We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the expense”
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Louise Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed over an extended weekend in the middle of March and chose Lake Louise Inn because of the ensuite kitchens available. We were very disappointed with our room based on what we paid.

The whole suite was outdated and poorly maintained--holes in the carpet, gouges and rips in the wall paper, broken balcony railing. There was a huge water-damage spot in the ceiling of the main floor bathroom. The only queen-size bed sagged and was very uncomfortable. This bed was also the only one with proper bedding (not just cheap hotel blankets). The floor had not been properly vaccuumed...there were crackers and crumbs left over from previous guests. Though the room is obviously meant for quite a few people, there were only two chairs.

The cleaning staff, however, were very friendly, courteous and helpful. Nevertheless, we will not be coming here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kirstinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Kirstinski,

Thank you for your detailed comments. We appreciate you noticing our wonderful employees.

Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed one night to go skiing March 22nd, 2014. Room was outdated, some rot on the door frame in the bathroom as water won't stay in the tub when showering.
Next morning, found a dead bug in my children's bed. I also had 7 bites on my arms. Mentioned on check out, they closed the room and had it inspected by a pest control company, but no other actions. I was told that there were no bugs found, but no inspection of behind baseboards or other areas where they would be found.
Not knowing what they looked like, reviewed next day and the bug found in the bed was a splitting image of bed bugs online.
They started looking at it, but my word and bug bites that still exist 10 days later were not taken seriously as being from bed bugs and no extermination was taken.
They will not get return business from me and no recommendation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear WC,

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry for the discomfort you experienced. As soon as you told us of the insect bites, we sealed the room and immediately called a reputable and professional Pest extermination company to do an inspection. We take this situation and your comments very seriously. We have thousands of families stay with us every year and deeply care for their comfort. We sent you a copy of this inspection report. Their report stated there was no evidence of any pest activity in the room you stayed in.
Best Regards
Andre Fabbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The room was reasoanbly priced and quite clean. Parking spaces were very limited and a number of visitors had to park in tow away zones or on the street. The pool area was not too bad but with alot of guests not reading the signs and general lack of curtosy made the pool undesirable. The local scenery makes the inn a reasonable place to visit as long as you arrive early for parking.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear David B,

Your positive review is appreciated and I will share with the team. We post many notices in the pool and I agree that not everyone abides by them. We have parking for 250 vehicles but in the winter we lose approx 10 to 15 spots due to accumulated snow which we must store on our property. As well, the parking lines are not visible under the snow. I am sorry you had difficulty finding parking. You are 100% correct in your comment about the scenery!
I hope you return soon.
Regards
Andre Fabbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

During our two night stay at this hotel things went array at every turn. Our room looked old and the king sized bed had a mattress from c. 1980s.
The Pool and hot tub area is falling apart and the chemical levels are only checked once a day. I know this because when I went to the front desk to complain about my bathing suit being striped of it's colour in the hot tub- and my sliver necklace got so tarnished that i had to get it re-plated (and this was not a mineral pool) she insisted that it was checked once a day.

This is an entirely unsafe practise- pools need constant monitoring. The levels of what ever they were using (assuming chorine and bromine?) were at a hazardous level to people- especially young children.

We ate at the restaurant at the hotel and it was terrible service- only because they were understaffed by about half the servers. Our waiter complained all night- very unprofessional.

The TV in our room lost the ability to play sound and about half the channels, and the bathroom was very cramped.

I never heard back from the manager about my ruined suit or any follow up to have the pool levels checked. Overall a terrible experience at Lake Louise Inn- way too much money for the terrible service and amenities.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Laura B,

Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry that you had such a negative experience. Our beds are 5 years or younger, our pool and hot tubs meet and exceed all Alberta Health Standards.
I hope you return to beautiful Lake Louise.
Regards
Andre Fabbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were in Lake Louise for a couple of days of skiing. We wanted easy access to the hill, a comfortable room with a king size bed and hassle free food. A hot tub would be a bonus. We were able to get all of that at Lake Louise Inn.

The property is comprised of many buildings. We stayed in the main building and would do so again. This is where the front desk, pool / hot tub, business center and restaurants are located. Our check in was smooth and the staff were friendly. They answered all of our questions. The room was a good size and was very nice. It looked like it had been recently renovated. There was a king bed, large window, good sized tv and plenty of room to lay out our ski gear to dry. There was lots of hot water in the shower. We were able to go to the hot tub without going outside. We also were able to eat without leaving our room because the restaurants would bring the food to us - more like take out than room service.

The breakfast options at the restaurant were a bit pricey but the food was good. The waffle maker wasn't working at the time. Parking and wifi were free and the wifi was decently fast.

The only negatives were that the bathroom was quite small and the tub was slow draining. We didn't get housekeeping service one day but we called and someone immediately came to make up the bed and replenish towels.

One thing that would have made our stay better would have been robes in the room to wear to the pool. Other than that it was great!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-M197211625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear A-M197211625,

Your positive review is truly appreciated! Our engineering team will inspect the tubs in our King rooms to make sure they all drain properly. My apologies for the malfunctioning waffle maker it was repaired right away and a new one ordered. I will review room cleaning policies with our executive housekeeper. Your observations are what makes us betetr able to meet our guests needs!

Thank you for choosing us and hope you do so again!
Andre Fabbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel consists of many different buildings. There are rooms in the main hotel part, and there are more motel like rooms where you step from the outside directly into a room. They might even have cabin style rooms.
Our room was the motel style. At a winter resort, this style is problematic. The rooms are very tiny so as soon as you step in you will get snow everywhere. The area to take boots off is an area you must walk through to get to the bathroom as the mini fridge is in a rather large cabinet that blocks other access to the bathroom.
The room was nicely appointed and the beds were firm yet comfortable. Again the room was very small it was nearly impossible to stand beside either bed.

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. The gazebo was terrific for a late night campfire. They had just received a huge amount of snow and there were lights strung between the trees in the forest. It looked magical.
The pool and hot tub area is great. There is a large change room shower area. The pool is very big and there are 2 hot tubs.
There is a pub in the basement. It is pretty nice, but closes way too early.

We did not try the coffee shop or restaurant.

Room Tip: To prevent snow issues in your room get a hotel style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxinvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear relaxinvernon,

Your wonderful review is highly appreciated and shared with the entire team. We have 9 room types in 5 separate lodges on 8.5 acres of valley floor. Our rooms range from a cozy 203 sq ft to spacious 780 sq ft. Our beds have recently been replaced and thank you for pointing out their comfort. Other than the main building, our 4 other lodges all have rooms with direct access to the exterior. Thank you for choosing us and I hope you will visit again soon!

Regards,

Andre Fabbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend went on a well needed vacation, since we're big snowboarders and have never been to Canadian Rocky Mountains , we decided to take the trip there. We booked our hotel room for two nights, one night in a regular suite (because we would arrive late in the evening and just needed a place to sleep) and second night in a patio suite with fireplace (because we would be there for most the night so it'd be a more relaxing stay) the manager checked us in, and told us that his housekeepers would move our luggage for us to the new room if they were left behind un closed. Because of privacy laws they would need to be closed. We thought this was a great idea, because we would be hitting the shuttle bus early to the mountain and would miss check out time, and this way we could keep our luggage in a safer place than our car. We had left our luggage on the luggage rack, and my boyfriend left his snowboarding boots box (that he had just bought) with two binding screw drivers, his warrently on his new boots, a bag of chips, and my hair brush in the box. He had left that box onto of our luggage, so everything would be transferred over. Upon arrival of our new room, we find our luggage bag sitting by the door and also, two screw drivers and a hair brush beside the bag. No box to be found, after complaining to the front desk, they searched through the garage, and while we were out eating , they brought back a box from the garage , completely Destroyed , and nothing else. I complained about how the box shouldn't of even been open , because of their own privacy laws. After a day of them not being able to find my other stuff , I get a call from the manager saying the box was never opened and nothing was in the box anyways... Ok so if the box wasn't opened how'd you know nothing was in it? Mural of story, when they offer to transfer stuff, don't allow them.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hjen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Louise-Inn, General Manager at Lake Louise Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Hjen87,

Thank you for your review and I hope you had a great time snowboarding in Canada's largest ski area! I sincerely apologize for the anxiety we caused you. It is quite common for guests to stay the first night in our more economical rooms and transfer to larger more luxurious rooms for the rest of their stay. We often transfer luggage while guests are out and about. Our employees are absolutely trust worthy and bonded. The houseman that transfered your luggage is totally mortified and very sorry. It is the first time that he has ever had an issue. He genuinely believed the shoe box was empty. We have learned from this and our team will be much more aware going forward. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Regards,
Andre Fabbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,766 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
908 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: £75 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Louise Inn has the perfect guestroom or suite for your Rocky Mountain getaway. All guest accommodations provide the comfort and convenience of modern amenities like FREE Wi-Fi in a beautiful and rustic mountain setting. Individual room and suite styles may feature kitchens, balconies, patios, fireplaces or Jacuzzi tubs. You can also take in the spectacular mountain scenery through floor to ceiling windows as you relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool and whirlpools. Guests can also enjoy our many dining options, from cozy fine dining at Legends Restaurant to delicious pub style food at Explorers lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Lake Louise b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing