We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Bed is Only Saviour at This Joint”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Upon arrival the lodge is very quaint and beautiful, after checking in we immediately noticed how non soundproof the room was. Between the creaking stairs above, the hallway, and doors being slammed I never noticed 5 minutes of quiet. On the second day we decided to try the restaurant, after being seated and despite being one of only three tables it took 10 minutes to even be noticed by a waitress and then she went straight to taking our food order thinking she had already been by and took our drink order and we had picked water. I ordered a beer which was served with a glass, the glass had and I joke you not dust bunnies in and around it! After cleaning my glass I felt ok using it. My girlfriend and I both ordered steak which was very expensive and actually well cooked it just tasted like a 100 year old cow was used, and no seasoning once so ever. After dinner we decided to sit at the lounge bar and get a couple more drinks in before the 9pm yawn closing time. We sat there for over 20 minutes before being acknowledged, and after taking our drink order I was handed my beer and my girlfriend was told her cocktail would be made when he had time. We waited another 10 minutes and nothing so I simply left my beer there and we walked away. That same night we decided to try the hot tub, if you like sharing luke warm bath water with a bunch of strangers you will love this place! I have never wrote a review on a hotel before because after staying in 50+ different ones in 5+ countries this has been my absolute worst experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donovan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. I do apologize for the issues you had while staying with us, the level of service you describe certainly does not meet the standards we strive for. I have passed your comments onto our food and beverage department; we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of these issues.
If you would like to speak to someone further regarding your stay, you can contact dlmanager@crmr.com
Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
There are newer reviews for Deer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Location is great--within a stone's throw of Lake Louise. The building itself looks like an old-world cottage. There were piles of snow on the roof in waves--sort of Gaudi-like.

Inside, it is an old lodge, targetted to visitors who are into outdoor activities--skiiing, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, hiking etc. Originally, perhaps, it was a hunting lodge.

The rooms are generous with comfy beds and the heaviest, warmest duvets we've ever found. Nobody's going to be cold.There's no TV in our room, but who cares?

Our dinner was excellent, given we like meat. The elk ribs, caribou medallions and rack of lamb were extremely good, complemented by a very good wine list (although nothing cheap). It was a lovely setting, near the windows and watching the snow.

And the staff are friendly--quite a few students there to do some skiing. We appreciated the help digging out our car after a 30cm snowfall. One of the other guests helped out too.

On the negative side, the check-in time was 4:00pm, which was inconvenient. The decor could be improved considerably--new carpets and some fresh paint. Apart from that, though, we wouldn't change much. And the pipes were a bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are happy to hear you took advantage of dining in the restaurant and you enjoyed our locally sourced game meat. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well, I'm very disappointed to say the least…I mean, I didn't have extreme high hopes for this hotel to begin with, based on some previous reviews. (They are all true by the way!) Even spent the extra money on the Heritage room as suggested. And we were definitely not going to Lake Louise for the hotel though, but with that said….Our room itself was probably the only good thing about the place. Although it was sweltering hot throughout the hotel, the thermostat in our room was just for looks, and did not work, so hot we slept with our door wiiiide open and it was 0 degrees C outside, we did have a nice mountain view, coffee pot in the room and the bed was actually quite comfy. So that was all fine and dandy.
The first night we tried to head down to the Lounge where they told us at the front desk no reservation was needed. We went over to the desk you supposedly wait at…and three people working in there, lots of open tables as it was later in the evening, nobody so much as said hello to us. So we went to the bar to take a seat, waited again and the gal even came around the bar and poured a couple drinks. Still, not even a "hello, be with you in a moment" So, we left. Maybe thats what they wanted? Went to the Fairmont, where we had rented our skates and checked around their shops earlier that day and were treated 100% better and they knew we weren't even staying there!! Ended up having a nice fun dinner there. Tried the restaurant again the next day for lunch, same bad service but ended up with a table this time..lunch food was decent, had the caesar salad, was good. Breakfast buffet was crap though the next morning. Tried the hot tub later that night and the button for the jets was broken…ok no big deal right, its still a rooftop hot tub with an awesome view! But still a note stating it wasn't working and sorry for the inconvenience would have been nice.Just shows SOMEONE cares. After all these little things that irritated us a bit, we STILL said, yah we would come back and stay here!!
We checked out, no problems, got to the airport and realized…we forgot our swimsuits!! I personally have never left anything behind after a hotel stay and this was new to me. We weren't using our cell phones since we didn't have international coverage, and I told my husband "oh no big deal, people leave items in hotel rooms ALL the time, Im sure they will mail them noooo problem" BIG problem I guess. Well i knew i had left them on the hook behind the door in the bathroom, I even thought, what a dumb place to put them as i was putting them there because i KNEW i would forget them!! We didn't check bags with our airlines… No suits in our luggage when we unpacked and double triple checked. Called the hotel and spoke with someone in housekeeping, and did not receive a call back. Left a message the next day…nothing. So finally emailed the hotel manager, and that got the ball rolling. Supposedly, they found nothing in our rooms…according to our housekeeper and the laundry people, and they stated there is nothing more they could do for us and so sorry that happened..My question is, how do three swimsuits just get up and walk away? Hmmmm, mystery….ok i know they are just swim suits but still, they were our things and all of a sudden they just vanished? Really was not expecting that response. So, with that said, We definitely will not be staying here again mainly because of that reason, not even the little details I noted earlier were going to stop us. I cannot trust them and their staff, and they don't even seem to really care anyways, like as people said in reviews before- people will stay there for the location. But be warned if you do stay here and don't expect them to go out of their way for you whatsoever, you're paying full price for location and get nothing for hospitality…might as well get computers to run their hotel for them instead of people, they would provide more customer service then their staff… the WiFi here was amazing though :) And Lake Louise is spectacular.

Room Tip: King Heritage room #32 has a really good view, and a balcony, super quiet at night even with the sli...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TnA206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 15 nights in February and had a fantastic experience here. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite when was divine! The staff are so friendly and helpful and the hotel has a generally warm feel! Highly recommend deer lodge!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Jenglish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

No TV, free wiifii, a bar with a caribou head, a fireplace with a bison head.. a warm reading common room where people meet, new friendships are made, and white unspoiled snow! oh and the food is great! The hot tub is an outside bliss! Views are Rockiest ever.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are best, larger so you have space for all the ski gear.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent this Christmas snowboarding in lake louise and banff. We spent our first week over Christmas in deer lodge. It's an ideal location, just 5 minutes walk from the lake and 5 minutes drive to the ski area. It's a traditional wooden lodge- the old part of the lodge is a bit tired looking to be honest and has a slight smell of an old peoples home minus the wee. The owners really should replace the carpets which are the main problem. We stayed in the newer addition to the lodge and we couldn't in anyway fault our room or this part of the lodge. The communal areas, the sitting room especially, were lovely with a huge open fire, comfy sofas and a great big Christmas tree. Food was average and a bit expensive (but so was everywhere) but the breakfasts were certainly filling and a good start to a days boarding. Amazing views, especially from the hot tub on the roof. Really nice staff. If you want to stay somewhere big and flash and a bit soulless the chateau is a minute up the road but if you want something smaller, quieter and with character we'd thoroughly recommend deer lodge.

Room Tip: Go for the new part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,400 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
742 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £72 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing