We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deer Lodge - Should be Oh Dear Lodge” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deer Lodge - Should be Oh Dear Lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Arrived from Golden during a week long tour of seeing several sites and staying in various hotels. This was definitely the most disappointing yet. So much that if it wasn't for the location, I am not sure it would still be around.
We were appointed a room very like the one described above under "Tired and Scruffy Old Timer". Unlike those guests though, we were not offered a complimentary upgrade, Instead, I quickly went to reception and reserved dinner - hinting that the hotel would get more money out of us. I then promptly asked if we could be upgraded to a better standard of room. Staff insisted on an upgrade fee for both nights. I offered to pay for one night, but was told I could stay in the allocated room on one evening and move the next. In other words, still paying for my upgrade.
With the cost of upgrading a total of $80+CAD, the receptionist clearly didn't think quickly enough that the cost of dinner would be around the same.
I decided that with no offer to me, my dinner reservation be cancelled, thus in effect, costing this place money. We ate in a lovely hotel 5 minutes away called the Post Hotel in the pub area. Go there instead for dinner. Much more reasonably priced too.
I would not recommend this "hotel" to anyone looking for a stop over. There are plenty of others off Lake Louise Road to choose from. You could not do any worse.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Better2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    430
    328
    250
    228
See reviews for
286
844
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were travelling through the Rockies and decided that we would hopefully find places to stay as we went along. We arrived in Lake Louise to find that one straightaway. It looked lovely from outside, and luckily they had a vacancy. The staff were nice and friendly, knowledgable and courteous. The price was slightly more than we wanted to pay but it was totally worth it, just for the view of the mountains from the hot tub on the decking. Our room was in the older part of the hotel, on the third floor but it was quiet, we slept really well and would certainly stay there again. Even if it is just for the views, it is worth staying there - just 3 or so minutes from Lake Louise, and a 5 or so minute drive to Moraine Lake.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexWarwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Wow! A couple of minutes walk from the end of Lake Louise with spectacular views! Good food, very friendly and helpful staff. Note: its all wood - you're in Canadian Rockies, not a European city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Frank10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a package arranged by a UK agent. Upon arrival we were told we had been awarded a complimentary upgrade. Thank goodness we were! The room was certainly the smallest we encountered in Canada, lacking amenities taken for granted elsewhere, particularly a fridge and less importantly a TV. The room was decorated in browns, and throughout the night there was an intermittent knocking from pipework. We were told that the age and historic nature of the building precludes this being resolved.

Public areas were in need of redecoration. the saving grace was the restaurant where we had 3 excellent meals.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITravelLighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We travelled from Jasper along the Icefields parkway heading for Banff but needed a stopover; Lake Louise was only option. The hotel is rather quaint, hunting lodge, log cabin in style with an attractive lounge and dining area. We had a standard room on the third (top) floor. The first unpleasant surprise was the lack of a lift; it was not much fun lugging heavy cases up flights of stairs. The bedrooms were very cramped and dull. Furnishings were minimal and the sloping ceiling posed a danger if you were not careful. We had been told in advance that there was no tv. but would have appreciated being warned about the lift.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel whilst visiting Lake Louis and it is a really quirky hotel. It is an old hunting lodge that has been wonderfully restored to an excellent standard. It is quirky because of the decoraions such as animal heads on the wall, and pianos dotted around the corridors.
It has the best hot tub in North America, according to one magazine, and we took advantage of it and it was superb sitting with the snow on the hills whilst enjoying the heat of the tub, as it is located on the roof of the hotel.
The room was large and had a balcony outside, and all the facilities were excellent. Our only concern was the restaurant meals as they were expensive and not really good value. The food was good, but just not what you would expect from a really good restaurant. £10 for a salad of three of four uncut lettuce with accompanyments is not what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandLyndaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Louise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Close to all attractions and sights, fantastic staff and accomodation, wonderful restaurant. Lake Louise is a short walk away and a local shopping center just a short drive away.Rooms where warm and very large

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing