We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just o.k.”
Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
Ranked #43 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: US$9 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Famous for Ribs since 1972, and located in the heart of Banff inside the historic Mount Royal Hotel. At Tony Roma's Banff we are best know for; our Baby Back and 4 other styles of ribs, served in our house-made signature BBQ sauces; AAA Certified Alberta Angus Beef Steaks, fresh never frozen, and triple-marbled Prime Rib. Well-suited for all members of the family, there is something for everyone! Gluten-Free and Children's Menu's available. Large groups are welcome. Dining available in our main dining area, or our well-appointed lounge, complete with 75" TV's & fireplace. All ages welcome. Reservations are recommended.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just o.k.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had eaten at a Tony Roma's in Aruba, wasn't that impressed, but this one looked so good thought would give it another change. Shouldn't have, the food was eatable but not good, price wouldn't have been bad for great food, it wasn't. The service wasn't good or bad. was average. I wouldn't recommend it. I will not go back to another Tony Roma's. It is in a great location in the middle of downtown, good atomsphere. Nice view of the streets so you can watch what is happening outside and around town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarribeanBound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    272
    157
    80
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurants food and atmosphere was just as awesome as the pretty high end places we ate in Banff. The ribs were perfect. We sat upstairs by the window overlooking the street below! Great spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaywecelebrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Welcoming staff. Quick polite pleasantly chatty service. Menu typical for area. Competitively priced.
My wife had Miami shrimp which she enjoyed. I had a half rack of their St Louis ribs which I found a bit tough - the meat certainly wasn't falling the bone.

It was dinner but not a memorable event.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“heat the ribs please”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I remember great ribs at Tony's at the Toronto airport. Not here in Banff. I had a regular sized order of ribs, with a baked potato and some vegetables.

The server had been there six months, no excuse for not knowing his business. Baked potato arrived loaded; I wasn't asked if I wanted it stuffed. I don't eat cheese. I got a new potato, with nothing. Ok, eventually bacon came and some olive oil.

Six small pieces of broccoli was the 'vegetable'.

The ribs were lukewarm. I sent them back, came back equally luke warm.

I wish I hadn't taken Food Safe. I know food should be heated properly before serving. Maybe the kitchen will figure it out....anyway not the best joint for ribs in Banff. Shop around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TR_TonyRomas, Public Relations Manager at Tony Roma's, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Sharon,

First and foremost, we'd like to apologize for your most recent visit to Tony Roma's. It is our responsibility to provide a comfortable and inviting experience as well as freshly served food at the proper temperatures. Would you mind writing to socialmedia@romacorp.com? We'd like to hear more from you. Please include your contact information, a brief description and which location you visited?

We hope to hear from you soon!

Thank you,

Team TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first time in a Tony Roma's restaurant. Everything about this place was great. Food was delicious and very nice scenery of Banff town. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlebuddy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing