We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, decor, service+atmosphere!”
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
Reserve with OpenTable
Magpie & Stump is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decor, service+atmosphere!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We went here twice - great food both times from a yummy menu (though only one pudding...really?!) The variety of drinks were popular (Bulldog!) and served in cool jars. Service was really friendly, welcoming and efficient and people loved being 'sombrero-ed!'

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    253
    124
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great starters, beer could have been colder”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The place has a great starter platter for $20 that we all enjoyed. The Dos Equus beer was on special on Weds but were not fully chilled and mexican beer should be ice cold in my opinion.
The tortilla soup was outstanding. Best we have had in a long time. We also ordered the Mahi-Mahi ($22) but it was just OK. My sister in law said we should not order fish in Banff and she was right. Overall high marks for the food other than the fish, which we should not have ordered.
The kids were very entertained by a sombrero which is dropped on unsuspecting visitors while they wait to get a table. Not the cheapest, but overall we would return for the Tortilla soup and starter platters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank normants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lil' tex-mex restaurant!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you're looking for a great place with a lot of character and awesome margaritas this is the place to go in Banff. Fajitas, burritos, enchiladas; all of the food here is dynamite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Party Atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This restaurant has a fun, party atmosphere, that can be quite loud at times.
We ordered nachos, the beef chimichanga and the 3 quesos. Food was good. My drink order was wrong, but I couldn't remember what I had specifically ordered by the time it arrived, and the drink that was brought was fine. Our waitress was attentive, as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tempestt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This is very good Mexican restaurant. Waitress was very helpfull. I had a chicken mole which was very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing