We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake!!!”
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.59*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
More Info
US$81.17*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
More Info
US$40.68*
and up
Hop-On and Hop-Off Banff Bus
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed staying at Lake Moraine for two nights. We had a room in the Wenkchemna wing- lower level. If possible, try to get a balcony for a better view. Our room was rustic and authentic, but a little 'tight'. The use of canoes was a nice perk. We enjoyed elk tenderloin at the restaurant as well as grilled salmon. The breakfast buffet was very good. There was a naturist that gave a presentation in the evening. She is very knowledgable and we enjoyed that. We saw a pika and a large porcupine on the property.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank murphy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,260
    526
    102
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places I've ever seen!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was quite the spot and made me feel like a true Canadian and proud of what we have. A definite visit for sure and I will be back.

Super busy with tourists though! By 10 a.m. the parking lot was packed!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Known Must See”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Ten monstrous Canadian Rockies encircle this Lake. You can take a nice short hike to see the panoramic view. Restaurant and restrooms available. Parking in the lot or along the roadway during busy season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 924candym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go late or early to really enjoy”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stunning lake with magnificent mountains all around, kids loved walking the logs and adults walking around the lake. But if you want to enjoy then you must arrive early or late, we went up at 8.30pm after a rain shower and the place was very quite, just right.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank colinowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unspoiled natural beauty. We had an excellent visit amid blue skies , turquoise water and green trees.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aikivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing