We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly worth it”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
KL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hardly worth it”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Never agree for ground floor room, walls are really thin, its like staying in the old hospital. There are no kettls and hair driers in the rooms and a waste of time to ask for one. Separate hot and cold taps. Food prices are way too expensive. When we were checking out there were 3 people in the fron of us and each of them had smth to complain about (some even had no old water :))
There were some pluses: warm rooms, decent hot tub (but poor lighting)

Room Tip: go for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lelecaUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    442
    337
    260
    229
See reviews for
301
861
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gypsy55
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at Deer Lodge in 1980 and I fear that little has changed since then. Although some people may say this is a good thing, I am afraid I must disagree. Our room was tiny, musty, cold and noisy. We could hear people above (or around us) clomping about as if they were wearing their skiboots! I had to phone the front desk for a hair dryer.The only place to plug in a laptop was in the bathroom, but there was no room to leave it there! The hot water faucet leaked so badly that the whole thing turned when an attempt was made to turn it off.
We hoped that the room would have a small refridgerator but the window sill worked fine since the room was so cold.
The only place where money seems to have been spent on upgrading is the dining room/lounge. We had a nice light dinner there and the food was good.
It is time for the management to spend some money on the accomodations. The ambiance could be preserved while making the rooms larger and more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsy558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. I would like to encourage you to contact our Lodge Manager (dlmanager@crmr.com) to further discuss your concerns.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I booked a Ski and Stay package here on a Monday night in early February. We booked a double lodge room, knowing we were literally in the room to sleep before a day of snowboarding.

We arrived late to the lodge (7:30ish) and definitely did not expect to find what we did. The photos of the room online were quite different from the room itself. With occupancy throughout the area ridiculously low, I can't believe the staff wouldn't have given us at the very least, something that looked like the online picture. Every other hotel we stayed at in the area upgraded us -- just because they could (and maybe they cared to ensure we were more than happy with our stay?)

Staff were ok, but did not inquire into how we enjoyed our stay when we left (maybe they know better?) One of our two room keys wouldn't work. The room was so hot my husband and I had to open every window in our tiny room. Our upstairs "neighbors" could be heard visiting as clearly as someone in my own room. Pillows were extremely thin -- two is probably the equivalent of one standard pillow.

The tiny room came with too many warnings -- don't use the safe (why even leave it there if I can't use it?), scald warning (don't use hot water if any cold water is running). Two plug ins -- one in the bathroom, one behind the bed which powers the lamps. Definitely not enough for people who may be traveling with cell phones that need to be charged or laptops.

I can't quite put my finger on it, but something about the lodge is just not right. I couldn't wait to leave. Although the room was clean, there was hardly any space to put anything or get ready for the day in the washroom. The scald warning was enough to scare me out of a shower. Overall, we just did not feel comfortable here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

As you walk into the lodge you feel the warmth of the place. The staff is wonderful and charming.
Not much has changed since it's fist built back in the 30's..? There are NO phones in the rooms and no TV either, not even in the Foyer. This was a great because I could relax without any distractions.
Just a short walk to the lake (less than 8 minutes), we took a 2K walk to the other end of Lake Louise. Beautiful scenery. The lake was still frozen even though we were there in the beginning of June. Nice and sunny but a little cool.
The food was also wonderful...!!!
My wife had the Ham and Eggs. This was not a thin slice of ham... this was a perfectly charbroiled ham steak...! Diner was also excellent.

We will definately go back...!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Banff/Lake Louise offers a wide range of accommodations. Older mountain lodges are quaint, rooted in by-gone days when 4 season lodging was neither popular nor practical. Gone are the days when visitors huddled round the fire to stay alive. Still, at Deer Lodge in very cold weather you sense the danger that lies outdoors: Even the creaking of old floors echo the cold. You may be awakened to hear the modern furnace struggle to keep the frigid cold from entering your room! Such inconveniences add to the quaintness. Broken pipes are a by-product of trying to cope with winter weather in an older lodge: But power outages and water pipes broke at the Chateau Lake Louise on the same week-end! Bundle up. Shut up and enjoy!

Room Tip: Timid travelers should ask about the noise the furnace makes at night. Maybe ask whether a group of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HankDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel has a very good location, just behind the Fairmont Chataeu, 3 minute walk to the shore of the Lake. The Hotel "squeeks" slightly, going up the stairs etc. Rooms small, but comfy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Extremely disappointed when we walked into the room and there was not even space for us and our 2 night luggage. No TV, no coffee, not even a table. Absolutely horrible.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing