We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Louise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Louise Campground
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty campground”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here after Banff Tunnel mountain and preferred this one. The RV sites were bigger with better privacy. We had a little bit of a walk to the shower block but it was clean and the water in the shower was hot and powerful. The staff were pleasant and helpful. There is a lovely river walk on the campground and the kids had a great time skimming stones. We didn't seem to hear the trains here quite as much as we did at Banff but maybe our site was just a little further away from the train line. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scally55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    69
    40
    14
    15
See reviews for
58
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here on our return to Banff after staying further north in Jasper. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the site was clean but the toilet facilities were horrendous. The block situated nearest to us weren't clean and the smell was awful. We had already stayed on other Parks Canada sites during our stay so we were able to compare fairly. We also used many roadside facilities including pit toilets on our travels around the Rocky Mountains so you can rest assured that this is a review by people who are used to basic camp-sites. After using the toilet block I decided not to use the showers but my husband went to check them out and said they were also unpleasant. In fact, it was so bad there we used the public restrooms in the car park of lake Louise to wash and brush our teeth as they were far nicer! We would not recommend staying here at all and Tunnel Mountain isn't too far away and is much, much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCRWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Overall, very nice campground. Stayed 1 night. Very clean facilitys. Lots for trains, very close to camp sites... We enjoyed the Agnes Tea house hike, 2 kids 11 and 14 loved the hike. Lots to do and see around Lake Louise. Having growen up in Banff if was great to see these sites with my family. Its been 20 years since my lasy visit. We'll not wait so long for our next.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in Lake Louise one night. Campground has poor privacy and is nothing special, although it is the closetst one to the Lake. There is one building with showers, it toko us 10 min to get there walking from our spot. The Lake itself is extremely busy, with massive amounts of people that all want to take the same picture in front of te Lake. Not worth it, unless you're nearby anyway. If you want a campground with more privacy and a much better scenery, stay at Mosquito Creek, about 20 Miles from Lake Louise, up the Icefields Parkway (non reservable, but we arrived at about 14 hours and had no problem finding a place. Don't get there much later though. )

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 926Vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went to Lake Louise Campground in July 2013, and was absolutely appalled by the staff, and found the campsite to be nothing remarkable,
I will first off say that the sites are not very large, fitting six people on a site is not very cozy. There was 11 of us total spread over 2 sites, and It would have been better if we had got at least 3 sites for a group of our size. The sites are not very private you can see all your neighboring campers, and there is no real feeling of privacy and seclusion, which I generally look for when tenting in the outdoors.
On our first morning we were told upon wake up that we could only have 2 tents per site, and one of our sites had three. We quickly complied with the park ranger and removed a tent and re-figured our sleeping arrangements. The park ranger came back and we asked if the rest of our sites were up to code and the cars were okay, and she assured us everything was fine. She was the only polite employee of this park,
In the evening we had two male park rangers come by and inform us we had too many cars, and there could actually be only 1 car per site. When I tried to bring up that their online website had informed us that 2 cars were permitted ( http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/ab/banff/activ/camping/lltent.aspx) and that another park ranger had said we were okay, he became very defensive. It was not possible to have a conversation with this man, he was not interested in a discussion, strictly authoritarian management of this park, and became very angry quickly. We did however agree that we would move the cars to overflow, or purchase another site.
Not even 20 minutes had passed, and a few members of our group had went to the main office at the gate to discuss purchasing another site, that the park rangers came whipping back to attack us for not having moved cars fast enough. We tried to explain that we were in the middle of sorting out an additional site, but he told us that this was an "incident" and had to write us up.
Upon speaking to muliple neighboring campers who had two cars they informed us that the posted rule was that you can have 2 cars until 11pm and then have to move one to overflow. When our friends at the office asked if we could keep cars until 11pm they were told yes, until the angry harassing park ranger came storming in and said we were not permitted to that rule and had to move our cars immediately.
Now what seems like just a minor issue turned into a large incident for the park staff. Our group had no issue with moving cars we just found it to be an annoyance that the website was inconsistent with the actual park rules (had we known ahead of time we would have car pooled) and that we were treated so aggressively due to this minor infraction and threatened to be removed from the park or have the warden visit us.We felt very unwelcome at this site, we were treated very rudely and I can also say that LAKE LOUSIE CAMPGROUND'S RANGERS ARE AN EMBARRASSMENT TO THE REPUTATION OF CANADIAN HOSPITALITY, and a poor representation of Parks Canada. Not sure if we were treated different from the rest of campers due to being a group in our 20s-30s as opposed to a camping family, despite us being a quiet group and asleep early. Either way I can assure I will never be returning to Lake Louise Campground with friends, or as a family place to camp, nor recommending this campsite to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was hesitant to book based on some of the reviews but it was lovely. The campsites (we stayed at two different ones) were exactly as pictured and the staff was friendly. We did hear the train but it wasn't loud enough to disturb us or wake us up, and it didn't go by very frequently. Also, we really enjoyed the added sense of security from the electrified fence. We are used to camping in bear country but this way we weren't worried about others leaving food or other attractants out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed in the fenced area, unlike other reviewer having the fence did not make me feel any "less" closer to nature. Knowing that someone leaving bacon strips on their hood or a child dribbling cookies will not result in bear mayhem is worth opening and closing a gate. It was super quiet on a Friday night, wood was extremely easy to cut. Warm water in the bathrooms. I've been to some tenting areas where there is a lot less privacy than this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GdnNewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,593 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Campground

Property: Lake Louise Campground
Address: Fairview Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Campground Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing