We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, beautiful, delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Beaujolais - CLOSED

Le Beaujolais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Banff Avenue
Transit: Across from Restauran on Banff Avenu & Buffalo Street
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant, beautiful, delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a delicious dinner here. The staff is charming and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is quiet and elegant. We enjoyed meeting the owner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    52
    34
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good French food in a quiet atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Having dined at some high end French restaurants, unfortunately Le Beaujolais doesn't quite compete. However, considering the small town of Banff I was pleasantly surprised. I had the Chef's 6 course dinner with wine pairing. I certainly enjoyed it, but I've had better in big cities. If in Banff and looking for French food, I would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprise tasting menu is full of interesting and innovative flavors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

High quality ingredients with innovative fusion cuisine make for a tasty surprise and an evening filled with anticipation for each course. 6 courses in total. Good value for an evening out exploring the finer cuisine of Alberta. Ellie provided attentive, friendly and professional service. As a walk in, we greeted warmly and accomodated with a choice table. Full marks as one tje best in banff. On par with the eden. Dont miss!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rfung2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Recently held a business get away dinner at Le Beaujolais and was an excellent meal, outstanding service, in a great atmosphere. We arrived about 6:30 and enjoyed a drink to start our evening. We then ordered a couple of appetizers, scallops and the Coeur de Laitue salad. As we began thinking about our meals we reviewed an excellent selection of wines to accompany our dinner, with excellent assistance from the wait staff. For dinner I ordered the Artic Char, with spinach, outstanding. My wife had the Black Cod, which I got a taste, but only a little one. Others in our group enjoyed the Dover Sole, the Duck, and the Elk steak, and everyone raved. Despite plenty to eat, we made the decsion to try the desert menu, and again no one was disappointed. I had the Raspberry Ballon, which was very very nice.

We never felt pressure to dash and dine, and in fact it was almost 10:30 when we ended our dining experieince. The service was impecable, the food fantastic, and the atmosphere such that we were able to completely enjoy our experieince. A simply wonderful experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

While Le Beaujolais bills itself as a French restaurant, the owners, Esther and Albert Moser, are both Swiss and thus my wife and I decided to try the Veal Emincé "Zurichoise" with Rösti potatoes as this particular dish is one that separates the men from the boys where Swiss cooking is concerned. In our view, the very best Veal Emincé "Zurichoise" with Rösti is to be found at the Veltliner Keller in Zürich, and it is a dish to die for at that location. So we have sampled it at many other restaurants since then. Most don't even come close, but Le Beaujolais' was really excellent, probably the best we've had outside of Switzerland and better than some in Switzerland. For dessert we had Profiteroles and the Apple Tart Tatin and they were absolutely delicious.

Couple that with the excellent staff and service, the very pretty decor and white tablecloths, and the crisp and very chilled white wine and you have a memorable evening in Banff. In fact, we felt it was hands down the best we best we had and we were staying at the Banff Springs so we ate at several of their restaurants as well.

The only place we didn't sample while in Banff was the Maple Leaf and we heard excellent things about that establishment as well. But based on our evening at Le Beaujolais, I think I could return there and thoroughly enjoy almost any dish on the menu. Truly excellent.

By the way, Le Beaujolais has a companion restaurant co-located on the same floor as Le Beaujolais called the Bistro "Café de Paris" and I would highly recommend it as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing