We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there twice - once and never again!”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stayed there twice - once and never again!”
Reviewed 27 August 2007

The good news: no need to look for a parking slot whilst visiting the Lake. The bad news: the hotel itself.
We booked the hotel via internet 2 month upfront for two nights. As it is located right behind the Fairmont it is completely overpriced (more than 600CAD for two nights during the week)! We booked the b&b package and got a "deluxe tower room". Incredible small, no television, windows to the outlets of the hotel aircondition, no view, no balcony, no room aircondition. The room was directly located behind the wooden stairs which crunched by each step). Absolute dissapointing! Hard to sleep!
Although not directly pointing to the road is was more than noisy. The bed was incredible small and loun! The mattress was more a hammock than a place for comftable sleeping (including a thick and heavy bed coverlet).
Arriving from a hiking tour at 4pm the room wasn't cleaned! The unfriendly staff answered that they havent found the time yet... (we left at 8am and gave them a clear indication at the door!).
Dinner was extremly expensive compared to all other during our three weeks tour (but it looks quite good and tasted very well).

If we ever will visit Lake Louise, I strongly would recommend to stay in Banff. Although also expensive, you will definitely get more for your money, you have a wider selection range and it takes just an half hour driving to Lake Louise.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — too much
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    451
    341
    267
    235
See reviews for
307
884
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

I can only rave about this charming, small hotel. Lake Louise is really a town on two levels--a small town center below and (a couple of miles uphill from there) the lake itself and its famous neighbor, the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel. Deer Lodge is the only other hotel near the lake--within walking distance, in fact--but it's an oasis of calm compared to the "chateau," which sees tour bus arrivals all day long. Deer Lodge's older wing dates to the 1920s and I usually prefer older hotels, but in this case I suggest asking for a room in the newer wing (rooms with two-digit numbers). From what we could see, these are much larger and more comfortable and worth the premium, plus many come with a balcony. Our room was beautifully and recently decorated, with an unusually comfortable king-size bed, lots of closet space, and a spotless bathroom. The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout, and the dining room--when not extremely busy--prepares some unexpectedly outstanding dishes. (When it is busy, however, the restaurant earns the only "ding" I can provide--service can slow to a crawl, which may tax the patience of more demanding guests.) We also appreciated the spacious and quiet lobby and the guest laundry, which came in handy since we were here on a lull in the middle of a long-distance bicycle trip. There's also a pleasant billiard room with an Internet terminal for guests. I can't really imagine a more relaxing or comfortable hotel, especially in a world–famous resort town that sees a lot of visitors in the summer. It's a nice base, also, for explorations around the vicinity of Lake Louise, which is just one among many beautiful high-altitude lakes in this region. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Extremely comfortable bed; great view
  • Disliked — Occasionally slow service in the dining room--whose food, however, is excellent.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

travelled the Rockies for 8 days in May, stayed at Lake Louise about 30 min drive from Banff. Hotel was just next to the fairmont, and was really nice. When you book a room however, go for a heritage room, they are not much more expensive (about £10 more) but they are all new, and very much larger than the standard rooms, which the other members of our party had. There was the advantage of a balcony too. There was also free internet hooked up to a printer so you could print out reservations and maps. As it snowed whilst there, using the hot tub on the roof was really cool, and so hot and quiet!!!The food was ok, we didnt have breakfast it was quite expensive for what you got, but still average compared to other canada hotels. We did dine here one evening and the food was good, service was a little slow considering it was so quiet....but a tip is to drive down into the town of Lake Lou at the bottom of the hill, and then before you get to the local shops, turn left and go to the old station, its great food and restored well, they also have proper train carriages you can book tables in and eat your meal. The post house hotel near the local shops had a really nice pub with good food and crackling log fires. Would stay here again. We paid about £60 for the heritage room.

  • Liked — The hot tub on the roof
  • Disliked — the service was a little slow in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Given the range of reviews we had seen on Deer Lodge, we were quite apprehensive about how it would all turn out. As it happened, our best expectations were met: it is a rustic place (similar to many in Scandinavia or Switzerland - but a bit more dog-eared and not quite as clean in all the corners). Having said that, the room and bathroom were perfectly acceptable and the view (we had a balcony too in our newer Heritage wing room #22) of the Fairview Mountain. Rooms did not have TV's but had coffee-makers. Whilst the room overlooked the main road, traffic noise was only a slight problem in daylight hours as tour busses and RV's hauled up and down the hill to the Lakeside and the Fairmont Chateau Hotel. Opposite us was a little stream which was very attractive to look at. The whole place is a "rabbit warren" of stairways and corridors and linked rooms - however, not unattractive, but a little dark. The main dining room is most attractive with very nice views over the mountains. The service and food (nouvelle cuisine) also really very good, but perhaps a bit pricey. There is a large communal room (with a fireplace) and a downstairs games room with one internet PC. One slightly odd thing is that the main entrance is around the rear with trash bins close by, and tour busses drop you at the roadside since they cannot turn at the hotel's entrance. It is a short walk to the Lake side and the Fairmont Chateau Hotel, but the village with its limited shopping mall is about 2 miles down hill - and difficult to get back from since there appears to be no regular shuttle bus and taxis have to be called out and seem rather expensive. We enlisted a bus from the Rocky Mountain resort that was ferrying staff around to take us from the shopping mall back up the hill to Deer Lodge. Overall, we'd certainly go back to Deer Lodge again.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Littel bit grubby and dull
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

We stayed at Deer Lodge on our journey to Jasper-luckily for one night only. What a joke! Our bedroom was tiny & cramped - we were unable to walk round the bed without ducking. It was called a double room, but due to being an attic room, its shape meant it should have been a single. The room was dusty, with a threadbare carpet. There was mould around the bath.
The toilet became blocked with sewage in the morning.When we complained we heard someone else complaining about the noise the heating pipes were making in their room to be told by the staff that these things happen in quaint old buildings. Unbelievable!
The public rooms were dark & dusty & not enough seating was provided- first come first served on that basis!
The food in the restaurant was overpriced - the soup was cold on arrival.& service very slow for drinks.The hot buffet breakfast was cold. We were glad to leave & will not go back.

  • Liked — Hot Tub
  • Disliked — Poor Service & Poor Room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank England_Ramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

My husband said that their theme song should be "You Can't Always Get What You Want"....

We spent a week at Deer Lodge with my husband, parents and siblings (group of 9) from Christmas-New Years 2006. Absolutely the *worst* service I've ever encountered at a hotel. Because of our large group size, we made reservations ahead of time for breakfast and dinner every day....Unfortunately, they weren't good about making sure other
groups didn't take our table so we were often left to move around our own tables and chairs and get our own silverware. Also, you aren't allowed to eat in the casual dining room with a large party....because they don't want to let you order a burger..only the dishes that are $40/person. They overcharge you, are rude and unhelpful....One morning they ran out of the fuel for the buffet chafing dishes so they did not have any of the hot foods. Rather than
apologize and offer to lower the price, or offer to bring scrambled eggs a la carte...they wanted to charge full price even though they were missing the bulk of the breakfast buffet! No variety on the menu... I asked for raspberry or strawberry jam...and all they had was something they called "Bumbleberry"...which was so sour you wouldnt' want to put it on your toast. And the rooms... There is no soundproofing whatsoever-if you absolutely must stay here- pack earplugs, do not stay in the main lodge and get a room as far away from the stairwell as possible! The rooms were so small we could hardly walk from the door to the bed. After the first sleepless night, we asked to be moved, but there were no other available rooms. I didn't sleep well the entire trip. I could write volumes on our party's experiences at Deer Lodge, mostly poor. The only good thing about the lodge is it's convenient location to the Lake Louise ski hill. Oh, and they had good hot cocoa.

I do NOT recommend this hotel at all. Stay anywhere else unless the whole place as been remodeled and the staff completely changed.

  • Liked — Hot chocolate and convenience to ski hill
  • Disliked — Terrible service, esp. during breakfast! No soundproofing for rooms- I didnt' sleep for a week!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

My fiance & I went on a road trip. Actually, it was work for him and on the way back, he wanted to stay in Lake Louise. 24 hours after finishing his work with a night spent at friends, we embarked on a long drive back to BC. We drove through Jasper and made it to Lake Louise after dark. We had no idea where it was since the last time we were there, we stayed at the hostel.

Checked some hotel in the village - then dug out the resevation info. So we drove up to the lake and there it was! It can't be right - for the price of the room, it had to be in the village! Nope, up the hill, towards the Fairmont.

We checked in and dragged our bags up several flights of stairs. Not for the out of shape! We had 30 mins before they closed the hot tub. After a 9 hour drive, we want a hot tub!

We changed quickly and ran to the area - another couple said it was up the stairs and worth it. I had to admit - it was worth it! A view of a snow capped mountain and the moon shining and stars above us. The best part was they let us hang out past 11pm!!!

After drying off , changed; we went exploring the lodge. I loved the old world charm and all the rooms to explore. We wished we could stay here longer!

Our room was small but cozy. A bed with a duvet, bathroom filled with goodies like bath salts & lotions. (kept the bath salts). So it wasn't big and luxurious, the bed was comfy compared to the other hotels! we stayed in the past week.

Next morning, we had to have breakfast in the lounge. We went for the buffet so we could taste everything. I liked the little jars of home made compotes they gave us and the coffee was excellent. My only complaint was the food was a bit cold even in a chafing dish. Also a bit pricey since we didn't get the more gourmet stuff. I guess we should have ordered a la carte.

We didn't have much time to enjoy but we plan on returning!

  • Liked — the duvet, and hot tub
  • Disliked — the stairs to climb ( okay with me but people with disabilities would have issues)
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofugrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing