We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice campground, good location! Insider tips inside...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Louise Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Louise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Louise Campground
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice campground, good location! Insider tips inside...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Lake Louise Campground is a nice inexpensive place to stay on your trip to Banff. Sites are well maintained, and bathrooms are pretty close to every site that we could tell. There are a few things we found out that were different than the campgrounds that we stayed at within the American National Park system which will be helpful if you stay here:

1. Showers: Showers are not pay showers, which I have never experienced in a National park. This being said, free showers are nice, but cold showers aren't very nice. Since they are free, people stay in longer than pay showers and use up more hot water. Get your shower in the morning, or early afternoon or late at night, if you want a hot shower.
2. Fire permits: You need to buy a fire permit for I believe $8 per night, but once you buy the permit you can have all the wood you want for free. Not a bad system, but different from what I've experienced.
3. They are very strict about having only 2 tents per site, so if you're going as a group, just keep that in mind.

Overall Lake Louise campground is a pleasant and affordable place to stay, and it's in a great location to get to hiking and other outdoor beauty of Banff National Park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dougyfresh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    67
    40
    13
    15
See reviews for
56
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This campground has trains going by all night long blowing their horns about every half hour. We had two sites 49/50 which have power but no water or sewer. These sites also have no firepits. There are a very limited amount of RV/trailer sites with firepits. There is only 1 shower building which is approx 10 min walk or longer from the sites at the end of the camground. Bears do like the campground however as there was a bear trap across from our sites, electric fences around the campground perimeter and numerous rangers patrolling the area. Registration staff are helpful but campground is not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with a full hook up, the shower block was a drive away and we were kept awake at night by the constant noise of trains about 200 yards away blasting their horns, perhaps to wake everyone up!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrspegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

great location. good facilities. no wifi. price ok. scenic views. convenient and clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank my41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Very well kept campground. Bathrooms were clean. Sites close together but still felt some privacy with all the trees. Small shops close by with camping gear, groceries, great bakery and gift shop. Well protected from bears. Beautiful river running right by. Lake Louise and Morraine within a few minutes drive. Made reservations early and glad I did. They were full every night we were there. Did not have wifi but heard they do at the post office in shopping center.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ackHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

If you are a camper, the Parks Canada Lake Louise Campground is excellent.

There is an electrified fence around the tenting area to keep out bears. It is on the Bow River. There are FREE showers, flush toilets, cook shacks, food lockups and even an amphitheater where park staff put on plays!! If you purchase a fire permit , the wood is FREE.

I highly recommend this campground and suggest you make reservations in advance.

Helpful?
8 Thank jl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Campground

Property: Lake Louise Campground
Address: Fairview Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Campground Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing