I'm glad I did.

We had a room on the 4th floor, facing the street. The room was perfect - comfortable bed, nice layout, and very clean.

The front desk staff were the best I ever encountered. Friendly, helpful, and professional!

The grotto tub/pool/sauna was very unique - in fact, we only stayed one night and had a choice between that or the hot springs, and we chose the grotto because it was so cool! Our kids loved it.

The parking is VERY tight. If you have a tall vehicle, forget it. Not something that could be helped though, looked like every hotel along that road had limited parking.

It was expensive but worth it. I think it would be a great hotel for a honeymoon. We did see a few honeymooners there, in fact :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 417 and it was really nice. Good view, and was in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed In the Fox Hotel & Suites for a wedding on June 28. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was adequate, however it was VERY hot and the thermostat allowed for only hot temperatures. There was no A/C and no fan to even move air. We had a room with two queen beds. One of the queens was in good shape, however the second one sloped significantly from the middle to the floor, creating a falling sensation for anyone lying down.

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Banff before and this hotel while adequate, would not be on the top of my list for next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Delta Hotels Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £108 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing