We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic outdoor patio with scenic view”
Review of Rundle Lounge

Rundle Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Rundle Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 148 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Pleasant and bright by day, enchanting and intimate by night, the Rundle Lounge is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy Banff's best mountain views. Travel the world one cocktail at a time with our Fairmont Modern Classics menu, or sip from an extensive selection of international beer, scotch and port. Be sure to sample our seasonally inspired all-day dining menu featuring delicious shareable appetizers, soups, salads, gourmet sandwiches and burgers from the grill.
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I had a very 5 night memorable stay at this beautiful Fairmont hotel, part of which was spent during a convention we were attending there. The hotel is spectacular. So is the outdoor patio at the Rundle Lounge, primarily because of it's scenic setting. A group of us enjoyed late night drinks under the stars one night, huddled around a cozy fire-pit with some of us snuggled under the lap blankets provided.

We went there for a glass of wine and quick bite to eat the next day before leaving on a tour but disappointingly, service was sooooo slow we eventually had to ask our server to cancel our french onion soup order as we had no time to eat it. She came back and said the orders were on their way and rather than leave them, we basically "downed" what we could before heading out for our tour. The soups and drinks were a bit expensive, however had the service been better, would have been considered acceptable prices given the type of hotel.

The next afternoon, a large group of us ended up back on that patio for drinks and appetizers. Again, we found service was inattentive and unbearably slow.

I loved the hotel. It was beautiful. And I enjoyed the scenic view offered on the outdoor patio of the Rundle Lounge. Admittedly though I was disappointed by how slow the service was, expecting better from a hotel of this caliber.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BahiaDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Rundle Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are always anxious to improve our high standards. We very much appreciate your comments about the service our team provided. We have shared these comments with the service and management team as we continue to work to improve.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Rundle Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 414 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nice atmosphere. But overpriced like everything else at the hotel. The food was good, although the portions were sooo small!!! Its almost like they want you to order dessert - which we did not do. Drinks were decently priced. Bottomless pop. And they can do some dishes quickly if you are in a rush.

Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Rundle Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We hope to see you back again soon.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The food was very good, stay away from the pizza though. Nothing special. The drink menu is amazing although expensive.

Thank susanwiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Rundle Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon for some tasty cocktail!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Following some friend´s suggestion, we went to the Fairmont Banff Rundle Lounge for a drink before lunch and the experience was fantastic. With a stunning view of the Rocky Mountains, we were met with a lot of attention, even if not staying at the hotel. We asked for a Moscow Mule and a Celibataire drinks they were made to perfection. Besides, we had flat bread with salmon tartar and other little things. We loved everything, repeated the the appetizers and drinks and this is my best memory of Banff. Strongly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Rundle Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you very much for such positive comments regarding your dining experience in the Rundle Lounge. We love hearing such great feedback and we are delighted that we were the best memory of your visit to Banff. We hope to see you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for dinner when the other restaurants could not take us for an hour. Got a table by the window and best prices for dinner in the hotel. The service is slow here so you need to advocate for yourself and you will have a perfectly fine dinner!

Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Rundle Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We very much appreciate your comments about the service our team provided! We are so glad you enjoyed both the food and the spectacular view. We hope you visit soon.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rundle Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Rundle Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing