We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it says on the tin - an updated mountain lodge”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is what it says on the tin - an updated mountain lodge”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Wow! A couple of minutes walk from the end of Lake Louise with spectacular views! Good food, very friendly and helpful staff. Note: its all wood - you're in Canadian Rockies, not a European city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Frank10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    473
    361
    277
    255
See reviews for
329
935
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a package arranged by a UK agent. Upon arrival we were told we had been awarded a complimentary upgrade. Thank goodness we were! The room was certainly the smallest we encountered in Canada, lacking amenities taken for granted elsewhere, particularly a fridge and less importantly a TV. The room was decorated in browns, and throughout the night there was an intermittent knocking from pipework. We were told that the age and historic nature of the building precludes this being resolved.

Public areas were in need of redecoration. the saving grace was the restaurant where we had 3 excellent meals.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITravelLighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We travelled from Jasper along the Icefields parkway heading for Banff but needed a stopover; Lake Louise was only option. The hotel is rather quaint, hunting lodge, log cabin in style with an attractive lounge and dining area. We had a standard room on the third (top) floor. The first unpleasant surprise was the lack of a lift; it was not much fun lugging heavy cases up flights of stairs. The bedrooms were very cramped and dull. Furnishings were minimal and the sloping ceiling posed a danger if you were not careful. We had been told in advance that there was no tv. but would have appreciated being warned about the lift.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel whilst visiting Lake Louis and it is a really quirky hotel. It is an old hunting lodge that has been wonderfully restored to an excellent standard. It is quirky because of the decoraions such as animal heads on the wall, and pianos dotted around the corridors.
It has the best hot tub in North America, according to one magazine, and we took advantage of it and it was superb sitting with the snow on the hills whilst enjoying the heat of the tub, as it is located on the roof of the hotel.
The room was large and had a balcony outside, and all the facilities were excellent. Our only concern was the restaurant meals as they were expensive and not really good value. The food was good, but just not what you would expect from a really good restaurant. £10 for a salad of three of four uncut lettuce with accompanyments is not what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandLyndaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Louise
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Close to all attractions and sights, fantastic staff and accomodation, wonderful restaurant. Lake Louise is a short walk away and a local shopping center just a short drive away.Rooms where warm and very large

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

What a wonderful stay once again.We had a beauiful superior room Staff was so helpfull from the front desk to the housekeeping .Had a great meals and enjoyed our stay would not hesitate to recommend this motel to any travelers .This was the second time we had the pleasure of staying at Deer Lodge

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller555Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

For as long as I can remember I've wanted to go to Chateau Lake Louise, unfortunately we couldn't justify the huge room rate so decided to stay five minutes walk down the road at the Deer Lodge. What a gorgeous hotel, old and creaky with so much character I wanted to stay longer! The room was great, we originally booked a room with two beds, but opted for a smaller room in a quieter part of the hotel - which was very small but cosy and comfortable. We only stayed overnight, but in that time did test out the hot tub on the roof surrounded by fresh snow! Ah bliss.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jensparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,349 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
719 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing