We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Just had two nights at the Fox. Found it to be very good. I was offered an upgrade to a suite for CDN $35/night rather than the usual $80, and we had a fantastic room.
Very clean, quite, mountain view.
Recommend the spa pool down stairs - very unusual as you can look outside through the hole to the stars etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt0475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

We chose this hotel based on its rating on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. We would stay here again and recommend it. The hotel is situated right on Banff Avenue and is within walking distance to downtown Banff. The hosts were welcoming and check-in was a breeze. Both the National Post and the Calgary Herald are available in the lobby which also has a firelplace. Indoor underground parking is free as is wireless internet. Our room was clean and had two double beds. We found it a little too small with very little room for our luggage or to move around - note that there were three of us though. For two it would have been just fine. Continental breakfast is included and offers toast, boiled eggs, muffins, and fresh fruit. You can even make your own waffles.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We've stayed here a couple of times and always had a great room and great service!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poltzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The location on Banff Avenue is very good and the hotel is newer and definitely looks much nicer than many of the others we passed. Our room was small and did not get much natural light but it was well decorated and the beds were very comfortable. We were offered an upgrade but declined - we felt we would not be spending enough time in the rooms to justify the additional expense.

There is plenty of added value here. The breakfast was included and it was fine. Plenty of fresh fruit and make your own waffles. We had not expected much and had intended to go out for breakfast so we were pleasantly surprised. We made good use of every day of the free bus passes, although the hotel is within walking distance of the town centre. We also used the guest laundry. Best of all though, was the hot pool - it is lovely and during the week in the late evening it was never busy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne6fy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed at the fox with my fiance for my birthday. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect! they let us check in early because the room was vacant. They also filled out a birthday card for me which made me feel really special. Great customer service, clean hotel. Hot pool was amazing! it was made to look like the inside of a cave! best part? a staff was walking by and turned on the jets for us that we didnt even know about. Thats customer service!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This hotel is wonderful provided you don't stay in a regular room. The 1st room we were in had a space about 1 foot wide to hang clothes and the bathroom lighting was HORRIBLE!!!!! However, the following 3 nights we were in a small suite that was very comfortable. Had kitchenette, closet space and bathroom lighting was perfect.

Upon check-in we were giving a bus pass for the 4 days we were there along with coupons for their continental breakfast which was very nice. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaSwigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We found the fox hotel a very nice hotel to stay at, we loved the hot tub, was quite big so when we were there we alwasy got lots of room to oour selves. Has chilis attched to it so you can eat there and also free continental brakast with all your bascis, muffins, ceareal, toast, walffles, fruit and yougurt. Staff was nice no problems there. The only bad thing about the Fox were the room sizes, we just got the cheapest rooms but still we have gotten rooms for cheaper that were bigger, and also the beds were also only doubles so not good for families. Overall very nice and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hello642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2010

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Perhaps you will have a look at our website, to choose a room that is perfect for you. We have different sizes and layouts, and the website also provides a floor plan with square footage, so you can ensure you are choosing the room type that suits you best. Along with double beds, we also offer rooms with queen beds, or king beds, so be sure to choose the arrangement that best fits you needs. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fox Hotel & Suites in the near future. The weather is great and the canoe docks have opened!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £70 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing