We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road review”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Middle of the road review”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just back from Deer Lodge which has an excellent situation close to Lake Louise. Having looked at the other reviews they are either great or poor. I think this may possibly be to do with whether your room was in the old main building (ours was and was very dim, had an odd smell and very "distressed" furniture) or in the extension. I was not in those rooms but would assume they were newer and therefore better. The restaurant and staff were very nice, but as has been said in other reviews there is no lift, although a staff member hauled our cases up the stairs. Hope this helps when you are deciding on your trip....enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    452
    342
    267
    235
See reviews for
307
886
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Paid 275$ for a room with 2 twin beds. The room wasn't even big enough to lay our luggage on the floor. No TV. Lamp didn't work and the beds uncomfortable. The jets on the roof top hot tub weren't working. The location was the only good thing about this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdawnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I need to start by saying that in 21 years of travelling I've never felt strongly enough to write a bad review until now. I'm no hotel snob either. This place may have charm being it was built over 100 years ago so if that's what you like then you'll probably love this place. If you want a room that's wider than 6ft (like I do) then this place won't be for you. Our room was so small and dismal I wanted to cry when we walked in. It was damp, the place was in a bad state of disrepair with rotting wooden windows and even the restaurant window had a huge crack across the glass. Why would you not replace that? Everything in this place creaks - we heard everyone walk past the room, everyone who climbed the stairs and the 1 inch gap beneath the door meant we heard everyone's conversations also. There is no TV which didn't worry me but being that there is nothing to do in this place it was a problem. Lake Louise town is 3km away. The hot tub was so hot I couldn't get in and the jets weren't working. There's no lift and no tea/coffee facilities in the room also no hair dryer. The bath was a half size one so you had to sit knees up to bathe. The toilet door hit the toilet as it opened as there was no space. The rooms were more suited to a youth hostel than the prices this place charged. Seriously people.. Go elsewhere. Thank god we only here one night. 11am checkout.. We were gone by 8!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.

Deer Lodge Manager - dlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were told that the rooms in the Deer Lodge were rather basic but in my pininion our room was even lower than that! The room was very small & dim, the bedroom door was rather shabby & old, mind you, it was an old building & rather like a maze! No lifts, so you have to carry your cases up if your room is upstairs, though the staff would give you a hand if needed. We were lucky, got the ground level room. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. food was expensive & tasteless, not nice. Thankfully we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have to admit to being let down by Deer Lodge - for the money they charge I would expect a beautifully restored historic hotel. However, the reality is that their standard rooms are tiny, not particularly comforatble and a little bit grim. The hotel is clearly a better option than the ridiculously overprice Fairmont, but at the end of the day the standards aren't good enough for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank declanjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Had booked this hotel for a 2 night stay as a honeymoon couple they gave us a free up grade to a king heritage room no24 highly recommend if you are looking for something different from the norm.. The staff where very friendly and helpful this room was spacious and clean with a balcony of views of the Rockies.. Also after a beautiful walk around lake Louise we came back to a lovely bottle of wine compliments of the hotel wow attention to the little things do help. The hot tub was great also. I did hear a couple complain that they had no tv in there room it is on there website that there is no tv so knew this before booking. I didn't come to the Rockies to watch tv I came to be amazed and I was. I can't fault this room all though seeing some of the rooms they did seem small so highly recommend a heritage room

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracymrlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are glad our staff was able to make your Honeymoon extra special. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Ore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our heritage room was roomy with nice bathroom and great bed. We enjoyed the balcony although it is true on road side daytime traffic was considerable.
The building is very spacious with several reading rooms, one with a huge rock fireplace. True there is no TV, refrigerator, etc although wi fi is free and strong. But this is the kind of place to come and slow down, be charmed. Food was very good and views are great.
Plus, a super hot tub on roof.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms worth extra cost. Rooms on traffic side more noisy but better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quiltersforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing