We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from burgers!”

Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice change from burgers!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a cheese fondue here and it was every bit as good as those we have had in Switzerland and very reasonably priced. House white was good as well!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    109
    53
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best meal in Banff”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great food. Had the gnochi and loved it. Tiramisu was wonderful. Very swiss in food and experience. Don't be put off by location in a modest hotel. My wife and I were in Banff for a week and this was our best meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I wanted a nice restaurant to celebrate our anniversary in May. We decided on Ticino and made a reservation. My husband had never tried fondue before so we thought this would be a great place as they have a great selection on their menu even if he decided he didn't want to try fondue.

We arrived just after the restaurant opened and were seated in a table next to the windows. We each had soup to start - both soups were very flavorable (one mushroom & the other minestrone), we then shared an appetizer of snails (something my husband tried for the first time) - delicious! We then ordered the beef fondue. We really enjoyed the meal. My husband thought he would not have enough to eat, but by the time we finished, he was full and very surprised. We even had dessert and a special coffee to finish off.

The service was not rushed at all so we had plenty of time to talk and enjoy each other's company.

The one comment I have is that when we emailed for our reservation, I mentioned that it was our anniversary. Most restaurants provide complimentary dessert or special coffee for special occasions, but nothing was offered or mentioned. Not a problem though, we still had an enjoyable evening.

The restaurant itself was a bit dated, but clean. Would recommend if you are interested in trying fondue for the first time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiihound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wasn’t our first choice but it turned out to be great! During high season so many fondue places have full booking that if you decide to go in the spur of the moment you are left out. This place had a table for us so we took it!

The waiter was fantastic, the fondue was delicious although wasn’t big enough. Cheaper than other fondue places!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leticia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a neat twist”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The service and fillet steak was awesome.The portion was just enough and staff attended to our every need.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing