We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint hotel within 3 minutes walk of beautiful Lake Louise”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 30 October 2010

yes it shows its age a little. yes you have to carry your luggage up stairs as there is no lift. (although a young bloke built like a brick chook- house offered to carry our bags for us). the creaky staircase adds character. don't worry about no TV in the room when there is a great lounge in which to read or play board games, and just outside the door is some of the world's best scenery. the restaurant served great food at reasonable prices. the staff at the desk and in the restaurant were both helpful and friendly. as you may be able to tell, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here for the night of Sept 12th. Firstly,I have to agree it is a good location.
Unfortunately we felt that was the only positive aspect of the hotel.
Our views can only,in a very unoriginal manner,concur with those of a previous post. To quote "the Deer Lodge has airs and graces far in excess of its actual capability!!"
We couldn.t have agreed more! Accommodation,restaurant over-priced and staff had the airs and graces of a 5* star establishment1
As I am sure they realise you have few options in the area. I would advise others to try and avoid staying in the Lake Louise area and just drive there to visit

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCATAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We were very disappointed indeed by the Deer Lodge. This is a hotel that has airs and graces far in excess of its actual capability. The decor tries to be a mix between Edwardian and Art deco, but regrettably is just dark and depressing. It likes to claim that it has an olde world charm - hogwash. We had apparently been given an upgrade to our room reservation, but the room we had been given was dark and pokey. The bedside light did not work and we discovered it had not been plugged in. We then discovered the reason - there was no socket! The bed was very uncomfortable. In the bathroom we were warned not to use the shower and the basin at the same time since to do so would result in rapid temperature changes. We did not - but when someone in another room did my wife was scalded in the shower. The lack of either a TV or coffee/tea making facilities in this day and age is unacceptable. The room price was far too expensive for what we got - and it did not even include breakfast. The resturant prices were also ridiculously high. This was the only hotel or B&B in the whole of our trip to Canada that disappoinetd us, and it did so very badly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlkj1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Overall this was a very nice "lodge". It had a European feel to it. The hot tub on the roof was an added bonus. The room didn't have a TV, but we dicovered the Games Room, which had a flat screen TV and a pool table. It was very cozy. Only downfalls were the service, particularly in the dining room, and like every where in Lake Louise, the meal prices were high. On the second day, they didn't have several items off the menu that we wanted. Very close to Lake Louise and the Chateau. Really enjoyed the running stream across the street. Could hear it as we were going to sleep. Close to good hiking trails and to a trail ride (horse) place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InCanadaNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Deer lodge is an aquired taste! We loved it but the hotel is not the usual type of North American hotels. The rooms are small in general and are short on luxury amenities for example no TV's. However we upgraded to a room in the newer heritage wing and were delighted with our accomodation. These rooms are much larger, the beds very comfortable and tea/coffee available. The service in general was good and the receptionist was very helpful however in the restaurant the food was slow in coming.
There are very comfortable lounges for guests, a games room with a snooker table, a wonderful hot tub on the roof (with fantastic views of the Victoria Glacier) and free internet access. The restaurant is pricey but does have an interesting menu includiing elk and bison!
The location of the hotel is wonderful, just five minutes walk from Lake Louise and the sunrise over the glacier at the end of the car park is to be dreamed off!
You will either love or hate this hotel........we loved it a great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindablincow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

First you can't beat the location of this site. You can't be any closer to Lake Louise without staying at the Fairmont Chateau. Another feature of this hotel can't be missed is the roof top hot tub where you can see the panoramic view of all the mountains at Lake Louise. Nice to have at a cheaper price if you don't want to pay the prices at the Fairmont Chateau.

It's a nice historic hotel in the Canadian Rockies, but there was a few small snags in this hotel. In my standard room, I found the electrical outlets didn't have a ground. If you want to use your computer as an example, you have to take it to a general meeting area throughout the hotel. The hotel has great food, but it was a little expensive for what you get.

If you keep an open mind that your not staying at the Fairmont Chateau, and it's a historic site, you have mostly a positive stay. You can't beat the fact that you're in the Canadian Rockies, and the historic charm is something worth checking out. Had no problems with the staff at this hotel. At the end of the day, it gets a solid 3.5 to 4 out of 5 for my one night stay. Would consider another stay here if or when I stay in Lake Louise overnight. It's managed under the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts, and may consider staying in the Buffalo Lodge in Banff as well.

Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts website: www.crmr.com

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Before we arrived at Deer Lodge we had read some 'not so good' reports and seriously considered changing the booking to somewhere else. However, we were only staying the one night so decided we would put up with it if it wasn't what we expected. On arrival the hotel looks like something out of a movie, it has turretts and spires, and we really weren't sure what to expect. We were greeted in reception by friendly helpful staff and although our room was on the third floor and there was no lift, he could get someone to carry our cases. Our rooms were in the re-vamped part of the building and it really was excellent. We had a small balcony with table and chairs and the cleanliness of the room/bathroom could not be faulted. We loved the fact that we were within easy walking distance to Lake Louise too and this could be seen from the hot tub on the roof, which was wonderful. Sitting relaxing in a hot tub, looking at the mountains capped with snow....perfect! The only disappointment for us was our meal in the dining room which was expensive and not that great....far too 'contrived' for our tastes. We slept very well, comfy beds, very quiet. In the morning the check out was easy. We didnt stop for breakfast as we had some miles to cover but the stafWe took a drink into the lounge bar which was a bit draughty and could have done with some background music or something but those are the only things we could fault it on. We didn't have breakfast the following morning as we had a lot of miles to cover.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzyquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
945 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £66 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing