We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pasta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meatball Pizza and Pasta

Meatball Pizza and Pasta
Ranked #80 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Meatball Pizza & Pasta delivers the fun experience that dining should be. The restaurant offers great Italian inspired food, attentive servers and moderate prices coupled with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Our open kitchen prepares flavourful pasta dishes, stone-hearth oven thin crust pizzas, tantalizing meat and vegetarian entrees and a variety of house made appetizers and delicious desserts!
NSW
Level Contributor
132 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very good pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This restaurant was a few doors down from where we were staying at the Red Carpet Inn. Obviously the restaurant was focused on pasta, but it served other dishes as well. Our table of 4 had 3 different pasta dishes, including the meatballs, and all the dishes were rated highly by the respective diners. The drinks are fairly priced and draft beers are served.

I recommend this restaurant for good foo/drinks at sensible prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    110
    65
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Should not have named it Meatball”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The meatballs were absolutely terrible. It's kind of a rubberized meat-paste more than a ball formed from ground meat. We tried both the regular meatballs and the chicken meatballs, the latter of which was way over-spiced. But really, it was the texture that was just incredibly odd.

Rest of food was fine. Pasta was perfectly al dente. Sauce was fine. Just really really odd meatballs. Service was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazorninplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Terrible food with great service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Ordered meatball appetizer which was ok, we shared so had 2 mini meatballs each. We ordered pizza, meat for hubby, garlic mushroom for me and pepperoni for our daughter. They arrived looking like plastic. My daughter left most of hers, not sure if it could have gotten any dryer but Erghh. Mine was supposed to be 3 cheese and mushroom/garlic. I couldn't really bite into it, base was extremely tough and chewy and the small smattering of cheese present was drydry dry. Husbands was the best of a bad lot but only as he prefers mega thin, hardly any tomato and doesn't like cheese. His was still dry and tough. Why didn't we complain? We'd been out since 7am and we're exhausted. We could not be bothered and just wanted to get back to our room. We won't be back here. Karly our server was really awesome and was the only shining light. Not really an atmosphere here to speak of either and I imagine on winter days the draft from the autodoors may cause a little coldness into the mix. Really want to try and be positive but these were visibly terrible (so should have been redone?) and tasted really awful. Our daughter said the base tasted like a mix between plastic and vanilla, I can't really say mine tasted, just know it was very tough. We will not be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a great experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived at this restaurant at 8. There were two other tables in the place when we arrived. I ordered a pizza,my wife had a pasta dish,while my son had their spaghetti and meatballs. The atmosphere in the place was loud as the two tables were 4 plus people that were quite intoxicated. My pizza arrived,it looked very dry with few toppings,(The Capone)well,it was dry and fairly flavourless. My wife's pasta was the gnocchi in a mushroom cream sauce.It was the best dish that we received.Nice light cream sauce loaded with mushrooms!
The spaghetti and meatballs were very poor. The spaghetti was actually linguine and the meatballs were dry and tough,tasting like they were prepared long before they were served.the sauce was average. Service was good. I asked not to be billed for the pizza and after a check by our server with management,my request was granted. With all the other culinary choices in Banff,I won't be revisiting The Meatball.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xmon319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great thin crust pizza and they have a an interesting selection if you like something different. My daughter was a pepperoni only girl until she tried the pizza with a Caeser salad dressing base instead of pizza sauce. I know it sounds odd but it works and that is now the all time favourite

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meatball Pizza and Pasta also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Meatball Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing