We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Beautiful, charming, historic, comfortable, well located - favorite hotel ever”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW! Beautiful, charming, historic, comfortable, well located - favorite hotel ever”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a great place! First, the location, just a few steps from Lake Louise and the great hikes there, is incredible. They really take advantage of it with what has to be the most beautifully scenic rooftop hot tub I could imagine - you are on the roof of a historic building looking at one of the world's premier natural settings. Then, throw in a really quaint and unique historic building, with really incredible common spaces (a tea room, a gorgeous dining room, an amazing sitting room with fireplace). The historic tower rooms were small but very very comfortable and well-appointed with really nice beds and bathrooms. This is my IDEAL hotel.

We were in a Tower Room as part of the canadian rockies special (which is $25 less per night plus free buffet breakfast, which, were delicious). The room was really really special, charming, and gorgeous. We had great service, most notably from the restaurant wait staff. The food was really outstanding. I have a lot of respect for the fact that CRMR (the company that owns Deer Lodge) also operates a ranch where they source a lot of their meats from.

If you asked me to describe my ideal hotel, it would be almost as nice as Deer Lodge, because they thought of all kinds of things I wouldn't have.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregPasquali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    442
    337
    260
    229
See reviews for
301
861
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is situated just 5 minutes walk from Lake Louise, and is the only one apart from the expensive Fairmont hotel that is accessible without a drive. The exterior is rustic, and well suited to the location. Inside, the public rooms are full of character and interest.
When we arrived, the member of staff on reception merely said " I need you to sign this and give me your credit card" - not exactly the warm welcome one would expect! Our room was at the end of a long corridor, where the carpet needed vacuuming - 'bits' remained on it throughout our 2 day stay. The room was small by Canadian standards (but not bad by UK). Main problem was that the furniture was not suited to the room - bedside table was at perfect head-banging height in the middle of the night. A huge wardrobe - do people need/ use these when there is other open hanging space and drawers available?- occupied a lot of space. There was nowhere suitable to plug in the coffee machine - we had to put it on the floor alongside the bed - dangerous. In fact, it did not work anyway, and we had to request another one. No TV in the room was not a problem - one is available in the basement games room. The various staff we came across seemed not to be interested in guests, not speaking as they passed etc etc
The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast, along with a la carte dishes, which we chose to order. We were waiting for our breakfasts (about 15 minutes after placing the order) when the same waiter who had taken the order came back and said "are you guys waiting for your check?" Errr - No - we are waiting for our food. This arrived 30 seconds later - cold, surprise surprise!!
When we checked out, there was a member of staff at the desk who seemed far more on the ball than the girl who dealt with us. ( If he was a manager, he needs to TRAIN HIS STAFF). We had not been informed that our credit card would be pre-authorised for $200 - not a problem, but we should have been told, bearing in mind that our room had been pre-paid.
Overall, we rather felt that this hotel was overplaying its ' old age character ' card, and needs money spent to ensure it is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We would like to apologize for the customer service you experience upon check-in as well as in dining with us at the lodge. I would encourage you to contact our Lodge Manager (dlmanager@crmr.com) to further discuss your concerns, as this is certainly not the standard we strive for.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were very disappointed in this hotel. Not a friendly greeting. The corridors were dimly lit and very depressing with brown hard floors, brown walls and poor quality doors. Our superior room did not resemble a hotel room more like a hostel, very basic. When we enquired if the room was a superior room, the answer was yes but it's not very superior! Plumbing system very old and noisy. The public rooms were good. On checking out it became apparant that we were not the only ones unsatisified with the standard of the room.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are apparently much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We enjoyed all aspects of our stay. This was our second stay, and we will return. The lodge is very clean, and the restaurant is very good. We stayed in one of the tower rooms and were very pleased. The location is amazing. It is a 5-minute walk to Lake Louise. We enjoyed sunrise at the lake each day we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight accommodations in one of the Tower room’s; although recently renovated they still boast many of their original historical features including cast iron radiators, and original woodwork and lighting fixtures. We are also pleased your enjoyed your dining experience in the Mount Fairview dining room which features Rocky Mountain Cuisine – a style influenced by hearty meals made by European mountain guides artfully presented and professionally served.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We chose Deer Lodge due to the proximity to the Chateau at Lake Louise on a trip celebrating our birthdays in March. Our room at Deer Lodge was tight, but the bed comfy. We had to mix cold outside air through the window to mediate the steam heat provided by the radiator in the room.
We enjoyed finding the hot tub on top of one of the buildings. The coffee service downstairs was helpful in the mornings.
Dinner was a complete delight. I had elk and my girlfriend had some tasty halibut. Good food, reasonably priced, and excellent service.

Room Tip: No elevator means quite the ascent if you are staying above the 2nd floor. Be ready for the climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmystr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Overall, the room was spacious and clean. I've seen some reviews where they have said the rooms are small, we stayed in a heritage room and the size was fine. For the value, (250 a night) and if yo u are planning to stay in lake Louise, it's a great deal. It was literally a five minute walk to Lake Louise. The onky drawback was the heater wasn't working, and at night we were freezing even with two comforters!

We also realized there is much more to do in Banff, trails...horseback riding...canoeing..affordable restaurants (which you will not find in lake louise!) and regret not staying there. Unless you have ti stay in lake louise, I would highly recommend stung an hour away in Banff and spending one day in lake Louise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fr3houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I read the reviews before staying here, and was disappointed that so many seemed to be mediocre. I very specifically wanted to stay here, though, as its vintage, rustic appearance really appealed to me. I have to say, I loved just about everything about Deer Lodge. We did spring for one of the Tower Rooms, and I really liked it--comfortable bed, perfectly fine room size, very clean and bright, nice bathroom with very nice toiletries, coffee maker (no TV, but then, we weren't in Lake Louise to watch TV!). In the evening, my husband and I went up to the roof top hot tub to watch the sun set behind the beautiful mountain view. The hot tub would easily have fit at least a few other couples, but we had it to ourselves, which was a great little bonus.

My only complaint would be breakfast--the server was nice enough, but didn't seem particularly interested in his job. He never came back to see how things were after bringing the food, which would have been helpful, as I found the very strange scrambled eggs to be inedible. When he finally did come back, with the bill, he took the eggs off the total and offered to bring me something else, but by that time we needed to pay and get going for the day.

I would absolutely stay here again (although I might try someplace different for breakfast). I even peeked into a few of the rooms (the doors were standing open!) that were the less expensive standard rooms, that had already been cleaned and prepped for the next guests. They looked rather small, but otherwise fine--I'd be willing to consider staying in one of them next time. Most of the Lodge employees I encountered were very friendly and helpful; we didn't need help getting our luggage to our room, but some people checking in ahead of us did, and the front desk person was quick to get someone to help them out. Overall, we had really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merricat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Tower Rooms, which were an original part of the hotel, but restored to their original condition under the watchful eye of the Historical Society. We are also pleased you enjoyed the stainless steel hot tub with beautiful mountain views. We would like to apologize for your breakfast experience as this is not the standard we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing