We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay... AGAIN! :o)”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Fox Hotel and Suites. Both of our stays have been excellent! We had a wonder room and totally enjoyed our time there! The hotel is a nice walk to the main shopping in Banff and has underground parking. The parking is extremely tight for a truck, we have a SUV and had no problems, but we did phone ahead and found that we could not bring our truck because it wouldn't fit in the garage under the hotel. No big deal, just make sure ahead of when you stay here. The staff was very freindly and helpful. We will be returning here when we come to Banff again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank loopylilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the hottest period in 5 years. Although the rooms are not air conditioned, they stayed acceptably comfortable. The fan provided did the job. The place was a rustic beauty. The lobby (air conditioned) was spacious and inviting. The best parts were the under ground parking and that a Chili's restaurant was integrated into the lobby area. That is were the complimentary breakfast was served with plenty of servers to top off your coffee, etc!
Location was nice. Close enough to town center to walk in less than 10 minutes, but far enoungh away to avoid the congestion and noise. A good value!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southern-Gentleman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family of five just stayed at the Fox for 4 nights while in Banff. We enjoyed it very much. I booked a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit many months ago. The Fox Hotel has many different room configurations available. I was able to get 15% off for a stay of 4 days or more. I researched the many hotels of Banff on TA, hotels.com, Fodors, etc. I opted for the Fox instead of the Fairmont because for the same price we would get more space for the family. Location is very good; the hotel is right on Banff Avenue, the main thoroughfare into town. The walk to town is about 8-10 minutes. The hotel also provides each guest with a complimentary Roam pass; this Roam pass gives each traveler access to the Banff bus system that gets each rider to downtown. The bus leaves every 40 minutes (if I recall correctly) and a stop is right in front of the hotel. We took it both ways several times.
Continental breakfast is also provided to guests free of charge; this buffet breakfast at the attached Chilis restaurant consisted of juices, coffee, bread/toast, muffins, croissants/danishes, yogurt, cereals/granola, some cut-up fruit, hard-boiled eggs, and a make-your-own-waffle machine. Good start to the day, but became boring after a few days. My advice to hotel is to add scrambled eggs and breakfast potatoes to these offerings. Hotel had bikes to rent for $5 per hour; I took advantage of this a few times and really enjoyed riding to the trails by the Bow River. There is a guest laundry available in the basement; I used this twice but one machine (out of the two available) was broken during our stay. Vending machines with detergent are available in the basement too. It would have been nice if the hotel had left a complimentary box of detergent in the room. My daughters and I enjoyed the cave-style hot tub in the basement a few times. (Changing room, lockers, and towels are across the hall.)
Parking is free and is underground. The suite we had was on the 3rd floor. One bedroom had two queen beds, the other had a king bed. Our suite was on one level. There were two balconies - one off the living area had two chairs and table, other attached to the bedroom was narrow and had no furniture on it. Living area had a continuous running ac unit, pull-out sofa, table/chairs, and kitchenette with small fridge and microwave, and some dishes, glassware, cutlery, toaster and coffee pot. Lighting in suite is excellent - they have thought of everything, except maybe small lights over beds for reading. Closet space and vanity space was also excellent. There were 3 tvs in the unit; living area one wasn't functioning correctly but we never called to ask for repair because we had use of the other two. Both baths had tubs/shower and the sink area for both bathrooms was outside of shower/toilet area. There was no air conditioning in either bedroom but living room ac unit and open windows seemed to keep them cool enough. I believe hotel should invest in a couple ceiling fans to further perfect the suite. Accomodations were very clean and very comfortable.
One petty complaint was that our hotel room was not ready by 4 PM. We ended up dropping our bags in the room at 4:50 PM while the room was being prepared. Hotel front desk gave us complimentary drink coupons for each guest in our party for the attached Chilis. We ended up not using them but it was a nice gesture for our inconvenience. So to sum it up - good location, quiet, and clean. I would definitely recommend to a friend and I would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location is very convenient -- you can walk to downtown or take bus that stops right in front of hotel. The hotel provided free bus passes. The staff was very helpful with suggestions and bookings for activities. The breakfast was so-so (make yourself waffles, and an ssortment of pastries, cold cereal and yougart). The service staff at breakfast was friendly and accomodating.
The rooms were basic, but clean and well-maintained. The mineral water spa was nice.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms that face courtyard, you will have to keep drapes closed for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fern H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on the quieter end of the main street.
It has Northwoods style decorating and of course lots of foxes. We had a two room unit with a small living area and kitchen. There is a interesting and unique cavelike hot tub. We really enjoyed using this! There is a Chilis restaurant in the hotel. This was convinient. Hotels in Banff are expensive and breakfast was included in this hotel, which helps. I expected a much better breakfast considering where I was staying. Just some eggs and bacon would be a good improvement. The guest rooms could use a living room furniture update. My family and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay again if we had the opportunity!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our first hotel in Canada having decided to spend two weeks exploring the Alberta and BC.
We stayed for two nights, the room was comfortable with good facilities (although no air conditioning)

Breakfast was included in the room rate and although busy, the waffle machine was worth the wait.

Staff were very helpful and advised on local tours and places to eat.

The hotel had good car parking facilities (under the hotel) we hired a car and drove down to Banff from Calgary.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here one night as a family so we had a suite with a pull out sofa in the living room. All fine in the room but the previous occupants litter on the balcony. Ate in the restaurant - a chain cafe not a real hotel restaurant but the service was friendly. Disappointing breakfast, cook your own waffles and no eggs, but sustaining! I liked the spa style pool, although was expecting to be able to swim lengths - no way, but would be nice after skiing. Banff is expensive and this is one of the better value places I think. Its on the main street and a very short walk to downtown and shopping.

Room Tip: Banff is not busy so even the front rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,515 reviews
0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £79 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing