We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heritage rooms are superb value for money - high standard of furnishings and decor.”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The Heritage rooms are superb value for money - high standard of furnishings and decor.”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband and I stayed multiple times throughout the Lake Louise ski season, so we were looking forward to returning when flowers and grass would be visible!
This hotel has a modern wing that houses the ' new' rooms. Our room had a king size bed, modern furnishings, modern double glazing and a balcony that overlooks the stream that runs down into the valley from Lake Louise. We hAve stayed in the older rooms in the hotel and while they are exceptional value for money, I warn that you get what you pay for.
The restaurant was full when we arrived at 10pm on a Saturday night. Officially, the restaurant had closed, but the chef stayed and cooked for us and at least five other tables that arrived after us. We feel that this is exceptional service.

To summarize: if you do not want an old room, a small bed, tired decor and plumbing fixtures, pay more and book a Heritage room. This is an old, charming, hotel full if character but that is reflected in the standard of the lower cost rooms.
You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed the accommodations, the dining experience and the customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    463
    351
    273
    244
See reviews for
315
912
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had a room with a balcony with view to the montains, the misquito net was intact, there was coffee and tea in the room, and the wifi coverage was decent. So, we have absolutly no colaints. But we had a room in the newer part of the hotel, and this might be the reason for our satisfaction.
We made use of the hot tub, outside with view to the montains. Yesterday, we had dinner in the lounge of the restaurant, we left with mixed feelings.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoHermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

First off, anywhere in Lake Louise is going to be on the higher scale for cost. We booked a tower room for $285 incl tax which isn't exactly cheap. We found it very easily, check in was very fast and courteous. Room was not large but we also didn't feel cramped at all. Bathroom is a fair size as well. Very clean. The walls are paper thin so if you're not a heavy sleeper you should take ear plugs. We went down and sat out on the patio and had some drinks and ordered their game appetizer selection which was amazing. What a perfect view! We had a hot tub on the roof which has a beautiful view of the mountains. The hot tub isn't huge so if there's a bunch of people you're basicalloy all together. Also you need to look past the roof top equipment to apprciate the mountains but nothing can be done about that. We did a horseback ride at Brewsters in the morning which we walked to after our breakfast. We did a la carte as the buffet was $15 for cold breakfast and $19 for hot breakfast and we just don't eat that much. Food we excellent. All in all a great place to stay, clean, friendly and great location. You're not going to get much in Lake Louise for less than $200 unless it's a dive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overnight accommodations, the beautiful views, your dining experiences and the service.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Nice atmosphere in fancy wooden lodge. Excellent food in posh restaurant, bit pricy, but value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurbolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Although the location of this hotel cannot be questioned the standard of accommodation was poor and unexpected. The hotel seem to confuse charm with scruffy and out of date.
Described by the hotel as 'compact' our twin rooms were smaller than a child's box room with no room even to open a suitcase. The room was tatty and needed redecoration, the wallpaper was very scruffy. The bath had disgusting yellow stains and should have been replaced. The rooms had none of the modern conveniences expected of a hotel, we were provided with a coffee maker but the plug was not suitable for the old wiring!!. Of the 10 hotels on our tour of the Rockies and Vancouver this was probably the most expensive and by far the worst.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahon252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for one night following three nights at the bland Caribou Lofge in Banff. Wish we'd spent more time at Deer Lodge.
Our room was an upgraded one and obviously far better and more spacious than the standard rooms.
Restaurant was excellent with the most amazing Breast of Duck.
The location couldn't be better. A two minute walk to the lake, allowing us an after-dinner stroll and a pre-breakfast visit where we we pretty much had the entire lake to ourselves.
Certainly didn't feel that we should have booked the Fairmont.
I can imagine that Deer Lodge is not for everyone. Personally I loved it's idiosyncratic charm and quirky eccentricity, and I really enjoyed the restaurant. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge as we appreciate all guest feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight accommodations, your dining experience, and the location of the lodge in proximity to Lake Louise.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Tiny depressing noisy double room (no room for cases even) with sad decor, no coffee/tea facilities, or TV or hairdrier in room. Keen to show you more expensive rooms to escape this poor one. Whereas good hotels will often upgrade you for free when rooms available; not use a bad standard room as a ploy to encourage you to pay more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeceForfar_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,650 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing