We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
South Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Really enjoyed our night at this restaurant. It was so good to get away from the cafe/pub style hamburger and chips and enjoy the lovely food on offer. We were lucky enough to be there on a night complete with belly dancer and plate smashing. Recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hermitage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    316
    115
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our group of four shared two meals in this great restaurant. Every morsel was delicious. Service very friendly and efficient. A great place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cogan Station, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very accommodating. Didn't have reservation, but the found a great table for us in the bar. The Mediterranean salad was so good, I went back the next day for take out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BSK450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Lamb shank!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My son and I enjoyed a lovely meal here one evening. You don't have to dress up too much but definitely wouldn't go in here in your ski-ing or hiking gear. Service was initially a bit slow but got better.

On the night we were here there was music and a belly-dancer which was fun. We had finished our meal when this started though so had to leave before the entertainment really got going.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha-Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-lambert
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

3rd restaurant out of 107 in banff are you kidding me ??

I registered on tripadvisor only to write this review .

The Food here is bad , the plates for this quality should all be at 9.99 30$ for these plates it's insane !

Rice is like uncle bens potatoes bad and solid meat not good it's a mess how can this restaurant he ranked so high this is rigged .

Don't go there bad Greek food I'm never eating Greek again because of this place .

Helpful?
8 Thank Kapitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing