We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We stayed here for one night in September 2008. It is a very nice old lodge style hotel but the rooms although quite small have been well decorated and are very comfortable.
It is very close to Lake Louise (max 5 minute walk). The restaurant was great serving delicious food in a nice friendly atmosphere. The rooftop hot tub with views of the glacier was a nice touch. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz77Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    463
    354
    273
    244
See reviews for
317
913
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We stayed at Deer Lodge on the (Canadian) Thanksgiving weekend, 11-13 October 2008.

First off, the location is amazing, just minutes from Lake Louise.

Next, the hotel itself is like a European Alpine lodge... character by the bagful. Definitely NOT your average chain-bland-identikit Holiday Inn type place. This is a very definitely a Good Thing.

We stayed in a Double Heritage Room which had 2 queen size beds (2 adults and 2 kids) and an en-suite bathroom. The room was perfectly fine, spacious enough and clean. Nice balcony too.

The sitting room, with its massive fireplace, is stunning, and the lounge and restaurant are excellent. The food was the best food we have had in Canada.

To respond to some of the other reviews:
"No TV in the room." Hello? You're right beside LAKE LOUISE!! Go for a walk, it's beautiful out there!! I can't believe someone would come all the way to Lake Louise only to want to watch Canadian TV.

"Portions are small for Canada" = Portions are just right. You will be able to eat all your delicious meal and feel satisfied. You will not have to leave 3kg of greasy fries at the side of your plate.

To sum up: Deer Lodge has more character in one floor tile than the next-door Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise could ever possibly have. You're made to feel like a guest, not processed through like a herd of coach-party fodder.

  • Liked — Character, location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingsamichty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We stayed at the Deer Lodge for a 2 night mid-week get away and we were completely satisfied. I think the best thing about this hotel is its location. Within 5 minutes you can walk to Chateau lake Louise and hang out there, taking advantage of its delis/restaurants/people watching. That being said, it is also just a 5 minute walk to the actual lake and access to several great hiking trails. our room had a lot of charm, while small, it was cleaned perfectly and we didn't mind the small room as we travel in Europe a lot. The main lodge room with the roaring fireplace and several seating option is a nice place to hang out and read. If you are expecting a Holiday Inn with its sterile flourescent lighting, don't stay here, but if you want a hotel in a GREAT location with a lot of charm go to the Deer Lodge!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not much in area to do at night.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Deer Lodge proved rather different from the other places we stayed on our recent trip to Canada. Because of its location close to Lake Louise, we felt the (standard) room was expensive for what it was. No coffee or tea-making facilities in the room (but free in one of the lounges from 7 - 11a.m). Also no hairdryer - but there was a free room safe. I made a comment to reception staff regarding a hole in the sheet and asked for a replacement while we were out for the day - it wasn't.

The cooked breakfast was unfortunately lukewarm, so we chose the (cheaper) continental option next time - lots of fresh meat, cheeses, fruit.

In its favour, Deer Lodge does offer FREE internet, (albeit slow!)and we had a superb meal to celebrate my husband's birthday.
The roaring fire in one of the lounges added atmosphere to a wonderful place to sit and relax.

Overall, we felt that Deer Lodge is trading on its location, (5 minutes walk to lakeside), and its age/atmosphere. The corridors, in particular, are scruffy, as was our bedroom.

Would I stay here again? Probably - but would upgrade to a better room if we could afford it!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gertrudesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Stayed here as part of our 2 weeks holiday in the rockies.
After all the bad review I read about this hotel I took the risk and booked it. Mainly because of it´s location which is indeed very close to the lake.
Personally we liked the hotel and believe me we have travelled alot and stayed in many different places.
Yes the rooms are small, the hotel is old but that´s what gives it it´s charm. We are also from Europe where you find many similar hotel to this one.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and no we didn´t find any pests.

  • Liked — It´s location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ruivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed at the Deer Lodge as part of a touring holiday of British Columbia. Although its location to Lake Louse was excellent the hotel was drab and dreary. It was dark and musty. The rooms were small and dark and the windows were difficult to open. We ate in the casual restaurant one night and the food was fine although quite small portions for Canada. The service in the restaurant was good but they were all obviously students and not qualified hotel staff.

The bathroom layout was dreadful, you had to step into the bath to turn on the taps as the glass door and wash basin were in the way. The room was not made up until late afternoon.

The buffet breakfast was the worst we had in Canada and the electricity kept going off leaving people without lighting and toasters or hot plates working. Once again the staff although trying to be helpful were inexperienced.

Lake Louse and Morraine Lake are spectacular but obviously very touristy. There are plenty more lakes off the beaten track with equally gorgeous views only minus the glaciers. Lake Louse village is nothing more than a collection of highway shops, cafes and amenities. There was no where to take a walk or drink in the evening to soak up atmosphere. I would recommend you stop off and see the two lakes but don't bother staying in Lake Louise. Lake Louise is easily accessible from Banff through a lovely drive in the Bow Valley parkway on a half day trip. So save your money and time, stay an extra day in Banff, see the lakes on your way to Jasper and stay extra in Jasper which is far less commercialised.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The dark and dreary interior
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbelle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

I have to say I was a little nervous about our 2 night stay here in Aug 08 after reading some of the recent reviews. However these fears proved to be unfounded and we had a very enjoyable stay. We were in a Heritage Room with 2 Queen beds and balcony and there was plenty of room. I had the best 2 nights sleep of my holiday here. The bathroom was in line for a bit of refurbishment though. I did catch glimpse of a room in another section of the Lodge which looked very small indeed so my advice would be to book a Heritage Room. Some of the decor is a bit on the dark side but the Lodge does not claim to be a newly built hotel, it's quite an old property - surely that is part of its charm. The quality of the food was excellent and very well presented. The serving staff were also pleasant and friendly. There was a large lounge with fire where you could sit with a drink at night. There was also complimentary tea and coffee each morning in the Agnes Room. As the Lodge web site states 'no TV's', don't be surprised when your room doesn't have one! There was a TV down in the games room along with free internet access. The location of the Lodge is excellent, being 5 mins walk away from Lake Louise, with plenty of opportunities for walking/hiking. Reading some of the previous reviews it's hard to imagine we were staying at the same place.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PippyDippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,327 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
707 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing