We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mac and Cheese EVER!!!”

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
Ranked #16 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Mac and Cheese EVER!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm serious. I have never in my life had a more delicious mac and cheese. I have no idea what made it so spectacular, but wow. The atmosphere here was great. They had some live music on the night we were there. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    387
    118
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice pub and great food.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The quality of the food was great and very friendly staff. The only downside was waiting ages for the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect pub”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a lovely small meal here. The fish and chips are wonderful. And the Guinness is really nice. I'd highly recommend if you want a nice evening, especially being British!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Food was great, but because this Pub is in a small mountain town, they charge a lot more for their food and drinks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere very good waitress and choice of drinks but food variable”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Dreadful guitarist/ singer but our waitress lead us to a quieter table on request. Good choice of drinks. Nice choice of food. The fish and chips was okay but small for a hungry man. The fries are of the thin frozen variety. The smoked pork chop with colcannon and vegetables was definitely a better choice and I confess to plate envy here. The fish cakes also looked very appetising. I had been looking forward to the Steak and Guinness Pie but it was a mixed bag. The gravy was unexpected but quite nice and gamely with a flavour of something like juniper in the background. The steak was a little undercooked but okay what upset me was the soggy undercooked puff pastry and the abundance of undercooked diced carrot.. I ate the meat and dipped the chips in the gravy and left adequately fed but disappointed. All the other meals were much better I have to say but that pie needs some serious improvement.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing