We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A step back in time, but in a good way. The small rooms are updated, but the feel of the hotel is very much in the "grand tour" manner. Common rooms were NOT equipped as the front desk staff described (no TV and no board games), but they were comfortable spots to read or plink on a piano. No doubt it is expensive to keep up this big wooden place, but the price did seem a bit steep for what it was. It's within walking distance of Lake Louise itself, but has none of the pompousness of the Chateau.

Room Tip: Our room was in the old, main part of the lodge. The rooms in the addition were aesthetically less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoArtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    473
    361
    276
    253
See reviews for
328
932
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I knew I was staying here for one night, I had read the reviews on trip advisor, but the word grim doesn't cover by half. The place could be really nice, if a decent manager would get a grip of the friendly willing staff. The sink overflow in my bathroom, was so black and slimy I dread to think what germs were growing, you felt dirty just looking at it. We choose to eat in the restaurant that night, the food was good and so was service, but the dinning room it self wanted a good clean! There was a butter knife on the floor with butter still on it under our table( maybe it just got missed) NO at breakfast we sat on the other side of the room and it was still there! The placed had not been cleaned from the night before, crumbs and food on the floor, Service at breakfast was terrible, we had to ask for plates as none were to hand, tea and coffee were ordered but then waited an age for them to arrive. It is a really convenient for Lake Louise so do yourself a favour, sleep there if you must, but walk to the Fairmont for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your recent experience at Deer Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Deer Lodge Manager - dlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Travelled to LL and decided to stay at Deer Lodge to soak up the heritage of this wilderness.

Whilst not a modern or overly fancy hotel, it is a lodge and it has seen many years of wilderness and has weathered over time.

Thi ,I think ,adds to its charm and I often think about the hikers and climbers that have returned from their adventurous day, trekking beyond glaciers and climbing, knowing ,hoping,they would return to the charm of Deer Lodge.

Definitely worthy of a look if not a stay and enjoy being part of its history.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

With some TLC....

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of june on our Rockies trip. In hindsight I wouldn't have done this! I would rather have stayed 2 extra nights in Jasper and added another night to our Banff stay.

The hotel looks wonderful from the outside, very quaint and rustic, now i know this is a very old building, but it does need bringing into the 21st century. (I have stayed in listed building hotels in the UK and all have been more cheerful inside than Deer Lodge!) I love old fashioned, but this hotel felt more like an old people's home (and smelled like one too!) The room we were allocated was not bad at all, and being in a corner it was larger than some of the more basic rooms. The plumbing was tetchy and could run very hot if the toilet was flushed while the shower was in operation according to the very small sign below the mirror! luckily this didn't happen to us.

I was delighted we had a car.....the bar and resturant closed at 9pm?? bit odd for a hotel and made it feel even more like an old people's home - as well as the stifling heat, had to leave both windows open for our entire stay not good when the roar of traffic to the lake started around 8am!. Wi-fi was iffy too, but expected due to location. We ended up going to Lake Louise Inn to eat as they had a lovely bar there doing food.

The location of this hotel was perfect though, and we managed to see LL in the early morning and evening before the crowds were pulling in.

I was also a bit annoyed upon checking out, I had booked the room through our travel agent who put the trip together for us and I had told them I was happy with a small room as we wouldn't spend much time at the hotel, we checked in was issued keys and AT NO TIME was I offered, nor did I ask for an upgrade....yet upon checking out they tried to charge me $100!!!!! I was very firm and said I did not ask for an upgrade and if we had been put in the wrong room that was their fault not ours..they did back down and said they would speak to the travle agents, I will be checking my CC statement carefully - they had better not try anything on is all I can say - travellers be aware, But apart from that we had a reasonably pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you like more space go for a heritage suite - or ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Deer Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Deer Lodge Manager - dlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has lots of character and staff were very friendly and helpful. It is close to Lake Louise without having to stay at the overpriced Fairmont resort. The restaurant was quit and served great food at fair prices.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tower room. Not so good if you have lots of luggage as not elevator at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrens793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Lake Louise as part of the Banff - Jasper leg of our holiday. In hindsight I would advise to stay in Banff and drive up to Lake Louise. The accommodation at LL is overpriced and due to lack of competition seems to not measure up to standards we have experienced elsewhere.. Badly in need of renovation, stiflingly hot, a dark rabbit warren and there seems to be an air of gloom around the place partly due to the to the interior and the unhappy customers. Certainly in talking to other patrons (in the hot tub - which does have a great views and although basic was a very enjoyable experience) it seem to be the obvious consensus that this wasn't a good place to stay.
For breakfast we opted for the buffet rather than al carte and it was the worst buffet ($20CAD) I have ever had. Everything was barely warm - the replenished french toast was cold. The dining room was quiet and they ran out of plates! A couple were waiting at the buffet for 5 mins for plates to arrive. The bread for toast ran out and after requesting more a partly frozen loaf was bought out in a plastic bag where it stayed - I could go on. Such low standards in hospitality baffle me, this must happen every morning. We thought the breakfast was indicative of the whole place.
The staff and managmenet were trying to do their best - the receptionist staff and the breakfast staff were very nice (especially the breakfast staff).
Easy walk to the beautiful Lake Louise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Deer Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Deer Lodge General Manager - dlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Five star luxury it is not but it is full of rustic charm not often seen in modern hotels. Ideally situated just 150 m from the shores of Lake Louise it is certainly an acceptable alternative to the five star luxury Fairmount.
The restaurant provided atmospheric surroundings but very poor service. It was 30 minutes before our drinks arrived and 45 minutes before our food orders were taken which is not acceptable. When we eventually got the food after an hour and 10 minutes it was good!
The rooms are on three levels with no lifts but provide a decent and clean standard of accommodation. We would certainly return but the restaurant service does need to be addressed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnfurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,347 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing