We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Exactly what we needed for an overnight stay during our road trip.

Rooms clean and cosy, location five minute walk from lake and staff friendly.

Too tired to venture out for dinner, so ate here. Food fantastic, service wonderful and prices competitive for area.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    463
    354
    273
    244
See reviews for
317
913
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

This lovely lodge is 5 minutes walk from Lake Louise. My room was comfortable and clean. The resuarant puts on a fantastic breakie and you have to try out the hot tub. Things to know .. No tv in the rooms, they have a rec room for that. It's a great so people can mingle.. It's a relaxing stay :-)

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel really is within walking distance of Lake Louise. The staff were very courteous and friendly. We had a room with a great view of the glacier. However, as comfortable as the room was it was quite small. In the bathroom, it has the old fashioned faucets that have one tap for hot and one for cold. Even with this, we would definately stay there again due to the staff and the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We did enjoy our stay at the hotel. Very rustic but clean. Slept very well very close walk to Lake Louise, The staff was very polite and friendly. Could use better lighting in the hallways and rooms and it would of been nice not to have the bathroom fan come on with the light very noisy at night.
The food at the hotel restaurant was good. However on our last breakfast during our stay the buffet breakfast was very disappointing we waited forever for the buffet trays to be refilled it took forever for the rest of our party who ordered of the menu to recieve their food and the majority of the food ordered from the menu was cold on that morning not impressive. May I add a suggestion that if you are short staffed at the kitchen end maybe just concentrate on a well maintained buffet this way people aren't walking away hungry and disappointed. Breakfast is pricey so guest do want quality and faster service.

Room Tip: Next time we would stay in one of the upgraded rooms also one with a balcony. The upgraded rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us however would like to apologize for your breakfast experience at the lodge. What you have described is certainly not the standard we strive to provide. We hope that if you do stay with us again in the future, we will have the opportunity to provide you with a much better breakfast experience.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,389 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

From the outside it looks great.
We had room 210 and it was horrible!! Too small even for one.
Maintenance is poor and there seems to be a lack of comitment.
The food in the Caribou Lounge was not good.
We would not reccomend this hotel to others but stay in one in the valley which is far better.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We would like to assure guests that we take all feedback seriously. We would like to encourage guests to notify us of any concerns while still on site so we can improve upon your stay immediately. Unfortunately in this situation any attempts to improve the guests stay while still on site were declined.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you are planning a trip to Lake Louise, and you should because of the spectaular scenery, this lodge is the place to stay! We had booked a very small room (thru Booking.com - go through the lodge instead) and fortunately they could move us into a large room for a very reasonable upgrade. While this lovely lodge is showing a bit of wear, it is the place to be for the location at a reasonable price. Take a 5 minute hike to the Fairmont Charteau and spend time sighseeing around the beautiful lake. (Tourists driving were stuck in traffic with no available parking!!)
T
he restaurant was fantastic and we had a lunch (sit outside if the weather is nice), dinner and breakfast - all of which were very good to excellent. Try the snow crab omlet for breakfast - wonderful!!

The staff were very nice and friendly, and especially helpful when we asked to upgrade to a larger room. All in all, it was a delightful place to spend two days exploring the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandFun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at Deer Lodge for one night as part of our Brewsters tour of the Rockies and it was the most disappointing hotel of the ones we stayed in. We were booked into a heritage room with balcony, Room 31, which overlooked the back of the property into the woods. A well located place very near to the lake itself but some distance from the village of Lake Louise, also very near to the Fairmont Chateau.

The room itself was clean, but not exactly spotless, with a nice antique style furniture, two king sized beds and the usual amenities of an in room safe (not working but they knew about it), ironing board, iron etc. Bathroom was fairly compact but well appointed and reasonably clean.

The main problems with this place are that the public areas, particularly the staircases and corridors need redecorating and freshening up,or at the very least a good clean there were some extremely strange smells and a window on the one of the staircases seemed to be permanently open to combat this. Also the layout of the public rooms is a bit strange, there is only one way in and out of the bar and restaurant, through the lounge and into a sort of corridor area with tables and chairs, which when we were there seemed to be permanently occupied by a large family which made access a bit diffcult. There is no front door as such, reception is round the back and they could do with some clearer signage to direct people.

Other points to bear in mind........there are no lifts and there didn't seem to be any offer of assistance with the cases. Also there are no TV's in the rooms or in the lounge or bar, a refreshing change in some ways. We didn't find the one in the basement.

We didn't eat dinner as we'd had a very good lunch that day, but breakfast the next day was fine, but the buffet could have been replenished a bit quicker.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,328 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
707 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing