We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Deer!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh Deer!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for one night, what a huge disappointment. The room was no more than a cupboard on the ground floor opposite reception with half the bathroom blind missing so had to leave bathroom door open to obstruct view, the room was so dated and nothing like the photos portray. Our most expensive hotel on a 3 week trip and by far the worse, would not recommend although I expect the dearer suites may be better as anyone who stayed in our room would not be able to put a truthful good review

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    431
    328
    250
    228
See reviews for
287
844
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Deer Lodge as part of a 10-person tour group. The Lodge has an older and somewhat newer section and we were fortunate to be assigned to the newer section. (Other members of our group assigned to rooms in the older section had their own tales to tell.) When we arrived at our room, a vacuum cleaner was in the hall and remained there until we retired that evening; it was gone the next morning. Our room was clean and comfortable, though with no TV and no air conditioning. The room also faced the busy road that leads to the large and over-the-top Fairmont Chateau but by evening the road noise subsided and all that remained was the sound of the rushing stream on the other side of the road. One oddity of our room was that the shower curtain consisted of a heavy fabric but had no plastic liner. Therefore, the heavy fabric got soaked at the end of each shower and did not completely dry out during the day. Very strange. What really drove me nuts was that when our group ate in the Lodge's dining room, the wait staff was confused about how to serve/bill us. For each of three meals we had to explain who we were and what the serving/billing arrangement was. During two breakfasts, it was necessary for me to walk through three rooms to get coffee from the courtesy table because the staff did not put coffee on our table as they did for all other guests. By the fourth meal (breakfast on the morning we were leaving), they seemed to get it right. In any case, the breakfast buffet was uninspiring and one morning we walked over to the Fairmont Chaeau to get decent coffee and buns. To top it all off, one night the electricity was off from 10pm until 4pm. This was not the Lodge's fault; the power company was servicing the electrical system for the surrounding area. However, the Lodge had no backup and when I got up the next morning there was no hot water. Some members of our tour group did not have hot water throughout the day. So...the bottom line for the Deer Lodge is that yes it has "lots of character" but guests should not expect to be pampered or for everything to function like clockwork. If you want that, you might try The Post Hotel that has staff at your elbow, classy accommodations, and excellent dining; but expect to pay for it. Because the cost our room at the Lodge was included in the total cost of our tour, I am unable to assess the relative value of the room compared to other lodging in the area. There are limited lodging options in the Lake Louise area because it is inside a national park; therefore there are no inexpensive/cheap hotels.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room in the newer section of the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. I do apologize for the issues you had while staying with us, the level of service you describe certainly does not meet the standards we strive for. I have passed your comments onto our food and beverage department; we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked here because we had one day in Lake Louise and couldn't afford The Fairmont by the lake. The location is good for walking down to the lake early before the hoards of tourists, or going for an evening stroll, but apart from that it's overpriced and overrated.

The main hotel seems "quaint" with some nice old photos on the walls. Unfortunately our $200+ room was in the 80's extension off the side, with no view and no redeeming features. It also had no television whatsoever. Whilst we were obviously not there to watch television it would have been good to turn the news on while were were chilling out in the afternoon. Very strange.

We ate an OK, if overpriced, meal in the evening but went to the cafe in The Fairmont for bagels for breakfast, which was fine.

The staff were a bit inconsistent, some were lovely, some bordering on disinterested and rude.

I had somehow booked a "hiking" deal which meant we received a picnic lunch to take with us the next day. The sandwich, drink and trail mix was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: No idea what the rest of the hotel is like, but I'd avoid the extension if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Deer Lodge for one night earlier this month. Our travel advisor told us it was a rustic hotel and nothing fancy but as we were only staying one night we said it would be fine.
The lady on check in was pleasant but the process was long winded. We we had booked suppose a heritage room but don't think we were given one. Upon entering the room we were disappointed. The furnishings were ok but they were dirty and the room smelt like it had been boarded up for the last 6 months. The carpets throughout the hotel were stained including our room.
We decided to have dinner at the hotel. It was raining so we had to eat inside. Our waiter was a very friendly young man from Norfolk however the food was not great. We both had fish and chips but the chips were soggy and looked like they had been reheated. We did not have breakfast here.
We will not be returning. Just because something is rustic is not an excuse for dirty!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Upon arriving Deer Lodge's grounds looked nice and the building itself has a unique charm to it. Entering my room, I was happy with the decor however the carpet looked filthy, like it wasn't vacuumed or shampooed in years (my parents made the same comment about their room). The carpet in the hallways were filthy as well. I was here for a wedding with about 100 guests and Deer Lodge was very under staffed for a group this size. During the first evening a buffet dinner was scheduled for the guests, people waited over 20 minutes at the bar to get a drink. During dinner dirty plates remained on the table for a long time, guests were stacking them in the middle so they had a place to have their coffee. In the morning for breakfast the service was extremely slow, guests starts to help themselves to the breakfast buffet and to silverware/dishes off other tables since not all tables were set. During the wedding dinner guests were receiving their dessert without silverware so they had to wait a while before they could eat their dessert. Prior to checking out we had breakfast (for the second time). Our breakfast arrived prior to our coffee ( we waited 20 minutes for coffee) and our toast arrived ten minutes after our main breakfast arrived. Throughout the three days that I was at Deer lodge I found the service...disappointing!

The food however was excellent, and every time I talked to another wedding guest about the food they agreed. I never ate lunch at Red Lodge but I had two dinners and two breakfasts and they were all delicious.

With an overhaul on their service staff (more staff need and better training) and a much thorough cleaning of the building especially the carpets, Deer Lodge could be more of a 4 or 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

On reading the reviews we decided to book a "Heritage Room" and were very happy with our selection. Not sure why people keep booking rooms that have previously been reviewed and are dismayed when they do not meet up to a "Fairmont" experience. Deer Lodge is not that at all. It is an old rustic property. If you want a modern room book a Heritage room, as we did.

The bed was most comfortable, and the room was very clean, and I am fussy in that regard. The creek across the road lulled us off to sleep and we awoke with the birds to see the masses begining to arrive at the Lake for the day.

Our check-in was seamless and they even acknowledged my husband's birthday which gave us a warm feeling about the place. Without question an offer was made to assist with baggage and anything else that we may have required.

The lodge is in an ideal location, so close to the Lake that you can walk there in less than 5 minutes. Pity the poor tourists that were staying elsewhere that had to endure long walks from their cars before they even got close to the view. This is one of the benefits of Deer Lodge!

We were a little dismayed with the breakfast service. It was slow and the staff seemed not to notice that goods needed to be replenished, but once they were advised of the need to top up it was done.

I really wish people would try and understand about this property they are staying/wish to book. All the information here on Trip Advisor allows you to make a valued decision about the property, including the class of room you select, and the location in Lake Louise. Perhaps a more through reading of ALL reviews may avoid people booking under false assumptions. I for one was very amazed with the property as it was nowhere near the expectations I had. Deer Lodge was much better than I expected!

Room Tip: Choose a Heritage room if you have read reviews that say rooms were small and dark and cramped and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologize for your experience with breakfast in the restaurant as that is certainly not the food and beverage standard we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future where we can offer you the dining experience we are known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are looking for a modern hotel then this place is not for you! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and very comfortable but shock horror, no tv! Had to talk to each other instead!! Food in restaurant was very good, all staff very friendly and helpful. Also no lift, so if you are on 3rd floor, make sure you are travelling light!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing