We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, especially for Banff”
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
Reserve with OpenTable
Magpie & Stump is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 145 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, especially for Banff”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stopped in for dinner. The interior has a rustic look about it and the tables are quite crammed together. But it was full of people. I had the taca platter and my husband had fahitas. I tried the beef and the chicken tacos. The chicken was superior in flavor in my opinion. The fahitas were a little slim on the chicken so as a result I had to relinquish one of my tacos to my husband. If the fahitas had been a bit more substancial in the protein department, I wuld have given them 4 stars. I felt it was a good deal for the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raf014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    244
    118
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was awesome”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Service was exceptional, we really enjoyed our adult family meal here. The male server was very personable....he even took a great famil picture for us!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgustig Mexican food,”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Based on previous reviews we (4 of us) dined there last night. Each dish was just awful.6.6 I wouldn't have served what they called steak tacos to a dog. A small flour tortilla, dried steak and salsa and that is it for $6. The other dishes were just as bad.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Magpie had a bit of a kitchen overhaul this year and the change is very welcome! The food is authentic Mexican and well priced, and the portions are huge! They have different drinks specials each night, and the frozen margarita's are served in sweet jam jars. Be careful not to fill up too much on the free peanuts before dinner haha - although throwing the shells onto the floor is fun as well!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious! Fresh! ”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

If you haven't been to the magpie in a long time you should try it again! Had the 1/2 nachos and the spicy shrimp tostadas... Sooo good. The salsa was so yummy I took a little home. Margaritas have always been the best at the magpie and they still are. The service tonight was great. Eat here!

Helpful?
Thank Marlorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing