We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Keg always solid”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Caribou
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Caribou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Keg always solid”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had a great meal. You can always count on the
The Keg. Rib Eye, mmm mmm super tender and perfectly
done, as was the service, and a nice spot right in the hotel we were staying in.
Looking forward to Sunday brunch at a Keg.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    503
    180
    48
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not like other Kegs”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Being from Edmonton we have a lot of Kegs to choose from. Unfortunately the location in Banff does not share the consistency the other Kegs have.

The service overall was great, the food is the issue we had during our 2 visits in the 2 days we were there.

Our first night we were served by Danny, who was attentive, friendly and very quick. I ordered the 8 oz steak with all the fixins. The steak was to my liking however it did not have as much of a flavor kick that I am used to at the other locations. The sides were a bit tiny and you could tell the veggies had been past their prime.

My girlfriend ordered the corn chowder, she barely ate any and passed it off to me. I eat like a horse but I couldnt bring myself to finish it either, it was super watered down and not worth the price. It was pretty much boiled corn with cream and a few bits of bacon.

The second time we went was just for dessert. I forget our waitresses name but she was pretty nice as well, and quick with our service. We always go for the brownie sundae, but this time the brownie was solid, like a brick. After we ate the waitress spoke to us for a bit, she mentioned there was a poor guy who threw up everywhere in the dining room, so much that it required an ambulance to check him out. Thankfully we were seated in the lounge and didnt know until we were told, he must have had the corn chowder - hope he is alright!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Ambience, fantastic discounted wine list, poor service”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We went for their discounted wine list which they run every November. Food was good, great selection of wines (although heavy on California wines) but absolutely terrible (or maybe I should say non-existent) service. We would have ordered another glass of wine if we would have seen our waiter again after he had dropped off the bill more than 30 minutes ago. Also, no top-off of wine (maybe that's just not included in discounted bottles) and no water refill until we tracked down another server.... (and it wasn't busy)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julchen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best steaks ever.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had been to the Keg before, a few years ago, and had looked forward to a return visit.
It was a Saturday evening on a holiday weekend and we were almost put off by the suggested 90 minute wait for a table! However after only about 40 minutes in the bar we (my wife, my daughter and myself) were relocated to the main restaurant.
The service in both the bar and the restaurant was excellent.
The steaks are not cheap but the quality is second to none.
We all had the rib steak and when we saw it we were glad that we had opted not to have appetizers! They looked huge but I suppose that 20oz is larger than normal! The meat really did melt in your mouth and was cooked to perfection. Great value for the quality.
Ps: we did manage to squeeze in some desserts!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big prime steak”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've actually stayed in the hotel and enjoyed the relax atmosphere of the bar, and the breakfast choice. But the prime steak I had for dinner was probably the best meal of my holiday there. It was huge so didn't really need the salad and chips on the side. In fact, i couldn't finish the whole steak so it made a nice lunch the following day thanks to staff providing a box to take it away. One if the best foods in the area I think.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeynep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Caribou also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Caribou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing