We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, small portion food”
Review of Giorgio's Trattoria - CLOSED

Giorgio's Trattoria
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are located directly in front of a public transit stop.
Description: Contemporary Italian Dishes. Hand made pasta, thin crust pizza. Fun family style dining, "share the Italian way"
New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Expensive, small portion food”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Seafood platter for 2 people at a price of $34 per person consist of 2 small pieces of grilled salmon, 4 mussels, 4 clams, 4 small shrimps, 2 squids and small amount of linguine. We left the place hungry after dinner. Our bill came out with extra charge of a glass of red wine which we did not order. Review bill carefully.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    134
    57
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We really enjoyed the bruschetta and our main courses. I had the pork tenderloins with Gnocci which was very good. My husband had Veal Parmesan which he enjoyed. The only drawback was that it was a very busy place and we were stuck at a little table in a room with about 25 people. It was a little noisy, but really enjoyed the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bordercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Giorgio's is full of Italian flavor!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were in Banff, Alberta for the long weekend, as we were enjoying walking in the sprinkles of rain, and enjoying the beauty of majestic mountains, we built up an appetite, 1 wanted seafood, 1 wanted steak & I for some reason, craved pasta. So we all agreed to try something that we don't have in Calgary, Okotoks or High River. Giorgio's it was. We were seated within minutes of walking through the door. We sat in the upper level of the restaurant, this establishment is a huge space. Clean, bubbling busy with a very happy atmosphere. Lots of large groups were accommodated. I believe all of the above us tantamount in a good establishment!!
The hostess was knowledgeable on the food on the menu except for the veal, but all her colleagues order it and it is pretty popular.
I opted for a veal parm, my daughter had a steak & my other friend chose the Salmon steak. We were presented with fresh baked bread & balsamic / oil. Great environment, our hostess was awesome, friendly, fast & very helpful. Time was a fair not too long of a wait. The good came steaming hot, great and health portions I must say. The pasta was awesome! I couldn't finish my plate, the food was amazing prices not bad, my plate was about $28ish not bad for the portion I hot, and the hostess got a health tip, because she worked & earned it.
If you are in Banff, stop by thus place. It is on the Main Street, of Banff Avenue, as I will return there for sure!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yousrajomha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were staying in Banff on a Rockies tour and had a great evening at Giorgio's. The atmosphere was super, service first-class and food excellent. Local beer and wine were reasonably priced.

We'd certainly recommend the place for a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a great restaurant! The service was amazing and the food delicious! i have been to Banff many times and don't know how I have missed this gem in the past! I went with a large group and everyone enjoyed their meal. The house wines were reasonably priced and delicious! I ordered their signature Roseline dish and can't recommend it enough! What a treat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giorgio's Trattoria also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing