We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun atmosphere”
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
Reserve with OpenTable
Magpie & Stump is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Banff, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good food, relaxed and nice fun atmosphere with nice spicy taste. Not fancy but fun with a young crowed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mistaya_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    249
    121
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have visited the M&S Every time we go to Banff (six times in the past two years). The restaurant/bar is cozy has a casual rustic atmosphere. The staff/service is friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed many different entrees and found them to be good quality and quite tasty. You can get your dishes from bland or oh my gosh spicy. Treat yourself its worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coloradodave53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as I remember”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Used to come here as a break on our way back from the Okanagan valley many years ago. Stopped in with my family on a similar trip this summer and found the décor to be what I remember, the service to be prompt and polite and the food to be really good. Even on a really busy long weekend afternoon food was quick and everyone was very pleased to have us there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oooter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New ownership - great new menu”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We are regulars every year, but this was our first visit this summer. It has the same casual atmosphere but the menu is new and fresh. Instead of greasy-dive Mexican food this was a new take with fresh and healthier remakes of classic Mexican food. I had the chicken and corn salsa quesadilla that was a wonderful blend of favors served with black beans and rice. The house made salsa and chips were well seasoned with just the right amount of kick. The owners/chefs have this right...we spend part of the year in Texas and know good Mexican food. The waitress was very helpful when I asked her favorites. If you haven't tried it in a while, go back...we certainly will!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decor, service+atmosphere!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We went here twice - great food both times from a yummy menu (though only one pudding...really?!) The variety of drinks were popular (Bulldog!) and served in cool jars. Service was really friendly, welcoming and efficient and people loved being 'sombrero-ed!'

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing