We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“[-]..... wouldn't stay their again if they paid me”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Lodge is a big dump, old rusty, stinky and crappy... If you are young and want to snowboard/ski dont stay here. No t.v. didnt clean are room at all,asked to speak with a manager and he was no where to be found... The lodge is located right beside a beautiful castle called the fairmount(I would love to stay their). Not once did are rooms coffee get replaced, nor did are sheets get changed(very gross). Plain and simple dont stay their for im sure of bedbugs. Hope this review is helpful because if i had read some of the other reviews i would not have stayed their.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry11Emo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRMarketing, Front Office Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. I would encourage you to contact me to discuss your stay. Deer Lodge is a unique Historic Hotel dating back to the early 1900’s. We do not offer televisions in the rooms in hopes that our guests get to experience all of Lake Louise in it’s majestic beauty.

Cordially yours in Hospitality,

Nathan Adair
Front Office Manager
403.522.4203
dlfom@crmr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel was lovely but our room was too small for two adults. There was no tv and it was the worse sleep I had in 3 weeks in western Canada.
The food at the restaurant was delicious and the waitress was nice.
The lobby was cozy with a fireplace.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The hotel is basic and functional however the new rooms are excellent. They do a great breakfast and the staff are friendly and the service is good.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Horrible, Dingy, OVERPRICED, small, uncomfortable, would not recommend to anyone.. . the Deer Lodge has no reason to be priced to what it is... although it is 2 mins walk from the lake.. the rooms are horrible, the furniture is old, no TV, no sockets, no ventilation... beds are not meant for 2 people ... they sell only because theyre close to the lake and tourists don't have an option ...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ND5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Deer Lodge is not the Chateau from up the road, and thank goodness for it. It is a bit rustic and the rooms are small, but did you really want to go to the canadian Rockies to spend time alone in your room? The communal areas including the rooftop hot tub, the games room with fireplace, the IT room all allow you to stay in the 21st century, but the hotel also offers you the chance to live the romantic life of a time before technology overcame us - and in comfort. The atmosphere of the Deer Lodge is of a welcoming place to relax and have fun rather than the place up the road which is all about how can we seperate you from more of your money. An awesome value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I think this hotel is normally a bit more expensive but we got an amazing last minute deal and as a result it was incredible value - then we got a free upgrade to a Heritage room. The beds were UNBELIEVABLE - their signature duvets were so soft, the pillows perfect and the extra wool throw rug the icing on the cake. Lovely lounge and restaurant, hot tub on the roof and even a library; the proper cosy alpine experience only a 5 minute walk from Lake Louise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveliciou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This past weekend was my second stay at Deer Lodge. I booked on Expedia.ca and the room was ridiculously cheap. So much so that I invited some more family members and got a second room.

The hotel is quaint like a country lodge. Much of the infrsatrucutre is showing it's age, but the proprietors are making efforts to update and upgrade the guest rooms in an obviously tiered approach.

The hotel is about 200m from Fairmont's Chateau Lake Louise, which I have also stayed at. I prefer Deer Lodge as it is quiet, cozy and without pretense. I can sit in the lounge and read the paper or catch up from the unavoidable plague of email over a hot toddy.

The staff are very young, but very eager to please and take pride in their work. I can't ask for much more than that.

The restaurant is excellent for all breakfast, lunch and dinner. in fact, guests from the other major (and more high-end) hotels flock to the dining room at Deer Lodge.

I've stayed in five star hotels around the world, inlcuding The Peninsula (NYC), Savoy (London), Excelsior (Rome), Rocco Fortes across Europe and I must say, there is a cuteness in the simplicity of the this hotel which I find relaxing and comforting. At $98 CAD per night (check Expedia) you reallt can't go wrong.

BTW - there are no televisions, but be sure to grab a complimentary daily Calgary or National newspaper from the lobby.

MM

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmccauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
14.3 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £71 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing