We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the Lake”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the Lake”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you want to visit the lake but don't want to stay in the massive hotel on the lake shore then Deer Lodge is ideal. Its approx 5 mins walk to the lake shore and a much quieter and nicer hotel. The rooms are of a good size and the food provided at breakfast was very good even when they suffered a power cut they managed a pretty much full breakfast! There is a roof top hot tub if your brave enough to endure the cold outside in the winter months!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_tuBBymAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    473
    361
    277
    255
See reviews for
329
935
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel and it's staff spoilt us from the moment we walked in till our departure.
As it was our first experience of holidaying in the snow, we were upgraded to a higher floor in a room with a view. This old style log like lodge was right out of an old b/w movie with a hugh cosy fireplace.and has a high standard of food. But our favourite ... the view from the hot tub.
I believe this lodge is far better than the Chateau down the road in both food and personality.

Room Tip: the queen rooms in the tower are well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieandannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, NH
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is an old lodge just about 1/4 mile from the actual Lake Louise (easy walking distance) which is a stunning sight in either summer or winter. The rooms match the age of the lodge that is smallish but clean. They have no TV's if that is important and our bed had a cover with some feathers sticking through the which had to be pulled out so as not to be "stabbed" by them. The ambiance of the lodge is nice but not stunning by any stretch. There is a gas fireplace in an attractive old lounge, a sad little library with a few books and a game room without any games available.

The restaurant is a most attractive area of the lodge. It has high wooden beamed ceiling illuminated by very tasteful Tiffany-like lamps. The food is very good but very expensive but so is everything in the Lake Louise area. For example an entree of caribou medallions was $39. In the morning we asked for two orders of toast ($3 an order) and received 1 1/2 slices of bread for the entire 2 orders. We complained about this and were credited for one order.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and overall we would give our experience 3 stars as we like old lodges and we got a very discounted room rate through hotels.com. You will think the lodge is WAY overpriced if you pay the rack rate. As stated above everything in Lake Louise is expensive but it is a stunningly beautiful area.

Room Tip: We had a tower room which gave us a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhkswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

CRMR can do better, so why have they lowered their standards at Deer Lodge? The rec room is a wreck - no tips on the pool cues, poor lighting etc. How hard could it be to maintain these little things. The food for breakfast and lunch is worse than a frozen dinner and just as cold. The poor servers seem to have no training about the hotel and while they can set a table, have no answers for even the most basic questions. You could stay at the Fairmont or the Post for about the same price and have a much better experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travski_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. I would like to apologize for your dining experience as this is certainly not the standard we strive for. We would like to encourage all guests to bring any concerns to the attention of management while at the lodge as this will afford us the chance to improve your experience right then and there.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We'd been looking forward to this hotel as one of the highspots of a fortnight's touring. Sadly our expectations were not met - in either the accomodation or food.
Our rooms faced the front - and unfortuantely there were roadworks outside. Rooms (on the 1st floor) were small but comfortable - but there lingered a nasty sewage smell.
Hot tub - a bit tired with the entrance up some stairs (no lock on the door which is a concern if children got access) was OK - but signs insists that guests be barefoot - and the carpet was sticky.
Biggest diaappointment of all was the restaurant Restauarant service was poor and inability to mix restaurant choices with bar menu - which all come from the same kitchen - showed lack of flexibility to accommodate guests needs. Food was average - and you'd be recommended to either use the bar area/menu to eat - or if in search of fine dining, to go next door to The Chateau Lake Loiuse which surprisingly was cheaper!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wykeham67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ronge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Forget the Fairmont, Deer Lodge is where to stay when staying by Lake Louise. The rooms are above average, but could use some work. The Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts host some beautiful properties, this being one of them. The restaurant is very good and it is fun to enjoy the roof top hot tub while watching the stars by the silhouettes of mountains nearby. If you catch a deal, it is worth the stay, but don't pay full price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Never agree for ground floor room, walls are really thin, its like staying in the old hospital. There are no kettls and hair driers in the rooms and a waste of time to ask for one. Separate hot and cold taps. Food prices are way too expensive. When we were checking out there were 3 people in the fron of us and each of them had smth to complain about (some even had no old water :))
There were some pluses: warm rooms, decent hot tub (but poor lighting)

Room Tip: go for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lelecaUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,349 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
719 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing