We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutley Awesome Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bow Valley Grill

Bow Valley Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bow Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Savour the very best in authentic Rocky Mountain cuisine at the Bow Valley Grill - home to our legendary weekend brunch. Enjoy majestic views of Banff National Park in a relaxed family friendly atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action as they create delectable meals using seasonal organic produce and a focus from farm to table.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
359 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Absolutley Awesome Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Recently enjoyed fantastic brunch on a Sunday morning in Banff at the Bow Valley Grill in the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. We were given a tour of the buffet as we were shown to our table, and were immediately met by our server team. We started with the organge juice which maybe the best orange juice I have ever had, coffee and then we headed off to the buffet. The choices were simply outstanding, there is nothing not on the buffet you may want, and everything was fantastic. The eggs benny and the salmon were amongst my favorite items although I also enjoyed the cheese selection and the huge variety of meats, including some very nice turkey. There is a huge selection of breakfast items, however the buffet also has a huge selection of lunch items. All that before we hit the desert area which is huge and full of many tempting treats. They even have a children's buffet, all on a lower table, at the perfect level for young ones.

If the food was not over the top enough for you, the view, atmoshere and views will have you agreeing that this is the best buffet in Banff and probably in Alberta. Superb.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Bow Valley Grill Brunch. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and hope that you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    123
    51
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Compared with last year, our dinner at the Bow Valley Grill cost more than 50% more. The food was nice but not quite top drawer or worth the money. The prime rib was somewhat on the dry side and needed the au jus for moistness; unfortunately the mustard flavor was totally overpowering and a touch too salty. The bison and elk were excellent. The tomato and pepper soup was like a warm gazpacho in which the flavors of the vegetables were almost totally masked and the seasoning unbalanced. Our desserts (crème brulee, chocolate panna cotta) were excellent. Drinks were incredibly overpriced. Food presentation was first rate. The atmosphere was lovely. The mountain view was gorgeous. It is unlikely I will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your Dinner experience was not up to the standard. We are always anxious to improve our high standards. We very much appreciate your comments about the service our team provided. We will ensure to pass along your feedback to the culinary and service teams. We hope you will reconsider and join us again so we can provide you with a remarkable dining experience!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“All is Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a wonderful meal recently at the Banff Springs Bow Valley Grill despite having had a rough start to our Saturday brunch. We had made a reservation and had confirmed it with some additional information regarding allergies, but when our party arrived, no record of the reservation was there. We were seated in an area of the restaurant that was quite noisy due to a table right behind us with a large number of younger children. We requested a change of table, which was readily accommodated, at a window with a lovely view yet, which was greatly appreciated. Given two different allergy requirements for two in our party, the restaurant was most helpful in providing a "guided tour" of the buffet, pointing out allergy-free alternatives. There were many items that were labelled gluten free, and many choices available for one in our party with a nut allergy. The food was very tasty, with a plentiful variety of choices for different tastes, including both breakfast and lunch entrees, and a sumptuous variety of choices of meat, fish, some seafood and cheese, as well as a variety of nicely prepared vegetables and fresh fruit. They also offered a selection of foods appealing to children. The gluten free desserts, I might add, were absolutely delicious…no sacrifices there! We came away satiated. We had been told when making the reservation that there was a discount for seniors, but discovered when we asked about it, after receiving the bill, that they had discontinued this. However, they gave us a discount for our meal, given the mix-up, which was very kind. We very much enjoyed our meal and appreciated the service provided. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your dining experience in the Bow Valley Grill. We appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that despite the minor hiccups, you had a wonderful Brunch. We will be following up regarding the reservation as well as ensuring that all of our colleagues know about what discounts we offer. Just a note we do not offer a seniors discount, however we do have some really great discounts for children! Thank you again and we hope you join us for Brunch again!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Deserts, deserts!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Exellent meal we had the steak and it was perfectly cooked to or taste. But the best was yet to come, our friendly waitress pointed out the buffet desert bar. Full of cakes and puddings of every description - such a wonderful choice, and the quality was excellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience in the Bow Valley Grill. We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner. The dessert buffet is such a special treat! We hope to see you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I booked two buffet meals here, actually three, but by the time we had been for two we thought that that was enough. Both times the restaurant was fairly packed full, it would be a nicer atmosphere if there were a few less people, but at least most of the commotion is at the food serving area and not too much noise around the dining area. For the most part the food was of a very nice quality, especially for a buffet. The desserts were awesome and we filled up our plates trying everything! I would go there mostly just to try dessert! The staff are professional and there is really good service. The amount of work that would go into achieving something like this is amazing. The dessert serving area could use some improvement - the cakes need to be on a stable surface rather than an elevated serving platter as I saw a few people struggling to cut off slices of cake with full plates in their hands. Overall it was good value too, and I would recommend trying the buffet brunch if you stay in Banff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your dining experience at the Bow Valley Grill. We will pass on your compliments to both the Culinary and Service Teams. We hope to see you back again soon.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bow Valley Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bow Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing