We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgustingly overcrowded”
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.59*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
More Info
US$81.17*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
More Info
US$40.68*
and up
Hop-On and Hop-Off Banff Bus
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“disgustingly overcrowded”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you come from New York City and love crowds, then this one's for you. Otherwise, avoid it!!
We plan to go back at 6 A.M. and hope it will be more reasonable even if cast in fog at that hour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,257
    526
    102
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great view from the rockpile”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From the Rockpile viewing point this was probably the prettiest lake I had ever seen. We followed other reviews and arrived shortly after 9am. We were barely able to get a parking spot then and the crowds were starting to get around. The pictures you get from the Rockpile are amazing...simply stunning. Especially if the sun is out! But when you get down to the base of the lake it's not nearly as nice to look at as Lake Louise or Emerald Lake in Yoho. Or at least it didn't seem to be once the sun went behind the clouds. We didn't even bother to look into the price of canoes because it seemed rather small. by the time we left, less than an hour later, the cars were lined up down the road. Honestly it's worth the visit, but get there early!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Newfie-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super super busy”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Was so busy that we had to park a mile or two down the road.... Past the deer lodge. Hiked up and it was crazy busy. We decided to just turn around a leave. The lake is beautiful!! But it is just way too busy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CDL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We hiked to Consolation Lake (totally worth it and fun hike with boulders at the end - fun to climb them and get close to the lake) and then on our way back took the steps up for a magical view of Moraine Lake. Amazing family photos to be taken up there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HLain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Moraine Lake is one of the most beautiful places on earth. During the busy summer season, go early in the morning before the tour buses start rolling in around 10am. Be sure to climb the short trail up the rock pile for the bird's eye view of this stunning place. It's only a short drive from Lake Louise. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing