We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deer Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
US$111
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
US$537
US$475
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
US$270
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bow View Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,829)
Filter reviews
1,829 results
Traveller rating
331
501
403
304
290
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
501
403
304
290
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubshort walk to lakelots of characterits charmrustic hotelfive minute walksitting roomcommon areashiking trailscanadian rockieslodgecariboumountainschateaulouisefireplaceskiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,136 - 1,141 of 1,829 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Unless one is not watching the cost, this is a very good alternative to Chateau Lake Louise. Being a 6 minute walk to the edge of the lake, this location beats all the other hotels down the hill in terms of convenience. I loved being able to see Lake Louise at various times of the day, under different light conditions.The easy ability to hike the trails around the lake, to canoe in Lake Louise and the proximity of quite a few dining choices ( in Chateau Lake Louise) make this a good choice IF one can choose the room carefully.
First of all, there are renovated rooms at a higher rate. Ask for those if it suits your budget.
Secondly, there are some rooms that are close to heavily used hallways that tend to have heavy traffic, which I myself will avoid. Call the hotel front desk to find out the room numbers of the least desirable locations.
Some rooms are very small, with just double beds, so beware. Interestingly, the bathroom toiletries are much more upscale than the furniture, etc. Towels are of good quality.
Being tripadvisor readers, if you take your step in requesting the better rooms and getting them, your chance of being satisfied can be enhanced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

So you arrive at this great location only a five minute walk from Lake Louise which is gorgeous and worth the drive but step one foot up the stairs and the hotel proves to be an expensive, shabby place. It starts with the threadbare carpets on the stairs and landings; the place has not seen a pain brush in years. When you finally open the door in to your room you find a really cramped space lacking in a fridge and no kettle or coffee making facilities. On entering the bathroom do check whether you room come with a plug to the basin.....ours did not and we had to ask for one. Furthermore, it might pay to see if the bath surround has been cleaned for our had that delightful little extra of previous occupants hair. But set against the small, shabby room you will find the staff to be so helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you can live with the shabbiness and small rooms then you should enjoy your stay
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuzechSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have mixed thoughts on the Deer Lodge after staying for 1 night.

On the plus side, the location is amazing, less than 5min walk from the lake. It also has a hot tub on the roof - which has some lovely mountain views. The room we had was small but clean, with a comfortable bed and a safe.

But, the hotel is not up to date and the only reason it can charge so much is due to its location (we have stayed in 5* hotels in Vegas for the same price). The rooms have no tea/coffee making facilities (although they do serve free coffees in the morning in the lobby), no TVs in the rooms, worn carpets throughout the hotel.

Cannot comment on the food as we ate dinner in the bar/saloon at the Fairmont hotel round the corner and breakfast as part of the 'ride and dine' package at the Lake Louise Gondola.

So overall, if you want an amazing location and are happy to put up with a tired and dated hotel then then this place will suit you. We only stayed for 1 night and wouldn't have fancied staying any longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

PROS: Deer Lodge has fantastic location - it's second only to the landmark Fairmont Hotel, which is literally right on Lake Loiuse. This lodge is about a 5-8 minute walk from the lake. All the other resorts are farther away. The restaurant here is awesome. The front desk staff were very helpful. Our room was super-clean. CONS: Lake Louise in general is expensive, and this property keeps up that tradition. We were happy with our very small room, but it came with a hefty price tag.

Oh, and the rooftop hot-tub is a must-do with the mountains as a backdrop!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If location is tops, you'll like the Deer Lodge. It is next door to Lake Louise and the Fairmount Chateau Lake Louise where rooms go for a minimum of $500 a night. But it comes with drawbacks. We stayed at 3 historic lodges at Banff & Jasper National Parks, and this one was the most expensive ($325 Canadian for a single night's stay, room charge and taxes) yet the most disappointing. Compared to the other historic lodges, the room had the necessities with simple furnishings but no elegance or beauty. I expected more. Our biggest complaint was the lack of heat in our room. The front desk staff didn't seem to be aware of what was happening. When we checked in, we were not informed of any problems. When we complained, the hotel was going to sent a handyman to check the heater; then we were told the broiler was down and no one had heat. We were offered two extra blankets but that's it. The following morning when I checked out, I complained because we were uncomfortable and cold. (We woke up about 4 am and couldn't get back to sleep.) I discovered that some people were offered a portable electric heater. Why weren't we? On the plus side, the historic building is old but does have lots of character: original wood, old-fashioned keys, deer/elk heads on walls in bar, unexpected nooks throughout. Restaurant is very expensive (as are all in this area) but we enjoyed the breakfast. None of this made up for our cold room. Note: although coffee is free in the morning to guests in the conference room, if you eat at the restaurant, you will be charged full price for coffee. After returning home, I complained to the property manager about the heat problem, and he agreed to credit my account for part of the room charge, although the credit has not appeared yet on my statement.

Room Tip: Rooms part of the original lodge building are spartan.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews