We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but WAY overpriced”
Review of Bow Valley Grill

Bow Valley Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bow Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Savour the very best in authentic Rocky Mountain cuisine at the Bow Valley Grill - home to our legendary weekend brunch. Enjoy majestic views of Banff National Park in a relaxed family friendly atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action as they create delectable meals using seasonal organic produce and a focus from farm to table.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Food but WAY overpriced”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a fantastic time at the brunch buffet. A HUGE selection of quality options. The service was also great. I found the brunch buffet to be way overpriced at $46 + tax & tip. If you stay and eat for 2-3 hours, then it might be worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikolai778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed the huge selection and the service. We will ensure to pass along your comments to Management for review! We hope that you decide to visit us again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    128
    58
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had dinner and breakfast.
The prime rib is very nice, the roasted half chicken was great as well. Too full for dessert.
The breakfast was buffet or menu, we had buffet, lots of choices. Could not find Eggs Benedict and when we asked they made them right then and there. Large windows with views of the mountains, nicely decorated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank debk110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed both Dinner and Breakfast at the Bow Valley Grill. It is so nice to hear that the Chef's made Eggs Benedict, they are so delicious! Please visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great buffet breakfast”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

great selection in the buffet, lots of vegetarian friendly items and very helpful staff and chefs.chefs made us allergy free items which were amazing and much appreciated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shopaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Bow Valley Grill. We are so glad that the Chef's were able to make special allergy free items! We hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Absolutley Awesome Brunch”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Recently enjoyed fantastic brunch on a Sunday morning in Banff at the Bow Valley Grill in the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. We were given a tour of the buffet as we were shown to our table, and were immediately met by our server team. We started with the organge juice which maybe the best orange juice I have ever had, coffee and then we headed off to the buffet. The choices were simply outstanding, there is nothing not on the buffet you may want, and everything was fantastic. The eggs benny and the salmon were amongst my favorite items although I also enjoyed the cheese selection and the huge variety of meats, including some very nice turkey. There is a huge selection of breakfast items, however the buffet also has a huge selection of lunch items. All that before we hit the desert area which is huge and full of many tempting treats. They even have a children's buffet, all on a lower table, at the perfect level for young ones.

If the food was not over the top enough for you, the view, atmoshere and views will have you agreeing that this is the best buffet in Banff and probably in Alberta. Superb.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Bow Valley Grill Brunch. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and hope that you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Compared with last year, our dinner at the Bow Valley Grill cost more than 50% more. The food was nice but not quite top drawer or worth the money. The prime rib was somewhat on the dry side and needed the au jus for moistness; unfortunately the mustard flavor was totally overpowering and a touch too salty. The bison and elk were excellent. The tomato and pepper soup was like a warm gazpacho in which the flavors of the vegetables were almost totally masked and the seasoning unbalanced. Our desserts (crème brulee, chocolate panna cotta) were excellent. Drinks were incredibly overpriced. Food presentation was first rate. The atmosphere was lovely. The mountain view was gorgeous. It is unlikely I will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your Dinner experience was not up to the standard. We are always anxious to improve our high standards. We very much appreciate your comments about the service our team provided. We will ensure to pass along your feedback to the culinary and service teams. We hope you will reconsider and join us again so we can provide you with a remarkable dining experience!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bow Valley Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bow Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing