We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon retreat”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Honeymoon retreat”
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I have to say that Deer Lodge was an ideal retreat to stay in for a few nights, away from all the hustle and bustle of Banff. I am shocked by other reviews as we found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. As we were on our honeymoon, chocolates and a card were left in the room by the staff for us which was a lovely touch. We had a lovely, cosy room with a balcony overlooking the road . This road was not very busy, but we came in April which was quiet season for Canada.The room did not have a TV or stereo and this was a welcome change and peaceful. We had bath salts and the bath was great and deep, perfect for lounging in after a long walk in the snow around the lake.
This hotel is not ideal for all as it is quiet and authentically rustic. It provides a quiet retreat from the chateaux which looked so busy and hectic when we were up by the lake we did not even bother to look around!!!
The food in the restaurant was expensive, but of very high quality and very different combinations of flavours. I recommend the game platter. I do agree with another reviewer that when busy, service does suffer and after complaining we were given free shots of ice wine-that warms your cockles!!!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h_harcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    473
    361
    276
    253
See reviews for
328
932
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Having received some gift certificates we had originally planned to stay two nights, but thankfully our plans changed...one night was about all we could handle. The lodge is indeed 'quaint and rustic,' but that ceases to become a draw when a gaggle of unprofessional staff tarnish the potential image.

We had not even reached our room before being treated to a trio of kitchen workers sitting adjacent to the walkway to the lodge entrance smoking. In the hallway a service door was jammed open with two maintenance workers loudly discussing their 'party' plans for the weekend. The best was when I went into the lounge to get a drink to sit by the fire with. As I waited for the staffer to tap my beer at the bar I was treated to another kitchen worker, covered in grease, who came into the lounge, plunked himself down at the bar with me and ordered up a virgin ceasar!

Perhaps this should not come as a surprise as most of the staff seemed quite young. I didn't see anyone that struck me as a 'management' type the entire time we were there.

The room was small, awkwardly designed, spartan in furnishing and lacking a TV. The floors creaked and the pipes clanged, both of which made getting a restful sleep difficult.

The food in the dinning room was expensive, and aside from a wild game appetizer (which granted was very good) was extremely average fair.

In our opinion, extremely overpriced and unprofessionally run. We would not stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank jwalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Just got back from 10 days in the wonderful Canadian Rockies. The first 4 nights we stayed at Deer Lodge.

First the good: Location, location, location. It's a 5-minute walk to the lake, and a 10-minute drive to the village of Lake Louise. There is a rushing stream across the road which, if you are on that side of the hotel, will lull you to sleep.

And the bad: All of the recent bad reviews here are unfortunately spot on. The staff's average age seems to be 19, with no adult management to be found. Our simple requests were often met with blank stares or surliness. The room was extremely dusty, to the point where my wife became allergic near the end of the stay. The toilet backed up a few times, and reception didn't seem to care.

We only ate in the more casual lounge one night, and the food was decent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owgriswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

The good news: no need to look for a parking slot whilst visiting the Lake. The bad news: the hotel itself.
We booked the hotel via internet 2 month upfront for two nights. As it is located right behind the Fairmont it is completely overpriced (more than 600CAD for two nights during the week)! We booked the b&b package and got a "deluxe tower room". Incredible small, no television, windows to the outlets of the hotel aircondition, no view, no balcony, no room aircondition. The room was directly located behind the wooden stairs which crunched by each step). Absolute dissapointing! Hard to sleep!
Although not directly pointing to the road is was more than noisy. The bed was incredible small and loun! The mattress was more a hammock than a place for comftable sleeping (including a thick and heavy bed coverlet).
Arriving from a hiking tour at 4pm the room wasn't cleaned! The unfriendly staff answered that they havent found the time yet... (we left at 8am and gave them a clear indication at the door!).
Dinner was extremly expensive compared to all other during our three weeks tour (but it looks quite good and tasted very well).

If we ever will visit Lake Louise, I strongly would recommend to stay in Banff. Although also expensive, you will definitely get more for your money, you have a wider selection range and it takes just an half hour driving to Lake Louise.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — too much
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

I can only rave about this charming, small hotel. Lake Louise is really a town on two levels--a small town center below and (a couple of miles uphill from there) the lake itself and its famous neighbor, the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel. Deer Lodge is the only other hotel near the lake--within walking distance, in fact--but it's an oasis of calm compared to the "chateau," which sees tour bus arrivals all day long. Deer Lodge's older wing dates to the 1920s and I usually prefer older hotels, but in this case I suggest asking for a room in the newer wing (rooms with two-digit numbers). From what we could see, these are much larger and more comfortable and worth the premium, plus many come with a balcony. Our room was beautifully and recently decorated, with an unusually comfortable king-size bed, lots of closet space, and a spotless bathroom. The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout, and the dining room--when not extremely busy--prepares some unexpectedly outstanding dishes. (When it is busy, however, the restaurant earns the only "ding" I can provide--service can slow to a crawl, which may tax the patience of more demanding guests.) We also appreciated the spacious and quiet lobby and the guest laundry, which came in handy since we were here on a lull in the middle of a long-distance bicycle trip. There's also a pleasant billiard room with an Internet terminal for guests. I can't really imagine a more relaxing or comfortable hotel, especially in a world–famous resort town that sees a lot of visitors in the summer. It's a nice base, also, for explorations around the vicinity of Lake Louise, which is just one among many beautiful high-altitude lakes in this region. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Extremely comfortable bed; great view
  • Disliked — Occasionally slow service in the dining room--whose food, however, is excellent.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

travelled the Rockies for 8 days in May, stayed at Lake Louise about 30 min drive from Banff. Hotel was just next to the fairmont, and was really nice. When you book a room however, go for a heritage room, they are not much more expensive (about £10 more) but they are all new, and very much larger than the standard rooms, which the other members of our party had. There was the advantage of a balcony too. There was also free internet hooked up to a printer so you could print out reservations and maps. As it snowed whilst there, using the hot tub on the roof was really cool, and so hot and quiet!!!The food was ok, we didnt have breakfast it was quite expensive for what you got, but still average compared to other canada hotels. We did dine here one evening and the food was good, service was a little slow considering it was so quiet....but a tip is to drive down into the town of Lake Lou at the bottom of the hill, and then before you get to the local shops, turn left and go to the old station, its great food and restored well, they also have proper train carriages you can book tables in and eat your meal. The post house hotel near the local shops had a really nice pub with good food and crackling log fires. Would stay here again. We paid about £60 for the heritage room.

  • Liked — The hot tub on the roof
  • Disliked — the service was a little slow in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Given the range of reviews we had seen on Deer Lodge, we were quite apprehensive about how it would all turn out. As it happened, our best expectations were met: it is a rustic place (similar to many in Scandinavia or Switzerland - but a bit more dog-eared and not quite as clean in all the corners). Having said that, the room and bathroom were perfectly acceptable and the view (we had a balcony too in our newer Heritage wing room #22) of the Fairview Mountain. Rooms did not have TV's but had coffee-makers. Whilst the room overlooked the main road, traffic noise was only a slight problem in daylight hours as tour busses and RV's hauled up and down the hill to the Lakeside and the Fairmont Chateau Hotel. Opposite us was a little stream which was very attractive to look at. The whole place is a "rabbit warren" of stairways and corridors and linked rooms - however, not unattractive, but a little dark. The main dining room is most attractive with very nice views over the mountains. The service and food (nouvelle cuisine) also really very good, but perhaps a bit pricey. There is a large communal room (with a fireplace) and a downstairs games room with one internet PC. One slightly odd thing is that the main entrance is around the rear with trash bins close by, and tour busses drop you at the roadside since they cannot turn at the hotel's entrance. It is a short walk to the Lake side and the Fairmont Chateau Hotel, but the village with its limited shopping mall is about 2 miles down hill - and difficult to get back from since there appears to be no regular shuttle bus and taxis have to be called out and seem rather expensive. We enlisted a bus from the Rocky Mountain resort that was ferrying staff around to take us from the shopping mall back up the hill to Deer Lodge. Overall, we'd certainly go back to Deer Lodge again.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Littel bit grubby and dull
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,347 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing